2
Helpful
Votes

Evercom-Correctional Billing Services Complaint - This company is a rip-off

Review by thennemann on 2009-09-24
When my loved one called me from jail, the phone system gave me two-minutes inwhich to have $24.99 + $4.95 convenience fees to set-up a pre-paid account. Get real the average hard working middle class person can not always have that kind of many in a seconds notice. So I called the company back and was told that I had to have a minimal payment of $50. Again, I was not prepared for that. Needless to say this went on at least for five calls. Everytime I called I got different information. The last call I was told AGAIN, I could set the account up with $24.99, I even got the name and employee number of the person who told me this. Finally a week ago I had it together prepared to pay $30 + $4.95 convenience fee. Once again it was wrong. I asked to speak to a supervisor who insisted that it was $50 but now the convenience was $6.95. She said that it was never $4.95. I gave up and paid it and got my account setup. Exactly one-week later and we have no minutes available. We got eight calls for $50. Against my better judgment I called and tried to add $25 to my account and was told I could not. There is a $50 minimal to add money by way of credit card. I was pissed. Just the week before a SUPERVISOR said that I could add any amount after the initial account set-up. I spoke with another supervisor who called me a liar by saying that no supervisor there would have told me that. I BOYCOTT THIS COMPANY! They never give the same information twice. Their CSR'S AND SUPERVISORS ARE CLUELESS.
Comments:24 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-09-24
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-24:
You could save the money and write your honey letters. Do they not do visitations anymore?
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-09-24:
Letter-writing is talent that has fallen to the wayside in this era of electronic convenience.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-24:
Well, if they can't email their honey in prison and gripe about the inconvience of these inmate/jail phone services... then they can write letters. It's something that's very "archaic" nowerdays, but still just as effective.
I did that while my honey was in Iraq. It took 2-3 weeks to send and receive letters but it was better than not hearing from him for a month... when he wasn't able to use a cell or make it to the phone.
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-09-24:
That's what I did when I was on my first Navy ship.

We didn't have email at first. We had to write letters if we wanted to talk to our families.
Posted by goduke on 2009-09-24:
I don't know that there's going to be a great movement to make it cheap and easy for folks in correctional institutes to call their friends and family. Last time I checked, being locked up is supposed to be punishment for something. Part of the punishment may be "you don't get to have daily conversations with your family."
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-24:
I'd send him care packages that, of course, he'd share with the rest of his platoon. I didn't mind. :-)
We're not together anymore, but I still keep his letters in a box... the same box I'd put them in after I was done reading it about 20+ times.
Posted by JR in Orlando on 2009-09-24:
We are so used to instant communications that any delay seems unbearable. But for centuries people and relationships have survived separation. Why not save the money to make weekly visits to the prison to visit him. During the week you could keep a diary of things you do and include them in letters so they he keeps up-dated on all the little things that are happening in your world while he is away. I am assuming its "him" but it could be "her." Best of Luck.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-24:
Before sending your "loved one" a letter in prison, make sure he can read.

If you don't like the cost of talking to him on the phone, you can: 1) not accept the call 2) dump him. I can hear you now: "Oh, isn't that mean to suggest dumping him just because he's in jail and costing me a fortune." He didn't care about you at all when he was getting himself locked up. Of course, now he expects you to be standing right there for him with your wallet open so he can call to tell you about how his day went.

Posted by PepperElf on 2009-09-24:
goduke

what's kinda sad is .... my last Navy ship was decommissioned. (The Kitty Hawk)


There was some talk about converting it into a giant prison, using the berthings for prison beds.

The government's reply was "No, that's cruel and unusual punishment."


So yeah, I don't really have a LOT of sympathy.
Racks stacked 3 high are good enough for the people defending the country, but not good enough for convicted criminals.

