[X]

1
Helpful
Votes

Banfield Complaint - Banfield spreading contagious disease without regard!

Review by three3pups on 2009-07-03
ACWORTH, GEORGIA -- On Sat, June 27, 2009, with no other vets open and my dog throwing up and acting very lethargic, I resorted to going to Banfield against my better judgment b/c of all the horror stories I had heard.

I called them and told them that the week before my dog had been exposed to Parvo and I wanted a Parvo test. Note that I am in rescue and that past week I had treated 10 puppies at the vet for parvo so I know what I am talking about!

The "pet nurse" I spoke to actually wanted me to walk my possible Parvo dog through Petsmart! I told them no and that they needed to let me carry him in the back door away from other pets. They agreed to allow this.

So I bring him in. The "pet nurse" comes in and fondles my dog WITHOUT gloves, takes a poop sample and then grabs the door handle and leaves. The vet comes in fondles my dog WITHOUT gloves, then grabs that same door handle and leaves. (note that at all other vets they techs and vets where gloves and gowns!)

My dog is POSITIVE FOR PARVO! Next they bring me an estimate of over $400. I laugh b/c I have just treated 10 other puppies so I know what I am talking about and I know my dog has a virus and doesn't need 4 different types of Antibiotics! I will continue him on fluids at home, metronidazole at home and I asked them to call in Tamiflu.

So they change the estimate after realizing I am not an idiot. Then they hand me a pen. Now get this...I am covered in PARVO b/c I carried my dog into the store! I sign and they throw that pen back into the universal cup holder at the front desk!

I am horrified and can't keep my mouth shut any longer. I talk to the vet about it and am told that Parvo is only in fecal matter. I explain to her that when a dog has diareha 2 feet from the ground there is a little thing called "splashback" that can happen and that no matter what they need to take precautions. She was not concerned. I also explain to her that once parvo is tracted throughout ahome or yard, it doesn't display itself to let us know where not to step etc. It could be anywhere at this point.

SOOOO....next time they grab the door knob covered with PARVO (which lives in the environment for up to 8 months/longer in the ground) then they go to the next room to see that 6 week old puppy, guess what!

DO NOT USE BANFIELD! For years I have heard horror stories and now I have seen it with my own eyes!
Comments:11 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-10-07
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-07-03:
There are parvo outbreaks all around here. If I'm anywhere other animals have been..vet, groomer, etc. I just assume that I am exposed to it.

Basically, I'm staying away from "animal places" because they're all exposed to it anyway.

Was this an adult dog you were taking in for treatment?
Posted by Soaring Consumer on 2009-07-03:
Maybe the local health department may be interested in the matter?
Posted by DisputeTheCharges on 2009-07-04:
The health department has no control over a veterinary office. Filing a complaint with your state's veterinary board would be the way to go.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-07-04:
"Maybe the local health department may be interested in the matter?"

over a pet related issue?? that is way to funny. your generic answers are off base.

best answer disputethecharges!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-04:
I just shake my head. Banfield is horrid. I am so glad you are smart enough, OP, to know what you are dealing with. I wasn't...my cat paid a heavy price for me dealing with them. DisputeTC-best answer.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-07-04:
Health Departments can and DO shut down pet shops and breeders..

Hamilton ( Mercer County) NJ — State and township health officials yesterday reopened a pet store in a strip mall after closing it down last week due to unsanitary conditions.

Pets & Supplies Unlimited received a "conditional satisfactory" rating yesterday, meaning they were open and allowed to sell the animals currently in the store, but couldn't bring new animals, said Marilyn Riley, a spokeswoman for the state Department of Health and Senior Services.

Following a complaint received June 12, state inspectors visited Pets & Supplies Unlimited on South Broad Street June 17. They temporarily closed it June 19 after citing a number of violations.

According to a letter from the state Department of Health and Senior Services, store owners had until yesterday to correct several violations. These measures included removing and disposing of pet food contaminated with rodent feces and disinfecting a refrigerator and freezer used to hold animal carcasses and medical and pet supplies.

http://www.philly.com/philly/blogs/pets/NJ_pet_store_on_conditional_license_after_Health_Dept_shutdown_.html

--

See also:

http://www.birdchannel.com/bird-news/latest-bird-news/petsmart-test-positive-psittacosis.aspx
--------------


And:

The Kansas Animal Health Department removed the animals from Critter Connection in Hays, where inspectors found numerous dead animals, said Debra Duncan, director of the state department's animal facility inspection division.

http://www2.ljworld.com/news/2007/sep/07/hays_pet_store_called_terrible_animals_brought_law/

---

Posted by BokiBean on 2009-07-04:
sherdy, I'm so sorry about your cat.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-07-04:
One other thing..anytime you have a rabies positive animal or an animal with West Nile or any of the myriad crossover diseases between humans and animals, one of the FIRST groups to get involved will be your local health department.

Dispute is right, they don't have "control" over vet clinics, but they are frequently consulted and brought in when something is amiss. Depends on the situation.

Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-04:
Thanks, Boki. I still miss her.
Posted by three3pups on 2009-07-06:
Thank you. I have notified Banfield, Petsmart, the Georgia Department of Agriculture who regulates such places and pretty much everyone I know. i take very good care of my pets and sadly the lady who transported these dogs to me had them all together in her vehicle and thus the older dog was exposed. He is 8 months old bt had only had one set of shots and obviously whoever had him before he came to the shelter had never vaccinated him or he would have had an immunity. Luckily, he was back to his old self a day later but only b/c I had treated him.

I am still in shock that Banfield could be that bad. I knew they overcharged and that they pile on the meds to pad the bills but I never dreamed they were so ignorant to spreading a deadly disease. I have no told a lady who wants to adopt a pup from me that she has to change vets. There is one other vet in town I won't allow people to use and I just added Banfield to that list. Of course I will never know later down the road but I can voice my opinion now!

People just need to know how neglectful the staff at Banfield really is. Why would you risk the life of your pet. So they have plans you can buy...go out and get you normal pet insurance that cost the same, pays more and good vets take it!
Posted by summertime0313 on 2009-10-07:
hmm... parvo is only shed through fecal/bodily fluids... if u think ur pet has been exposed when going to banfield...carry ur pet through the store, dont put it in a basket or let it walk on the floor. If you haven't noticed... there is a big sign in the petsmart wndow that says "LEASHED AND VACCINATED PETS WELCOME" so let others worry about the risk of bring there unprotected pets through the store. Banfield is a vet hospital...and most hospitals mop/clean every night and throughout the day with hospital grade cleaner. Wether or not you feel the doctor recommendations are over the top or not is your own opinion, some would say ur metronidazole, fluids and tamiflu are poor and a wishful thinking type of treatment. all in all typical over-reacting for the uneducated i would agree.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.