All Star Ford, Denham Springs, LA Complaint - Service Problem - 1999 Ford Truck Brake Repair

Review by Dr. Bob on 2009-08-29
DENHAM SPRINGS, LOUISIANA -- 1999 Ford F-350 Truck - VIN – 1FTWX32F1XEE25877

Brakes failed on 20 February 2009 – Truck hit building in Denham Springs, LA

The vehicle was brought to All Star Ford (225-498-5182) on 20 February 2009 at 1625 hours. The Parking/Emergency Brake was working at this time.

Instructions were given to repair or replace ALL brake system components (less brake lines and power brake pump if found to be serviceable) back to Ford Factory specifications by George Burch who delivered the truck to All Star Ford.

21 February 2009 - Casey Comeaux, the service advisor of All Star Ford, called me the next day and informed me that an inspection revealed that the ABS system had failed and that the front and rear modules needed to be changed. She said that the power brake pump and calipers appeared okay but the pads and rotors needed to be replaced. I authorized the COMPLETE replacement of the necessary brake components specifically:

All brake pads
All brake rotors
All ABS modules and sensors as needed
All axle seals, differential lubricant and bearings as needed

I instructed Casey Comeaux to have the mechanic retain ALL parts that were replaced.

I also explained that I brought the vehicle to a Ford dealership instead of a much cheaper local mechanic shop because I wanted the vehicle’s brake system to be returned to the original Ford Factory specifications.

26 February 2009 - Casey Comeaux called and informed me that the truck brakes had been completely replaced and that the truck was ready to be picked up. I picked up the truck at 1910 hours on 26 February 2009. David Monk was the service advisor on duty at that time. He verified that the brake job was complete and that the truck was ready to be driven off. He located the front and rear brake rotors but could not locate the ABS modules, sensors or old brake pads. The old rotors were loaded in the truck bed and taken when I left. The repair ticket was paid by credit card - $2389.76.

The repair ticket lists the following:

106654 11.00 ABS test codes for LF sensor, Rear sensor, Major Brake Jobs Replace All Rotors, Remove rear axles and hubs Replace all seals, all pads, bleed brakes retest pass CK oil level of rearend add oil test drive CK ABS operation Pass

Mileage In/Out – 106654/106654

27 February 2009 – I called All Star Ford and spoke with Casey Comeaux. She tried to locate the old ABS modules, pads and seals that were replaced. She claimed that the old parts had been thrown away despite my previous instructions that the parts would be saved for my inspection and removal.

The 1999 Ford F-350 truck was parked at my house and seldom used since I was busy doing maintenance with my rental property using my other smaller and more efficient trucks (Chevy S-10 and Dodge Dakota)

Mid April 2009 – George Burch discovered that the Parking/Emergency Brake was not working. He called All Star Ford and spoke with Casey Comeaux to report the problem. He was told that this was a minor problem requiring a “5 minute adjustment” and that he could bring it in any time for the adjustment at no charge since it should have been done when the brake rotors and pads were replaced back on 26 February 2009.

25 April 2009 – I left for a vacation in Mexico.

12 May 2009 – I returned from a vacation in Mexico.

15 May 2009 – I left to do insurance adjusting work in Wichita, Kansas using my Chevy S-10 truck. I left my 1999 Ford F-350 truck here in Louisiana.

3 July 2009 – I returned back to Louisiana and finished writing insurance claim estimates not driving the 1999 Ford F-350 truck. The vehicle had been parked at George Burch’s house and not driven while I was in Kansas.

Mid August 2009 – I instructed George Burch to set an appointment and get the parking brake adjusted for the upcoming state inspection and FEMA contract requirements.

20 August 2009 – The 1999 Ford F-350 truck was brought in to All Star Ford for the “5 minute brake adjustment” after the appointment was set with Casey Comeaux. She was instructed to call George Burch when the vehicle was ready since there was work to be done requiring the heavy duty truck.

21 August 2009 – George Burch called All Star Ford in the morning and learned from Casey Comeaux that the brakes had not been adjusted and that the truck was not ready. Casey Comeaux had NOT called to notify him that the truck was not ready as previously instructed.