I'm not one for pampering prisoners.
Posted by goduke on 2009-09-24:
You are so right, Pepper. Of course, our men and women fighting don't have an army of civil rights lawyers trying to find a reason to sue, either.
Posted by thennemann on 2009-09-24:
They do visitations; however, in my state, they moved my loved one 250 miles away. Once my letter is received,it can take more than a week for it to go through their system. I cannot afford to go see him every week. I do try to make it down at least once a month. I have been fortunate to be able to go three times this month. In the end what I am trying to say you cannot depend on the mail service or visitations. It is frustrating especially when someone is in jail for a misdemeanor (spelled incorrectly I'm sure)and they get shipped so far from home.
Posted by thennemann on 2009-09-24:
Yes the cost is very disturbing, but it is my choice to pay these prices or not. My complaint is not the cost, but the inconsistencies of the customer service reps and supervisors and the rudeness. I am in customer service, and if I spoke to our clients they way I have been spoken to, I would have been fired along time ago.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-24:
Pepper, BA!!!
Posted by thennemann on 2009-09-24:
Some people are not criminals and don't deserve to be locked up. Isn't our country based on innocent until proven guilty. Not everyone who is locked up deserves to be. You have some absent parents who are just cold hearted whose ex almost died in an accident and has not worked in almost a year, not by choice, and got behind in child support and had him thrown in jail. Although I paid something everyweek myself, it was not good enough. So remember NOT EVERYONE who is in jail is an harden criminal.
Posted by thennemann on 2009-09-24:
I too was in the Navy, and agree racks stacked three high were good enough for us but not for people who are in jail.
Posted by DigitalCommando on 2009-09-24:
thennemann, Don't worry about the people here who can't manage to grasp your concept but instead need to drag in completely unrelated events to the topic at hand. Your complaint is valid and is simply another addition to the hundreds of other complaints which generate from any monopoly that is given sole power to dominate a venue.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-24:
Yeah I echo what DC says as well. I don't tend to comment on evercom topics because it's not a lite subject like OD fees or missing french fries. Just know that there are many who share DC's sentiments as well although they might not frequently voice them.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-24:
Pepper, due to over crowding because of the three strikes and you're out law in California they are planning to change the bunks from two to three. Putting three people in a 6' X 9' foot area long ago designed for one may back fire on them. I think violence will increase, especially in the hot Summer months.

The one difference between the racks onboard the Kitty Hawk and a three man cell is the guys and gals on the Kitty Hawk were seldom confined to a 6' X 9' area for 23 hours a day. They may fit three racks in a cell just like you had on the Kitty Hawk but I believe it will be like living in hell for the bodies inside. Do they deserve that? I'm not the judge and jury or politician on that one but they will be paying dearly for what ever crime they committed, that's for sure.
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-09-24:
Yeah but even with racks stacked 3-high
they're not going to be stuffing oh 100+ people into one living space. Not like a ship's berthing.

and no normally we weren't confined to the berthing, but seriously there's no where to go anyway if you're not allowed off the ship.

and no, if our living conditions were that wonderful the government wouldn't declare the ships to be "cruel and unusual punishment" when considering using them for prisoners.

though the KHK does have its own brig.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-24:
Do what sheriff Joe does pitch some tents outside, and house them there. saves the county lots of doe. They could house most of minimum security inmates there
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-24:
How much you wanna bet the Kitty Hawk Brig had more room per person than the berth areas?
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-09-24:
you're counting the entire ship as free space.

that's nice. it still won't change the truth about the ruling that it was considered cruel punishment etc.

Posted by MSCANTBEWRONG on 2009-09-24:
Since they have the monopoly on this service they can charge or say pretty much what they wish. It's unfortunate that a simple thing like "how much do I need to deposit to open my account" has caused you so much trouble. Hopefully your "honey" will be out soon and you can chalk this up as an unpleasant learning experience.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-24:
True Pepper, very true.

With the jails and prisons sharing in the revenue I doubt you will see anything put into place that will disrupt that gravey train of cash.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.

More Reviews on Evercom-Correctional Billing Services: