[X]
Feedburner count

1
Helpful
Votes

Transportation Jewels Complaint - Used car purchase - 2000 Saturn sc2

Review by Strongarm on 2009-09-26
ASHEBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- 2nd. day check engine light came on. This car had so many problems it is hard to tell all of them. It had ignition problems. It would completely die when going down the road. No warning. Would not crank for hours. I was stranded 3 times in 1 week.8 times in 3 weeks. These people promised me another car for 3 months. Last time it died an 18 wheeler almost rearended me on Hwy.64.I got out, took my tags off, caught a ride and never had it towed again. Be careful when buying a used car!
Comments:17 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-09-27
Posted by dan gordon on 2009-09-26:
after inspecting this car with your mechanic he gave you a thumbs up to buy it? Oh right, you didn't check it out before you bought it. Definitely a dealer complaint.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-27:
Your car qualified for replacement under the lemon law. You should have demanded another one or complete repair before your 30 days were up.
Posted by dan gordon on 2009-09-27:
lemon laws do not cover used cars
Posted by Skye on 2009-09-27:
North Carolina Lemon Laws

http://www.carlemon.com/lemon/NC_LemonGuide.html
Posted by MRM on 2009-09-27:
I would recommend to get a OBD Scanner as it is a lifesaver. No need to give away money to the stealership or to a mechanic. You hook up the scanner to your car, it will display diagnostic codes, then you look up codes at www.obd-codes.com. You will see valuable information on how to solve your problem.
Posted by MRM on 2009-09-27:
PS. it will also erase the "Check Engine Light." No need to pay extra to have the dealership do it for you.
Posted by MRM on 2009-09-27:
THANK YOU to the inventors of OBD Scanners as it has saved me hundreds of dollars from repair costs and trips to the mechanics!
Posted by MRM on 2009-09-27:
I love my OBD Scanner so much that I shall buy another one as a back up!

PS OBD stands for OnBoard Diagnostics.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-09-27:
I agree Mr. Mike. Pirate saved me a bundle of money when he recommended that I buy one of those. Some places here charges $85.00 just to use one of those. I even wrote a review on the one I had.
It's so easy, even a girl can use one! LOL!

http://www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=37633
Posted by MRM on 2009-09-27:
That is the exact same model that I have! Go to www.obd-codes.com for further valubale information for your codes.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-09-27:
I was always the kind of person who panicked everytime my service engine light came on...and it was costing me all the time...since my reg. mechanic went out of business who used to do it for free...now, I just plug it in and it only takes like one minute...if it's nothing of urgency, I just cancel out the code to cut the engine light off.
Posted by MRM on 2009-09-27:
DB, have you updated your scanner via computer. When I first bought it last week, the firmware was out of date.

The latest firmware version is 1.2.46.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-09-27:
No, I didn't know I can update it. How do I do that?
Posted by MRM on 2009-09-27:
If you could, whats the current version you have on your scanner?
When you first turn it on, it'll show the version number. It'll be shown briefly, so you gotta be quick.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-09-27:
I don't have it handy right now to check. But I will and I'll IM you when I do.
Posted by MRM on 2009-09-27:
That would be cool.
Posted by trp2hevn on 2009-09-27:
MRM how much does it cost to update one of those?

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.