Caravan Motel, LLC Complaint - Miserable night at the Caravan Motel - Cannon Falls, MN

Review by 105180 on 2009-10-04
CANNON FALLS, MINNESOTA -- My husband and I had a wonderful trip and memories of Minnesota until we stayed at the CARAVAN MOTEL, LLC on our way back to Missouri. I had booked via telephone so didn't have a prior view of the motel. I tried to cancel before 6 o'clock but the clerk wouldn't cancel and he already had my credit card number and told us that the owners would charge me anyway even if I didn't stay there. Had we seen inside the room we would never have stayed there, the first room we were put into was a smoking room and I had specifically asked for a non-smoking room as my husband has asthma and it shuts his breathing down immediately. The second room also stunk to high heaven, not from smoke, but smelled like there had been flood waters in the carpet and it had soured. The beds were hard as wood, basic cable with poor viewing, there were no amenities (no internet service, no breakfast, no microwave, no fridge, nothing)it was the most expensive motel we stayed in during our entire stay in Minnesota.

We were referred by the motel clerk to go to the McDonald's restaurant there for internet service, but when we got there they wanted to charge us for the internet even though we were eating there, no other McDonald's anywhere has ever charged us for WiFi use. The clerk said that the owners of the motel would be in the next morning, but that didn't matter, we didn't hear a word from them. No way would I ever stay at this motel again nor would I recommend it to anyone else.
Comments:3 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-10-05
Posted by karleebarlee on 2009-10-04:
you get what you pay for.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-04:
No price was mentioned karlee so your assumption is premature. The OP has every right to come here and warn others.
Posted by furnman on 2009-10-05:
Sorry about the bad room, my question is how in the world did you pick a motel in Cannon Falls, it is so close to Mpls/StPaul or Rochester that you had hundreds of options. Being from Mn. I hope you can over look this bad night and keep the Mn. memories.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling

By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.

Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.