[X]

19
Helpful
Votes

Customers Everywhere Complaint - Customers Really Burn My Toast!

Review by Diabolical on 2009-10-04
My friends and I took another ride out to Crossgates this weekend, and I legitimately could not believe some of the people I encountered while shopping. Here's a little background on what may be happening when someone cries "horrible customer service"...

For example- we were checking out at the register at Victoria's Secret when the really helpful cashier informed us that we could get a free body butter with our purchase. She pointed out which ones were free, we ran and grabbed one, and a woman had shoved our things aside on the counter and was looking at the cashier expectantly.

"I'm sorry, but I'll be right with you once I finish helping them, okay?" the cashier said, clearly apologetic and still offering a smile.

The woman (who was with her daughter, looked to be about five years old - what are you teaching your kids, guys?) huffed and loudly proclaimed, "Alright, now I'm getting pissed off." She didn't bother to move over so we could comfortably check out.

Her daughter tugged on her skirt. "Mamma, can we get something to eat?"

Her mother didn't bother to even look at the kid. "No. Apparently some people don't know how to RUN REGISTER." She then reached across my chest to check a price tag on something, picked it up and knocked my glasses off pulling it over to her. We were literally inches apart. It was ridiculous.

The cashier looked ready to cry. "You're super helpful, and I'm sorry people suck," we told her. As we were walking out, the woman literally threw her credit card across the counter at the poor cashier.

I read reviews all the time where customers assume they were innocent little angels while the employees went absolutely nuts on them. I will never be able to read a review again without seeing this woman's hissy fit and her poor little kid in my head.

Really, guys... can we drop the sense of entitlement and treat each other as equals?
Comments:20 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-10-04
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-04:
I can't disagree with anything you said, but the getting out of line to get something free and holding customers up is annoying. This being said, I just LOVE how the person behind me always has to get up right behind me while I'm doing my business, as if that will make me or the cashier move faster. I have actually had to tell people to back off. Customers can be very ignorant.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-10-04:
The bulge on my hip usually keeps them at a distance.
Good post Dia!!
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2009-10-04:
Right, sherdy!
My pet peeve is the grade school drop out who is unable to count or read and has 35 items in the 10 items or less check out line. I have been known to embarrass these idiots on occasion.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-10-04:
if there was two of you at the counter, why didn't one stay there and one go retrieve the free body cream?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-04:
Mad, what difference does that make? The woman behind them would have still acted like a butthead. She was huffing and puffing because she had to wait. The store should have had someone standing at the door telling people, "If you buy this, you get that," and not wait until stuff was being rung up. I would have been annoyed, but I sure wouldn't have treated the cashier like a brainless idiot. She was providing good customer service for the two in front of her.
Posted by Diabolical on 2009-10-04:
Madconsumer - there was three of us and one did. Forgot to mention that!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-04:
Oh, I have gotten into the habit of getting a cart, even if I am getting toothpaste, and placing it between me and the person behind me. It gives me two feet of privacy. I always stand back for the person in front of me, expecting, stupidly, that the person behind me will follow my shining example. Nope. Never, ever happens. The cart assures me that it does happen.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-10-04:
thanks for saying that Diabolical, it was something i wondered about.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-10-04:
This is why I always ask, "HOW were they rude"...when they don't offer an example, chances are it was the complainer who was rude and didn't get their way.

When I see something like this happen, especially if it is a new cashier in training...I feel bad for them, and I always say, "You're doing fine, don't worry about one or two people" and they get a little relief look on their face. But the cashiers always seem to apologize for the wait when I get to them in line...and I tell them, "Oh, that's ok, when I get out of here, I'll just have to start cleaning at home anyway, so I'm in no hurry"...or if it's raining, I'll say, "That's ok, I'm not in a hurry to go out in the rain anyway"...a few words of understanding can really take the pressure off a cashier when you see them having a hard time with other customers.
Posted by Ytropious on 2009-10-04:
Oh man diabolical, been there! As a cashier I can either tell someone they get something free, and tell them where it is so they can grab it and bring it to me, or I can NOT tell them, have them come back and yell at my manager or myself about how "no one told them" they were supposed to get something free. I always tell people when they get something free and if it holds up the line so be it. If I know the something is far away I sometimes get another employee to grab it, since it's usually faster. All my registers are behind one counter so sometimes I also move over to another register and ring the next customer if they only have a few things. There is no excuse for how that sour woman acted, like it would have taken you more then a minute to get your free body butter and finished paying.
Posted by clutzycook on 2009-10-04:
Exactly, DB. A lot of the time the people who post about "poor service" on here don't give details; mostly because there probably aren't any details to give.
Posted by Eloise on 2009-10-04:
I have a feeling that they don't post details because they are afraid of coming off as rude.
Posted by old fart on 2009-10-04:
I'D HAVE SHOVED HER CRAP ON TO THE FLOOR AND TOLD THE BEECH TO GO DIVING...
Posted by Eloise on 2009-10-04:
Diabolical, I'd like to commend you for your restraint! She sounds awful and the child is likely to turn out just like mom. I don't understand how people can treat cashiers like that!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-10-04:
That's what I meant Eloise, when I said they don't give details because it was actually the complainer that was rude and didn't get their way.
Posted by Eloise on 2009-10-04:
So that means we both read these types of complaints the same way. Cool!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-10-04:
Yup!
Posted by Eloise on 2009-10-04:
I guess that means we are agreed to agree.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-10-04:
Yup. But let's not make it a habit...we DO have reputations to uphold, you know! LOL!
Posted by Eloise on 2009-10-04:
I'll capitalize your name as long as you capitalize mine. Deal?

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.