[X]
Feedburner count

11
Helpful
Votes

Mr. Hero Complaint - Sad, Sad Order Received

Review by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26
CLEVELAND, OHIO -- Before anyone says it...Yes, I KNOW you never get what is pictured in advertisements when it comes to fast food places. But, this order was so pitifully way off from what they advertise I actually laughed when I opened my bag.

The photo shows what is advertised and what I got. (If the photo isn't showing, please come back and check again, sometimes it takes awhile for the picture to post).

Anyway, while I decided to take a drive and do some shopping, I stopped to pick up some lunch at Mr. Hero in the Southland Shopping center. Everyone there were very friendly, clean and pleasant, they always are...but come on folks! Take a look at this sad order of Potato Waffers! I know everything is pre-measured, no problem with that, but when you SEE that all there are, are little scraps and crumbs toss those out and put some WAFFERS in the order.

Mr Hero Waffers
Comments:97 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-09-02
Posted by TheMightyBoosh on 2009-08-26:
I wanna see the pic!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
The pics are sent to Admin. for them to post...sometimes it takes awhile for them to post it.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-08-26:
okay, check.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Miss Basher, what in tarnation is a waffer?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
It's those potato waffers...ya gotta see the photo, they sell them in the frozen food section with French Fries. They are cut on an angle on one side and another angle on the other side, leaving little holes in them.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
like waffle fries, I presume? those are positively delicious smothered in chili 'n pepper jack cheese.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
Yes, that's what they are. But NO chili or pepper jack cheese!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
that may result in a lower case M and a lower case B here on out I'm afraid.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
Sir James...You KNOW better than that!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Basher, I think it's spelled WAFER, not WAFFER
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Miss B, you definitely got the short end of the waffer on that deal. good post.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Down here we call those "waffle fries". Good eating when done right. Especially with a little malt vinegar.
DB, are you falling for pictures of how food should look again? Those fries aren't getting smaller YOU are getting _______! Besides, you photoshopped your fries.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
ZZ, they call those waffle fries EVERYWHERE. Basher can't even pronounce SODA right, what makes you think she'll pronounce waffle right?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
I was wondering about that.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
I agree those look shytty, they must of given you leftover scraps from the fryer.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Just pour some ketchup or ranch on the fries, and I'll eat em
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-08-26:
best answers double Z and yaya!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
http://www.mrhero.com/about.php

Will you look at that awful looking food! That Gyro looks like an oversized and overcooked pink taco! Yuck!!!!
Another reason NOT to go to OHIO.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Regardless of how they were advertised, they still look yummy.
I'll take those waffle fries and make them gooey hot with chilli and cheese.
Posted by Eloise on 2009-08-26:
I looked at the picture. And....
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-08-26:
double Z, it looks like just a regular deli. nothing special.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-08-26:
did anyone see 'recycled precussion' last night on americas got talent? they were awsome!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
I will take a Subway club. Over any of the shyt they sell anyday.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
This is one high quality review. They say a picture say is worth a thousand words and this case I'd say that's true. I'd also say that I for one will not step foot in the Southland Shopping Center Mr. Hero until such time Mr. Hero makes it right with The Basher.

This is an easy call - Very Helpful.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Subway's $2 deal for their meatball sub is a bargain
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
*LOL* Stewart, have you EVER seen a NH review?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
I know this will sound wrong but how many meatballs do you get on that sammie, Yaya?
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-08-26:
Yep VH.
ZZ what do you mean "down here", you're in Colorado. The only thing that is down from is Canada, Alaska and a couple of other states I ain't gonna look up! LOL!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Three or four
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
I don't see the problem.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-08-26:
i know a few meatballs ....
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
We are below Ohio but that does sound bad, huh?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Down here in Macon Georgia they call'em sh*t kicker fries.
Posted by Nohandle on 2009-08-26:
That is a pretty pitiful excuse for an order for some waffle fries. I'm wondering if someone in the kitchen was hungry and didn't want to pay for his lunch so decided a handful at the time, order after order, or perhaps it was time to clean the fryer basket out because that's what it looks like you got.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Perhaps Doc J was manning the fryer.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Whenever my ex goes out to eat, he asks for unsalted fries so that they will make fresh fries for him, Then he adds his own salt to them
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-08-26:
get the ones a friendly's

they weren't that bad
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-08-26:
yaya i do that too. most times they pour on to much salt.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
OK all of you know it all smarty pants!
http://www.mrhero.com/sides.php

They spell it WAFFER Fries...that's where I DOUBLE checked the spelling BEFORE I posted this...

