Feedburner Receive our consumer tips & recalls newsletter by e-mail
[X]
Feedburner count

2
Helpful
Votes

Eastwood Financial Services Informative - Something Fishy - Financial Services

Review by Beeware on 2009-08-19
BUFFALO, NEW YORK -- I applied for a loan under loanunion.net on the internet and I got a call from Eastwood- Financial Services. I didn't return the call at first because I knew I didn't apply for a loan with them. I googled it and nothing came up. Later in the week I returned the call and said I did not apply for a loan your company. They said they were a third party and that were able to get my loan financed...6% interest rate, $5,000 for two years, first 4 months up front to secure the loan. Sounded very professional! I asked how could I be assured I would get my money if I send this collateral in advance. They had their story together. I did research but couldn't verify the company no where. Like someone else said, the building exist with the address on the faxed papers but not Eastwood. I called the number back one day and found out it's just an answering service with extensions. Last night I learned about My3cents.com website and their they were with all the complaints. Just what I was looking for....somebody's testimony because their website does not give any. I did fax the application back to them but decided not to release any funds because something just didn't seem right with thse people. Thanks to My3cents. om, I learned a lot and it confirmed all my suspicion. Don't do it! They guy I talked to was Scott Thomas who said he was an account executive from Eastwood Financial Services. I am sorry though I faxed them my personal information.
Comments:
Posted by bearkatkitten on 2009-08-19:
Just so long as you didn't fax them any information containing bank account numbers or credit card numbers, you should be fine.
It pays to do "research" before committing to a company that sounds too good too be true.
Good job.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-19:
NEVER NEVER send ANYONE any money for a loan...and never apply for a loan online with a company you don't know. You did the right thing to reseach before agreeing to anything, sad thing is, not everyone does. Thanks for the warning to others.
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-08-19:
also...

DON'T give you date of birth and hte last 5 of your social

If they know the area where you live and your date of birth
they can figure out which SSNs were issued for that city during that year

give them the last 5 and you've given them the power to figure out the whole number
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-19:
http://www.ripoffreport.com/EASTWOOD-FINANCIAL-COM-LOAN-SCAM-1-800-9/Loans/EASTWOOD-FINANCIAL-COM-LOAN-SC-BEX2F.htm

http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/eastwood-financial.com/postid/?p=2032706
Posted by bargod on 2009-08-19:
My question is are there ANY legitamit online loan companys?
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-08-19:
i remember phil rizzuto advertising for the money store, or money tree or something like that.

i would suggest going ONLY with an established business that you recognize.
like a bank


also... you might want to avoid those "pay day" lenders because they usually take back more than what you get from them.

and unless it's a real emergency, it's better to just wait for your paycheck.
Posted by justthefaxx on 2009-08-19:
Glad you acted on your suspicions.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)

Your Experience/Advice:


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.
Eastwood Financial Services:
Overall Rating:StarEmpty starEmpty starEmpty star