[X]
Feedburner count

4
Helpful
Votes

St.Joseph Wayne Hospital Complaint - Emergency Room tragady

Review by preetyrenee on 2009-07-23
WAYNE -- St. Joseph Hospital in Wayne, New Jersey really need to shutdown. What the hell got them holding on for so long, if it was a hospital in the hood it would have been torn down. The ER is horrific. After 5 1/2 hrs. my sister never been seen by a doctor and to top it off inside the er was full even more than the patients waiting room and it was freezing in there. I hate that hospital so just give it up its a disgrace for humans. We need to see a doctor not to be waiting 5-10hrs for service. My sister never got seen, we and a lot more patients went home. This is Sad.
Comments:37 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-07-30
Posted by goduke on 2009-07-23:
It's not uncommon, in many emergency rooms, for non-critical patients to wait for a number of hours.

And I really doubt President Obama's plan is going to fix that.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-23:
In any ER people are seen based on need priority. Also ERs have always been abused by people who have no emergency at all.
Posted by Ben There on 2009-07-23:
5.5 hours is not too bad for an ER if her injuries or illness were not imminently life threatening.
Posted by Principissa on 2009-07-23:
What exactly was she being seen for? If it's not a life threatening illness or injury you could be in there for a while. Especially if they have patients already taking up beds that are critically ill or injured.

I'm quite certain that if something was seriously wrong and she needed treatment immediately she would have gotten it. However, if you feel something was seriously wrong and she was ignored you should get into contact with a patient representative or hospital ombudsman to lodge a formal complaint against the emergency department.

Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-07-23:
Must not have been much of an emergency.
Posted by i_am_canadian on 2009-07-23:
When I read the word 'tragedy', I thought someone had died. It sounds like you were both just impatient.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-07-23:
Never seen after 5 1/2 hours...what did they do, chase you out and say they were closing for the day...or did you walk out. IT'S AN EMERGENCY ROOM! Full of people who want to use it for a hangnail..THAT'S why people with real emergencies have a long wait. What WAS your sister's so called emergency anyway? No matter what hospital you go to, they are going to take those with the most urgent emergencies before those who just want a free band-aid...it's not "Pick a number" and your served in the order you came in. It's a charity hospital, so you have to expect alot of people waiting to be seen.
Wishing for a charity hospital to close down just because they didn't put your sister at the front of the line and waited on her when she snapped her fingers...then GO SOMEWHERE ELSE because they don't need people like you and your sister.

Exactly HOW freezing can it be in NJ in July?

If you think you have a valid complaint:

Patients or family members are encouraged to contact the Patient Relations Department at 973.754.4504 if you believe that other members of our team have not addressed your concerns about patient care or patient safety. If the issue is still not resolved through the hospital, patients or family members can contact the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations at 800.994.6610 or visit their website at www.jcaho.org.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-07-23:
your served / you're served
Posted by Eloise on 2009-07-23:
Sounds like your sister was close to death. Since she walked out under her own power. Stop wasting ER's time with petty complaints, that is what your doctor or a urgent care clinic is for.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-23:
If you have an illness that is not life threatening and need treatment, find a 24-hour urgent care facility. You won't have to wait as long. Otherwise, find a physician where you can make an appointment during the day. If more people took either of these steps, the emergency rooms wouldn't be as crowded.

DB, I think they meant freezing, as in air conditioning.
Posted by WOWreally! on 2009-07-23:
FAST FOOD MENTALITY WELCOME TO THE "HOOD" AKA WAYNE NJ
Posted by yoke on 2009-07-23:
If you waited 5 1/2 hours the hospital deemed it not an emergency and the people with real emergencies were seen before you.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-23:
With so many people without insurance due to unemployment, they pile to the ER when ill. Hospitals triage ER patients based on medical condition,not order of arrival.

Option if its not a true emergency: Many Walgreens clinics will treat you for free thru 2009 if you prove you are on unemployment. This saves you 50-100 bucks.

Link to fins a wal greens clinic: http://www.takecarehealth.com/clinic-locations.aspx call ahead, not all clinics offer the service and some hours are restricted.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-23:
raven, very helpful advice re the Walgreen's clinics. Many doctors offices will also provide aide. You have to fill out a hardship form and provide some records, but it is another option for those who truly are out of money and need special care (I worked for a neurology group who provided this service). I think too many people are going to the ER instead of finding other viable options--or they just don't know where to go.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-23:
Thanx KIA, and while we're at it, dont forget about help for prescriptions: http://www.pparx.org/

Patients can also visit the websites of the companies that make the meds they take, and/or ask their doctor for a referral. MANY drug companies will offer free or very reduced rates on maintenance meds.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-23:
That's right, raven. Our doctors used to help the patients with the contacts for the meds. They would also give them samples until they were hooked up with the free meds. Now many of the pharmacies offer $10 rx's for generic brands which also help keep costs down. All good services. I think people just need to get in the habit of asking when they need help.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-23:
Agreed. Many folks, especially older ones, or folks who have never had hard times and suddenly find themselves unemployed, are too proud to ask for help.

