2
Helpful
Votes

Virgin-Atlantic Complaint - Flight Attendants' perfume triggers migraine

Review by sgn on 2009-06-24
Am I the only person who is affected by the problem of strong perfume triggering migraine headaches? Virgin-Atlantic seems to think so.

I recently became severely affected by a migraine after having been subjected to 11 hours of flying in a cabin serviced by male flight attendants who reeked of perfume. This is not the first time this has happened, so I wrote to Virgin-Atlantic to ask if their dress code could include a ban on perfume. Their answer was an unequivocal "No". Apparently, as I am the first person to mention this problem, I am considered extremely unusual -- a "one-off" in their own words. (After this I Googled "Migraine+perfume+trigger" and found 26, 000+ hits -- hardly a "one-off"). I have been requested by Virgin-Atlantic not to reply regarding my complaint with the company.

I will not let this matter drop. I am currently campaigning against perfume being worn by flight attendants, especially those who spray their jackets and pants with aerosol sprays in the cabin!! Truly, my husband and I witnessed this on a flight from London to San Francisco by two male flight attendants!

On behalf of migraine sufferers everywhere, please, please help me organize a letter requesting airlines to change their policy regarding perfumed flight attendants.
Comments:33 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-06-24
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
excellent review, and as a paying customer, you have every right to demand these attendants lay off the eau de toilet water. who do they think they are anyway?
Posted by MSCANTBEWRONG on 2009-06-24:
I think it's common courtesy to refrain from wearing perfume/cologne in confined spaces but I'm not sure you can dictate what people wear of this nature. Some folks use gels, soaps, hairsprays, and deodorants etc that have strong smells...
Posted by MRM on 2009-06-24:
They are the king of the sky!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
Male attendants wearing PERFUME? Spraying it onto their pants and jackets and only YOU noticed and complained?
Sorry about the reaction to the perfume but I see no reason why they should ban the guys from wearing the smellgoods just for you.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
Try wearing one of those particle masks N95 or dust mask, if the smell bothers you. I'm also sensitive to strong perfumes and deodorants.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
zzrock uses Schlitz beer for perfume.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
Then again if the attendant reaked of BO, the op would probably complain also.
Posted by MRM on 2009-06-24:
Wallyworld, guess what I bought at Newegg.com? A small form PC. See here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883220007
Posted by MRM on 2009-06-24:
You can mount this small computer in the back of a 52" TV. It has wifi, card reader, and other cool stuff. Are you gonna get one, Wally?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
Nah not my thing, I’m strapped for cash anyway. How many computers do you have man.
Posted by MRM on 2009-06-24:
Oh man, get one for your 52" TV in your dining room. If I win the $89,000,000 jackpot on Friday night, I shall hook you up with 10 computers. And together, we shall infiltate the networks nationwide that are unprotected. Muhahahaha! Muhahahaha!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
I do not have a 52".
Posted by MRM on 2009-06-24:
...Muhahahaha! Muhahahahaha! *choking while laughing*
Posted by MRM on 2009-06-24:
You can still mount it to the back of any size of TV that has VESA standard holes.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
I tell you what, you buy me one and I will mount it on my TV.
Posted by MRM on 2009-06-24:
Its a deal... right after I win the $89,000,000 jackpot on Friday night! Wooooowserz!
Posted by MRM on 2009-06-24:
In the mean time, you can just drool all over the picture of the lusciousness of the small form computer!
Posted by MRM on 2009-06-24:
Muhahahaha! Muhahahaha! *choking while laughing*
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
You need to give me some of that stuff your smoking MRM lol
Posted by bargod on 2009-06-24:
I have people here at work that lather on the colone/purfume pretty thick. It sucks but what can you do other than walk around saying out loud "whew what reeks?, didn't know you could buy that stuff at gas stations"
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
At one job I held, there was a 'no fragrance' section where employees could sit if they were sensitive to smells. It doesn't help though, cause smells can travel and someone wearing heavy cologne or perfume could just walk right by the area.
Posted by MRM on 2009-06-24:
Little, I take it that you,ve been hired because you never post in the morning.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
Nope. I watch my nephews in the mornings or go to interviews. Don't forget, I'm in AZ so I'm a few hours behind the east coasters on here
Posted by MRM on 2009-06-24:
Dont give up on your job search and ace those interviews.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
Try being a cashier and having a woman bathe herself in perfume and spray it in your immediate direction. I nearly coughed myself hoarse, eyes watering,m nose running, and SHE gives ME a dirty look.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
Thanks MRM. It's frustrating cause so many people with more experience are looking for the same jobs as me, and they are the ones getting hired. Stupid economy. I've never had so much trouble finding a job before
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
So little has the company called you back yet about the job.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-06-24:
a review about airlines and perfume, and ends up as a personal chat about computers?


was the perfume on the man after he was with a lady? or was he really wearing perfume? and do you mean cologne?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
Not yet. They are probably still doing my background check. I hope I get it cause my roommate is tired of paying my bills
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
Are you eligible for unemployment.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-06-24:
I have no idea
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-06-24:
One of those nose plugs they have for swimming ought to take care of your problem.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-06-24:
I would think that flight attendants would be asked not to wear cologned/perfume of any kind. Its just common sense.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.