[X]
Feedburner count

1
Helpful
Votes

Hardees - Clinton SC Complaint - Unsanitary Handling At Hardees Clinton SC

Review by dont like nasty handled food on 2009-09-22
CLINTON, SOUTH CAROLINA -- I ordered two Big Hardee burgers, 2 drinks and one large order of onion rings. Something told me to watch the food being prepared. I noticed the food handler had a ketchup pack in his mouth chewing on it while preparing the food. Then I noticed that the two other employees were speaking to him and when he would answer, he would take the packet out of his mouth, answer the question, then place the packet back in his mouth and continue to handle the food. He did this at least 3 times while preparing my food.

I chose not to cause a scene, but decided to take the food and feed it to my dog. I will never return to this particular restaurant in Clinton, SC.
Comments:42 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-09-23
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-22:
What have you got against your dog?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-22:
Feed it to your dog? What did that prove? Now the next schmuck that eats there will probably get sick.
You should have asked for your money back and told them why in a pleasent manner.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-09-22:
did you file a complaint with the local health department?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-22:
The local health department wouldn't act on one complaint unless perhaps you had video evidence. It cracks me when people harp on calling the local health department. Trust me I know what I'm talking about I interned at some county offices.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-22:
Stewart, you may have a point but you need not be getting harsh with MadC, or making generalized statements about what "people" think and furthermore, doing time in the COUNTY jail does not equate to being an intern!
Posted by i_am_canadian on 2009-09-22:
Let's not forget, Stew's opinion is the only one that matters.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-09-22:
lmao ZZ
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-09-22:
stew it would serve a better purpose than posting a complaint here.

as well, what if this one more complaint was all the health department needed to act?
Posted by ticia232 on 2009-09-22:
rather than the health department you should have made it clear to manager then and there.

I remember at one fast food place a guy came in from a smoke break and proceeded to start making food without washing his hands (we watched him come in.) we said something to the manager and they apologized and offered to make us more food when we informed them that it wasn't our food. We just found it gross and both me and my husband smoke. They gave us a discount for pointing it out.
Posted by MSCANTBEWRONG on 2009-09-23:
The employee should be reported to the manager. I also think the health dept should be notified.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
I would never have fed something to my dog that I was afraid to eat. Your complaint lost merit to me with that. Besides, if you had not seen him, you would have ate it and more than likely never gotten sick. You don't think food prep where you can't see it is anymore sanitary do you?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
Jeez, OP, do you really hate your dog?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
Give me a break. Dogs eat their own crap and lick their poop shoots. I fail to see where a slobbered on Hardees burger could be any worse. Is there no end to y'alls blame the customer lunacy?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
I too have no problem with the OP feeding Fido, his lunch but as I stated earlier, "what did that prove?"
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
Too true, Stew... and sometimes they continue to lick there until the cows come home. Whatever they're doing... whatever they're trying to dislodge is either gone for good or there to stay.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
Feeding it to the dog makes me think i his kid had been there the kid would have gotten it. Just because the dog is an animal is no reason to feed it something you believe is contaminated. That makes you an animal abuser.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
Dogs eat out of the freaking trash for Pete's sake. The other day I saw a dog eating a soiled pampers. Good grief I'd bet money that 50% of dogs would even eat an arby's sandwich if you laid it in front of them. What the bloody hell are you people smoking.
Posted by MSCANTBEWRONG on 2009-09-23:
My dogs will eat just about anything. I don't intentionally feed them anything I consider contaminated or full of germs but they don't have a problem eating it if they happen upon it themselves.
Posted by Skye on 2009-09-23:
Calm down Stew. We get what you are saying. I see that little vein in your farhead throbbing.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
If the dog happens on it, then it is on the dog. The OP intentionally fed what he considered contaminated food to his dog. Big difference.
Posted by MSCANTBEWRONG on 2009-09-23:
True LadyScot.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
If dogs can survive eating their own poop, drink gutter water, and eat off of the ground then surely they can handle some guy's saliva. We fed our dog(s) table scraps all the time.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
I learned the hard way about feeding my dog turkey on Thanksgiving... there was an icky mess on the floor the next day.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
Holy spit balls, it wasn't like the OP thought the sandwich was a bio-hazard or contaminated with nuclear waste. The OP was merely grossed out by the mouth to hand actions of the sandwich maker. Let he/she who hasn't cast your drunken tongue into a strangers mouth (or worse) cast the first stone. I once saw a cat throw up a hairball only to be scared away by a piss ant chihuahua racing to eat said hairball. It's a sad day when I'm the voice of reason on my3cents.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
B-Kat, that was on you. Poor doggie.
Stewart, excellent point regarding where one puts their tongue in the heat of passion!!!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
"B-Kat, that was on you."

I accepted responsibility for it, ZZ...
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-09-23:
Not saying anything to them, paying and leaving with your food accomplished NOTHING and they will continue doing what they did because you didn't say anything. I agree Stew and I often wondered why people flip out when someone drinks out of their cup, yet they go home and shoves their tongue down someones throat and tickles their tonsils with it...but I have to say I complain about the same thing. I once cancled my order (AND made a scene, causing the next three people in line to cancel theirs)...when I seen the woman who was making my toast, chewing on a toothpick then taking the toothpick out of her mouth and laying it on the same board she was making and cutting the sandwiches. Not to mention her coughing in her hand.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
I know. Did the turkey get anyone else sick?
Posted by Skye on 2009-09-23:
It's snowing here.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
No, the turkey was great. Just it didn't agree with Lil' Red's (the dog) tummy too well. The following years, she never got turkey again no matter how much she begged for it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
DB, what soup kitchen were you at?
Cold and rainy here. Good day for drinking and/or "playing house!"
Maybe it was a spice or something, huh BKat?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-09-23:
Skye, I thought you were sending me a snow marble!
Posted by Skye on 2009-09-23:
What! You didn't get it?? Darn that USPS priority mail service!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
It's 66 and raining. Much needed rain and it feels soooooo goooood outside. Quite a difference from the usual triple degree weather.

Probably, ZZ. My bf (at the time) was the one who prepared the turkey. I didn't want to take the chance of it happening again so every Thankgiving since, she gets no turkey.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-09-23:
It was a little cafe in Sears, when I used to work there. I told him why I was canceling my order...I said, "SHE (pointing to the only cook there) just coughed in her hands then took the toast out of the toaster, and she's gnawing on that toothpick and laying it on the cutting board.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
I bet they loved you at work, huh?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-09-23:
Everyone loves the Basher!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
Not the lady with the toothpick.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
In what decade did Sears have cafes in the store?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-09-23:
She heard me complain and she turned around and said, "WHAT DID SHE JUST SAY?"...and before the guy said anything, I said, "I SAID you're coughing in your hands and handling the food without washing...AND you have that toothpick that was in your mouth on the cutting board"...LOL, you should have seen her face. If she could have jumped over that counter, I'm sure she'd have her hands around my throat!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-09-23:
They still have it there Stew...I think it's called Mr. Mike's Cafe.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-23:
I was thinking that as well. I recall the snack bar with popcorn, nuts and such but a cafe? I guess fine dining up there is Furr's Cafeteria huh?

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.