Ok..I accept ALL of your apologies who felt the Basher was wrong because as y'all should know by now, The Basher is RIGHT AGAIN!

Read your own links ZZ!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
ZZ...they gyros are actually pretty decent...I had one last week from the Mr. Hero at the mall. But, they can go a little light on the onions, that's for sure.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-08-26:
but they are really called waffle potatoe fries. just like they do at chick-fil-a. because they are 'waffle' cut.

but then again chick-fil-a has a trademark on waffle potatoe fries, so mr hero cann't use that. so they went with waffer fries.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
I've been to this location several times...they don't make the fries ahead of time...they make them when you order them and they're made right in front of you. The food is always hot when you get it and the people at that location are always very friendly...I just thought these WAFFER fries were sad today.

ZZ...I never realized Mr. Hero was just an Ohio based FF place until I read that link.

And NO this photo was not photoshopped, the picture is exactly what I got.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-08-26:
at over 400 calories per serving, i hope you dont eat them to often.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-08-26:
Serving(Oz) Serving(G) Cal. Cal. from Fat Tot. Fat(G) Sat. Fat(G) Chol.(MG) Sodium(MG) Carbs(G) Fiber(G) Protein(G)
5.7 159.3 428.9 278.9 30.1 5.3 0.0 616.7 38.3 3.3 3.3



Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Oh, lawdy, mad is baiting the Basher hook.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Mad you might want to try a different bait. It appears the bait you are using isn't getting any nibbles.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-08-26:
facts, just the facts.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
I don't know mad. It's pretty obvious you're fishing fairly hard for some Basher attention but it's like your invisible to the Basher now. You're gonna have to step up your game.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-08-26:
i was just going to send you a messsage asking the very same thing.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Yep, them are some ugly waffer fries.
Posted by Nohandle on 2009-08-26:
Stew Baby, watcha doing in Macon, GA? Did you know who send you on another assignment out of state?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Yep Nohandle. The MAN sent me to Georgia. I got to admit though it's quite an ego boost when I come down to Warner Robins. These people I work with here worship the ground I walk on. I'm going back home tomorrow morning and the MAN is making me come into work tomorrow afternoon. The same MAN who is flying home with me tomorrow and NOT GOING to work tomorrow. The MAN is just jealous because here in Georgia I am beloved.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-08-26:
Stew, throw up in his lap on the flight home. Then take a sick day.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
I wouldn't have eaten them. They are looking pretty sad. Chik fil a has the best crosscut waffer waffle or whatever you want to call them fries.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
Stew, bring me some sweet Georgia peaches.
Posted by ejack053824 on 2009-08-26:
This reviews gets two thumbs up and 3 WTF'S! (VH)
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
My Much Older Brother informed me today, that there is going to be a Sonic opening up soon and it's gonna not far from here! YIPPPEEEE!!!!...I never heard about this but he said they are opening THIS SATURDAY and people started to camp out in front of it yesterday! I heard they have good food, but so good that it's worth camping out four days before they open? Then he told me they were giving a free meal to the first hundred customers. Still not worth it to me...then he said he thinks it's for a free meal for life or something like that.
Posted by Eloise on 2009-08-26:
Sonic is awesome. Try a Cherry Limeade!
Posted by Eloise on 2009-08-26:
DB, will have apples in 2 months here in NC!
Posted by MRM on 2009-08-26:
Informative review!
Posted by MRM on 2009-08-26:
Ladies and Gents, the suspense is growing as to who will win the $325,000,000 MegaMillion jackpot on Friday night! Whoaaaaaa Nelly!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
MRM, what will you do with all that moola.
Posted by MRM on 2009-08-26:
Oh man, where shall I begin? The possibilities are endless.
Posted by MRM on 2009-08-26:
Got it! 7 Jeep Commanders for each day of the week!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
They have been running Sonic ads up here for years. I think they are going to move into New England. Anyway, last May when I was down in Pensacola I was psyched to find a Sonic, I made my buddies stop there. It was terrible. Oh well.
Posted by Eloise on 2009-08-26:
Winter in London and Summer at Sanibel Island! Large houses in both places!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
Ken...I always see Sonic commercials on TV here...but I think the only Sonics in Ohio are in Columbus or some far far away land in Ohio.