NONSENSE!! This country was built on human spirit. Nothing wrong with offering a hand up. Most folks are going to fall on hard times at one point in their lives. Nothing wrong with asking for help then being sure to give back once you are on your feet again.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-23:
Raven, exactly right! I try to pass info on to anyone that I know that needs some help finding their way through the maze of confusion in the doctor/hospital/insurance world. Besides, I think the pharmaceutical companies and doctors can use this nicety as a tax write off--so no one is losing really.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-23:
"....my sister never been seen by a doctor...."
What? Are you sure that you aren't in Sudan or New Guinea?
Obviously Sis, wasn't too hurt or sick and for what it's worth ALL hospitals rooms are cold to me.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-23:
zz--The rooms are usually cold is right. I guess it's so you don't get too comfortable and stay, LOL.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-23:
Those tile floors are like walking on ice!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-23:
Those drafts when you're wearing the gowns can be a little chilly too. The last hospital I was in, they gave me heated blankies. That was so nice, I actually could have fallen asleep, if it weren't for that darn hard bed, LOL.
Posted by Suusan B. on 2009-07-23:
So your sister waited 5-1/2 hours and then went home. What is the "tragedy"? How big of an emergency could it have been if she just left?
Posted by Principissa on 2009-07-23:
The gown I wore last weekend left NOTHING to the imagination! It was so embarrassing when I woke up and saw I was giving everyone a peep show.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-07-23:
Last ER visit I had took 5 hours + to be seen. The one before that, I was the only person there and went right in. Sometimes they are crowded with ER cases, sometimes they're not..but I don't understand why you think the hospital needs to be shut down because of it.

You never said what your sister was there for. That has an enormous effect on when she'll get seen if they are busy. Worst cases first.

If your sis walked out and elected not to be seen at all, she apparently decided it wasn't enough of an emergency..and saved a bucket of money too.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-07-23:
LOL Princi..when you start saying "omg at how I look!", you're on the road to recovery. I think that's the whole purpose of those ugly hospital gowns..when people start complaining about them they MUST be getting better!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-23:
I used to think the gowns were to humiliate us, LOL. Then I realized that I was tying them on the wrong side! Boki, those words are very true. That's how I gage any illness I have. When I don't care what I look like, I know I'm really sick, lol.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-07-23:
kia, that's like wise old sage advice you're passing down! Perfectly put.
Posted by Principissa on 2009-07-23:
I'm starting to feel a little better. I was out yesterday and today I went food shopping. I'm just sleepy and worn out from what I assume is this infection clearing out. Haven't had a fever since Tuesday though so hopefully that means that after a month of being sick I'm finally getting well again.
Posted by Ponie on 2009-07-23:
Couple of years back, I sat in the ER waiting room with a buddy for over 6 hours. Broken wrist from a fall. (No, no imbibing in this case.) Since this was in Detroit, naturally all the gunshot victims were seen first. :) Only break we/I got was at CVS when the pharmacist took us ahead of others to fill the RX for pain medication. Of course we didn'r just *demand* fast service. We presented the hospital report and I guess the big ol' cast from just above finger knuckles to elbow helped prove the situation. No way would we have walked out because it took so long in the ER. The fall took place Saturday early morning and the DR's office wasn't open.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-23:
The ER near me, is fast. The longest I had to wait with my mom was 20 minutes.
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-07-23:
When I sat in the ER 5 hours for my kidney, I watched them triage people who came in. They had an old guy who fell at home and broke his nose and both forearms, a kid who was hit directly in the eye by a hard pitch baseball, 2 cardiac cases and a bunch of other stuff like that.

If I were the nurses in the back, I would handle it the same way they did. I just had to wait, even though it sucked. NO WAY would I have left...by then I was even more determined lol.

That said, I think its kinda sweet that this OP was upset his sister had to wait so long and then left..he's a good brother.
Posted by Principissa on 2009-07-23:
Ours is pretty fast too! Longest I've ever waited there was when little man needed stitches and we were waiting for 2 hours because of a car accident. No biggie honestly, they gave him popsicles and sprite so he was happy.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-23:
Even people with non emergencies, I saw get in with in half a hour.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-23:
But I think my hospital is known for dumping patients. so the they can free up rooms faster.
Posted by Principissa on 2009-07-23:
We have a really good 24 hour clinic in town that we go to for most things that is really great too! It's great for when we're sick and can't get into the doctor right away. I refuse to take up space in the ER for a sore throat or ear ache.
Posted by WOWreally! on 2009-07-30:
Brick hospital is worst hospital ever i went in there 8 times in 6 months for arithmia and they told me each time dont worry about it its natural. The funny thing is I got in each time right away and got sent on my way in 2 hours.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.