3
Helpful
Votes

Vincent's Italian Restaurant, Marietta,GA Complaint - Arrogant response to complaint

Review by gbiker on 2009-07-19
MARIETTA, GEORGIA -- My wife and I were seated next to a large wedding party which we understood can happen when you go out to eat. The party eventually started to break up only to have twenty or thirty loud, picture taking, party toasting individuals stand next to our table to continue the party for the duration of the meal. Our meal was somewhat inferior and I have never been one to complain at any restaurant. I called my waiter over and mentioned to him that it had been an overall bad experience and could he maybe make it good by giving us a discount on a dessert. Nothing free, only a couple of dollars off and we would leave happy. He ignored me until I called him back over and he informed the manager. Well, the manager arrived with a attitude and a little man complex, never let me voice my complaint and preceded to lecture me on how life and restaurants work, how no one else had complained and they do not give away free stuff. I tried to tell him I wanted nothing free, only a discount on dessert for good will. After realizing I was getting nowhere wth this guy who apparently possesed no discernable people skills we left vowing never to return ant to make sure I spread the word. We were totally blown away by this persons lack of communication skills. A simple yes or no would have been enough for me not a lesson on the way business works from some immature bigshot wannabe with high school people skills.
Comments:17 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-07-20
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-19:
I think you should have just complained, without asking for a discount. They may have ponied up with something, who knows, but it sounds like you were trying to take advantage of a situation the way you went about it. To me it does anyway.
Posted by tinydancer89 on 2009-07-19:
that's when dine and dash comes in handy :)
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-19:
LOL! Good answer td.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-07-19:
When we go out to eat, its usually just my husband and myself, and this happens sometimes.

The manager you encountered was WAY outta line, and I would have cut his little lecture off verbally, if my husband didn't do it first.

But the best thing we have found..for loud big parties, or families that are having trouble controlling their kids, is just to ask to move right away..even in the middle of dinner.

Even if they try to seat us next to a party like this..we'll balk and ask to be seated elsewhere.

Anyway, a manager who speaks to customers like this..I wouldn't be going back. Plus the food wasn't that great, you say...so adios!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-19:
Sounds like you were the "immature bigshot wannabe." "It's noisy and the camwas hurt my eyes. Give me two dollars off a piece of pie or I'll tell aaaallll my fweinds how bad you are." <-say that with a whiney, baby voice.

You think you are somehow owed anything because of the obnoxious group next to you. Bah. You sat there and ate. Next time, just move to another table. Pick up your little plates with your disgusting food and move to another table.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-07-19:
Boki C2O best answers
Posted by Eloise on 2009-07-19:
I think we're only reading one side of the story. If the noise was too loud they could have asked to be moved. If they had not found the food to their liking they could have complained then. To ask for a discount or a FREE dessert after the meal is over just isn't appropriate. They had plenty of time to complain during the meal but waited till after the dinner. What is this? As for the response from the manager, we're only hearing one side of the story. But I can uderstand him feeling very put out, since this is the first time he has heard of your complaint. I'm with C2O on this!
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-07-19:
True, in this case it sounds like it would have been better to be proactive rather than reactive. But I would still clip off a manager trying to lecture me...
Posted by Eloise on 2009-07-19:
Too funny Mundo! You hit the nail on the head!
Posted by Slimjim on 2009-07-19:
C2O best answer. You simply should have asked earlier if you could be moved farther from the wedding party, while being understanding if you couldn't. By immediately asking for a discount, you clearly came off as someone using a situation to try and milk it for something that may or may not have been valid. That's why you got your lecture, which I'm sure referenced how important that party was to their night.. maybe week or month.. NH.
Posted by moneybags on 2009-07-19:
Posted by moneybags on 2009-07-19:
1. Ask to be moved
2. Complain about food quality AS SOON as you found it inferior
3. SMILE amd join the festivities. You could have offered to take the pictures! Maybe the bride and groom would have offered you wedding cake!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-19:
Why thank you slim! I believe you just put my name in lights here. Too funny!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-19:
Good for you, C2O. It's about time your name was put in lights!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-19:
Thank you kia! I believe you are right! lol
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-20:
They should have just given him a hunk of wedding cake. Problem solved!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-20:
I assume Vincent's must be a fairly reputable eatery. If so, I would've politely asked the waiter to please motion the manager over, at which point I would've told him...the entertainment sucks, and if you expect me to pay for the meal, then I would prefer to be moved away from the amateurs.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.