21 August 2009 – I called All Star Ford in the afternoon and learned from Casey Comeaux that the brakes had not been adjusted, that the truck was not ready and that a part had to be ordered. She told me that the Parking/Emergency Brake pads had NOT been replaced when the vehicle was repaired on 26 February 2009 despite the fact that the rear brake rotors were replaced, the axles were removed and the vehicle was supposed to have been test driven and certified to have the brake system restored back to Ford Factory specifications. She assured me that the part would be in Monday morning and the vehicle would be worked on immediately on Monday morning, 24 August 2009, by their best mechanic (the same mechanic who did the original repair).

24 August 2009 – 0710 hours - Casey Comeaux left a message (data obtained from cell phone record) on my cell phone voice mail requesting that I call her. I did not receive the voice mail message until later that day.

24 August 2009 – Early Afternoon - I called All Star Ford and spoke with Casey Comeaux. Her call that morning was to ask me if I would authorize repair to the Parking/Emergency Brake system. I asked if that was not done under the original repair order and she agreed that it should have been done when the vehicle was repaired on 26 February 2009. She also agreed that the original repair invoice indicated that the vehicle had the rear axles removed and reinstalled, the rear rotors removed and replaced, ALL the brake pads replaced and the vehicle tested and certified that it passed inspection verifying that the brake system had been restored to Ford Factory specifications. I told her to have the vehicle repaired because I needed it repaired for an upcoming job.

24 August 2009 – 1620 hours - I went to All Star Ford and met Casey Comeaux for the first time in person. We discussed the critical need for my truck and she agreed that the vehicle should have been repaired completely in February. She also agreed that the mechanic should have installed and adjusted the new Parking/Emergency Brake pads when the rear axles were removed and reinstalled and rear the rotors were replaced on 26 February 2009. She agreed with me that the testing inspector/mechanic should have realized that the Parking/Emergency Brake was not working when he drove the truck and certified it had been restored to Ford Factory specifications. We also discussed the fact that the paid invoice indicated that ALL of the brake pads had been replaced and the truck was ready for use on the highway.

I had told her that I believed that I had been a victim of fraud in that my truck had not been properly repaired and tested despite the fact that I instructed that it be properly repaired and that the invoice indicated that all repairs had been performed and all testing had indicated that the brake system was completely functional. I also expressed concern that the release onto the highway of a vehicle without a properly operating Parking/Emergency Brake system was extremely dangerous, irresponsible and probably illegal. I told Casey Comeaux that I needed the truck brake system properly repaired as soon as possible, that I would pay for the repairs and that I would have the charges reviewed and approved by Ford Motor Company and/or the legal system. I left All Star Ford that evening believing that my truck would be repaired the following morning. Casey Comeaux assured me that she would call the next morning as soon as my truck was repaired.

25 August 2009 – 1632 hours - Casey Comeaux called. She told me that David Dore, the service manager of All Star Ford, refused to repair my truck under the original paid invoice which had indicated that the repairs had been done. She also told me that, David Dore, the service manager of All Star Ford refused to repair my truck even if I paid for the repairs. I told her that the vehicle had already been at the dealership for a week (7 days) and was still not repaired despite the fact that I had told them each and every day that the properly equipped truck was needed for a job.

I requested that I speak with the service manager and Casey Comeaux put me on hold and claimed that she tried to locate him in his office. She returned to the phone after a few minutes and told me that he was in the lot with a customer and that she would have him call me on my cell phone as soon as possible. I never received a call from Mr. David Dore, the service manager of All Star Ford, that afternoon or evening.

26 August 2009 - I never received a call from Mr. David Dore, the service manager of All Star Ford, during that morning, afternoon or evening.

27 August 2009 - I never received a call from Mr. David Dore, the service manager of All Star Ford, during that morning, afternoon or evening.

My lawyer has advised me that I should contact Ford Motor Customer Relations, the Louisiana Attorney General’s Office for Consumer Fraud, the Louisiana Department of Transportation and the Better Business Bureau before we decide if a law suit is necessary to resolve this dispute.

28 August 2009 - I never received a call from Mr. David Dore, the service manager of All Star Ford, during that morning, afternoon or evening.
I attempted to contact the above suggested agencies to resolve this failure to repair my truck properly as had been paid for and was assured had been done.
Comments:2 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-08-29
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-29:
Just sue them. It sounds like they're playing games with you.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-08-29:
$2300.00 worth of brake work, and some parts weren't even replaced?! What a racket!

Comeaux.... that's a coonass name!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.