No Specific Company Complaint - Complaints on Service

Review by senior-67 on 2009-09-03
After reviewing a lot of information about people having problems with different computers and the service provided by various companies, I don't even want to buy a computer. I am beginning to wonder if any one stands behind their product. Whereas I recognize that all complaints are not totally valid; some people have higher expectations of the results they receive. I am keenly aware that if you see enough complaints then it's buyer beware. I too have had a bad experience with computer repair service by someone who is totally lacking in moral ethics. Fortunately, I do believe that people like that won't remain in business long-term because word of mouth gets around.

I wish more companies would pay attention to their customers. They should extend all efforts to avoid making people feel like they are victims. Customer service is extremely important to most people and today I think you should check that out before buying your computer.
Comments:11 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-09-03
Posted by andbran on 2009-09-03:
i bought an Emachine last year from Best Buy. i even bought a 2 year warranty. so far i have not had to get it repair(knock on what pass for wood)People knock Best Buy,but they were really helpful. there is no perfect anything or anyplace. i believe customer service is not what it should be because everyone wants to be the exception. most believe yelling get results. i have worked retail for 25 years and have always tried(really hard)not to take anything personally.we just need to go back to follwing the Golden Rule.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-03:
senior-67, if you decide not to buy something, like a computer, because you read bad reviews about all computer companies out here in the anonymous land of the Net, you will never buy anything ever again. You will never go shopping again. You will never eat out again. You will never watch TV again. You will never have a bank account again, and on and on. Why? Because essentially every industry - even nudie bars! - have been complained about here on the Net.

I'll tell you this about computers. I have a Gateway PC, a Dell PC, an Acer tablet and some brand of a laptop. I use them all every day for different things. I have NEVER had a problem with any of them. They've all received some kind of complaints from someone out here, but they work fine for me. Go figure.

When I bought them, the service I received in choosing them, making sure they would meet my needs, ordering and receiving them, and ultimately setting them up, was flawless. Maybe it's less the companies' lack of service than it is the customers' lack of ... I don't know, something.
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-09-03:
if you don't feel like doing a lot of maintenance i would suggest a mac myself. there's less work you have to do although it does cost more.


or.. if you can, have a relative do the maintenance for you.

My mother (she's 68) usually calls me up for computer help... advice on what anti-virus and spyware to use, how to stop unneeded programs from starting up. hell i revamped her old computer once and made it tons faster.


the one thing i don't recommend is having best buy's geeks touch your computer.
Posted by MRM on 2009-09-03:
The OP's operating system of preference is Windows and I would recommend buying a computer with Windows 7. I rarely have Vista computers to be repaired and I can assure that it will be the same with Seven.
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-09-03:
too bad it has to be windows
there's so much maintenance you have to do on those...


antivirus, spyware, defragging,


the only good windows thing i personally see these days are the $300 computers but those only have a 16G hard drive. ... and those i call good because they're XP not vista
Posted by MRM on 2009-09-03:
The point Im trying to make is that Vista is much more secure than the previous Windows (XP,2000,98) and therefore, I rarely see Vista PCs in my shop to be repaired. I mostly see computers with XP having to be repaired because of the security flaws.
Posted by MRM on 2009-09-03:
So come on "Senior 67" and get a new computer with Windows 7 when it comes out in October! You have the Computer King seal of approval!
Posted by i_am_canadian on 2009-09-03:
I really know very little about computers, Microsoft Word and IE are about all I'm famliar with. And I'm a secretary by training.
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-09-03:
eh who needs microsuck word?

Why pay for it when there's Open Office for free. :-)
and firefox instead of IE (less spyware)
Posted by i_am_canadian on 2009-09-03:
For free, I didn't know that. But I'm using my dad's computer right now which has FireFox. I do like it better.
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-09-03:
Yeah Open Office is a free program that lets you pretty much do everything that Microsoft Office 2000 does. the *latest* office... no. but the stuff everyone's already use to .. yep.


you can also get safari for a PC now too. :-)

of course the thing i really like about Mac... i've seen them take PCs in for repairs. They won't fix everything on a PC, but they'll get it to the point where the apple software (like itunes) works.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.