5
Helpful
Votes

EFindOutTheTruth.com Complaint - Once They Have Your Money It's Theirs No Matter What They Don't Do

Review by centari111 on 2009-07-28
POMPANO BEACH, FLORIDA -- I went to efindoutthetruth.com to have a background check done on a person who had a known criminal record from the 1980s and a probable record from the 1960s and I wanted that documented along with any prior criminal record going back to 1959 for a research project. They suggested I get this $10 search that was supposed to give me a complete address history and criminal record. When I received that report it was totally useless because the information I needed was quite old and I told them this from the start. The person had been deceased since 1999. They told me what I really needed was a 50 year "county wide search" which would cost $237 and they promised to roll the cost of the $10 into that search if I got it, which they never did. They were supposed to send/hire a trained PI to manually search county microfiche records. I waited a month and sent them an e-mail. After a week or so they sent me a so-called report that consisted of a single line saying no records found. Since I knew for a fact this person actually did have a criminal record from the 1980s at least and more from the 1960s I suspected the work had not been done. When I complained they totally ignored me and refused to answer my e-mails.

To date they have never given me anything to lead me to believe this work has been done. It's my opinion they just took my money without doing the work. I have no proof whatsoever they did what they said they would do. No names, dates, places, records, or anything that would give me some assurance they did the work. When I asked for further details they refused to answer my e-mails. If they really did what they said they would have been able to give me the name of the investigator they hired and provided me a log of what they did, what county records were searched and when.

To date they have not, even after responding online to one of my complaints about them. Instead they have been hiding behind their no refund policy. This policy appears to include cases where they don't/can't do the work.

Judging from other online complaints it would seem I am not the only one.
Comments:10 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-07-28
Posted by MSCANTBEWRONG on 2009-07-28:
agreed chex mix BA
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-07-28:
Any website that promises to find out the background of a person sounds pretty shady to me. Surely they are violating some sort of privacy law.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-07-28:
all the information they retrieve is public information. nothing classified as private.
Posted by centari111 on 2009-07-28:
I'm not as worried about the $10 as the $237 I lost. What I paid the $10 for was really an address history which seemed reasonable if it was really in their database. There was supposed to be a criminal history along with other stuff, but it was dependent on what they had in their database. In the end it was totally worthless. I no longer live in that county so I can't go there myself and they said they could do it.

As far as the rest, I thought they were legitimate. If you look on internet they are recommended all over. It's only when you go to places like, ripoffreport.com, consumeraffairs.com, etc that you see anything wrong. That's why I am making sure my word gets out now so those fake advertising sites they have don't fool anybody else.

Posted by Soaring Consumer on 2009-07-28:
How did you pay for this fake product?

The URL registry information is hidden by Domains By Proxy, you should call them for information about the owner of the site.
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-07-28:
Go to a real company - not a dot-com company for information like that.

heck even a lawyer might be a better choice.
Posted by centari111 on 2009-07-28:
I paid with a credit card, and yes I did try and get my money back through them but I didn't file my part of my complaint in time. My credit card company sent me a letter that was apparently lost in the mail that was time sensitive so I lost out there too.
Posted by Soaring Consumer on 2009-07-28:
You need to contact Domains By Proxy about this. You may need to file a police report to guarantee their cooperation. When you find out who the owner of the site is you can file fraud charges and sue him for your money back.
Posted by Starlord on 2009-07-28:
Three complaints on one incident?? Ever hear the one about the dead horse? What do you expect? If you want a criminal history, find a reputabale private investigator and expect to pay a lot more than $10, or even $237. As a former cop, I can guarantee you what you will get are possibly old public records that will not be anywhere near what you want. Man up, suck it up and go about your business. If the person is deceased, who cares if he did have a criminal record? Let it go, already.
Posted by centari111 on 2009-07-28:
Starlord:

I am not sure what you are talking about regarding a dead horse and 3 complaints. If you mean the complaints I filed on various sites, I think I already explained that. If somebody reads my complaint and avoids being cheated my job is done.

With regard to the deceased person, it was research for a book and I wanted to get the facts straight. A lot of it I already know, but I was too young to know very much about the really old stuff. I am currently doing the research myself which isn't easy considering I live a long ways away. I am also having a friend help me who does live in the same county which helps.




Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.