Eloise...I'll take a bushel of those yellow/orange apples.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
Mr. Mike, If I won that jackpot...I'd still stay here in my little apartment. I don't want to be a home owner. I'd make sure my Dad, Much Older Brother, sisters, nieces, nephew and great nieces and nephews were taken care of. I would pass some of it on to some much needing senior citizens who can't afford medical care. Then for myself, I'd buy some race horses and name them after M3C Nics.
Posted by MRM on 2009-08-26:
DB, those are awesome good points of spending the jackpot!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
And Mr. Mike...I would pay you back ALL the money you've invested into the MegaMillions over the years...so, I hope you kept your receipts! LOL! I hope $325 mil will cover that! LOL!
Posted by MRM on 2009-08-26:
Son of a biscuit!
Posted by Eloise on 2009-08-26:
DB, the Braeburn are the best. You also might like Pink Lady. (Now I'm waiting for someone to make a crude joke)
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
I know who the someone is...LOL!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Who would make a crude joke?

Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
Siffer would.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Yeah, I know HE would!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Siffer was hot. I'd do him
Posted by DigitalCommando on 2009-08-26:
DB, I see what your saying. The plate you get is nowhere near the same shape or color. This is a bonafide case of plate and switch.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
Exactly DC...thank you!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
If they were piled up in the same size container, it may look very much the same (they could be hiding the small bits). Or, maybe they were trying to save you from the 400 calorie hit? You should thank them.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
They did give it to me in a 'boat' like container then they put it in a small bag. Trust me, even in it's container, it didn't look anything like their picture...LOL.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Well, DB, if you would have fluffed it up like they did before taking the picture, voila! I think the story is that they were just too lazy to make more and you received the leftovers. It looks like my plates after dinner--a few scraps here and there.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
They make them fresh (right out of the freezer) in front of me, but they may have been at the end of the bag.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
How much did those scraps cost.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-26:
Yep, DB, you got the scraps from the bottom. Next time order two. Then they'll have to open a new bag. They couldn't possibly split that serving, lol.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
I think it was something like $1.69.

Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
I hate to tell you this KIA...but I DID order two...Got an order for my Dad. I didn't see what his looked like. All I know is he kept asking me if I wanted his and I said no...he ended up throwing them away. He probably ate one or two. I'll have to ask him what his was like.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-26:
Anyway, it's gonna be healthier foods from now on anyway. I know that FF isn't good for him (or me)... I just picked it up for a quick lunch for him because the fridge was empty and I was out grocery shopping and it was already lunch time. Tomorrow, it's homemade food and it's gonna be yummy. I'm trying a new recipe.
Posted by Eloise on 2009-08-27:
What kind of recipie?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-27:
Eloise...I just made that recipe I mentioned above and it was good enough for me to share with ya'll...I'm gonna post the recipe on the community boards....give me a few minutes. It's a skillet dinner...but not from a box. It's called Slumgullion!
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-08-27:
Just caught this review, late..

That is laughable. I would be embarrassed to send those waffle fries out like that.

Did you get a chance to talk to them about the order, or did you discover it when you got home?


Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-08-27:
I discovered it after I got home with them...I'm checking out their site for an Email address so I can send them a photo just for the heck of it.
Posted by Skye on 2009-08-27:
Wow, those fries look good, but kind of sparse.

Good review as always!
Posted by Skye on 2009-08-27:

Mr. Hero
7010 Engle Road, Suite 100
Middleburg Heights, OH 44130
Tel: 440-625-3080
Toll Free: 1-888-860-5082

http://www.mrhero.com/contact.php
Posted by Skye on 2009-08-27:
They just have that contact page, where you fill out the form.

Maybe you could email them a the photo's, with a nice note :)
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-08-27:
GREAT idea about the photo. I think corporate would want to see that.

Posted by Ytropious on 2009-09-02:
There was a website all about this sort of thing, unfortunately I can't remember it right now! It's amazing how food looks on TV vs how it looks in person. I doubt you can even make it look like the TV ones if you tried.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.