[X]

2
Helpful
Votes

Bubba Gump Complaint - TERRIBLE Quality of Food at Bubba Gump- Anaheim

Review by MacOSXpert on 2009-10-20
ANAHEIM, CALIFORNIA -- In August my boyfriend and I purchased food from the Bubba Gump restaurant in Anaheim, CA. Our food was terrible.
Here's what we ordered:
Drink:
Blueberry Smoothie
Blueberries, Strawberries and Non-fat Vanilla Frozen Yogurt.
(Was VERY Watery)

Food:
Shrimper's Heaven
Love Shrimp? This one's for you! Coconut Shrimp, Chilly Shrimp, Fried Shrimp, Tempura Shrimp, Fries, and of course Dippin' Sauces!
(Tempura shrimp was cold, wet, soggy and tasteless, Coconut shrimp barely had coconut on it and was wet, Either the Chilly or Friend shrimp STILL HAD THE HARD SHRIMP SKIN WITH LEGS ON IT, In addition to that, it too was wet.)

Dessert:
Mama's Cinnamon Bread Pudding
No one made it like Mama, because no one had her special Vanilla Sauce recipe! Absolutely, positively the best Bread Pudding you've ever tasted.
(Tasted Burnt)


----
I don't think I will ever purchase food from this Bubba gump restaurant ever again.
I've had VERY Good experiences with the Bubba gump on the Long beach pier and Universal City walk. But this was a terrible experience.
Comments:31 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-10-31
Posted by redmx3racer on 2009-10-20:
What, exactly, is Shrimp Skin?
Posted by redmx3racer on 2009-10-20:
Not to mention-Shrimp Legs?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-20:
They just opened one down here. I knew they were a little overpriced but that bad? I will have to give them a try now. Thanks.
Posted by Mrs. V on 2009-10-20:
The 'skin and legs' are the shell and legs attached to it that is sometimes left on (mostly if the shrip is steamed/boiled).

Normaly the head, shell and legs are removed, but the tail left on, for anything that requires hands (ei, shrimp cocktails).

All shells, tails, head and legs are normally remove for any dish requireing a fork (shrimp in a sauce) ^_^
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-10-20:
it's ok with the shell still on
tho you might wanna clean the back off after you peel the shell off
(that line down the back is their "poop-channel" ...)
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-10-20:
Ewwwwwwwwwww...I'm leaning WAY too much for one day!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-20:
So you didn't like it?
Posted by Mrs. V on 2009-10-20:
LOL @ DB ^_^
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-20:
I hear the head has all the flavor in the shrimp. No thanks.
The last time that I had fried shrimp I had the problem with the shrimp being cold. These places will sometimes batter the shrimp when it is still partially frozen or cook them too fast.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-20:
I always eat shrimp scampi. I could eat some right now.
Posted by Mrs. V on 2009-10-20:
I love steamed shrimp (with Old Bay, of course!). Man, that really sounds good.....

Maybe I'll get that for dinner tonight ^_^
Posted by MacOSXpert on 2009-10-21:
I thought this would warn people NOT to go eat there.......are you kidding me?
Posted by Mrs. V on 2009-10-21:
Mac, I don't think anyone is talking about going to that resturant. Just talking about how we like (or dislike) seafood.

It's was a good review.
Posted by GenuineNerd on 2009-10-21:
The way you were treated at that restaurant was definitely not "like a box of chocolates".
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-10-21:
"you never know what you're gonna get"?
Posted by MacOSXpert on 2009-10-29:
I forgot about the fries! They were wet and soggy too....i remembered them just now.
Posted by JR in Orlando on 2009-10-29:
When I came to Florida 30 years ago, the company I work for all went to a casual seafood place where you could eat all the shrimp you wanted. The shrimp all had the shells and legs on them. How was I to know being from Texas. I tore the legs off and was eating those shrimp lickity split, when everyone looked at me. Everyone else had a big pile of shells in front of them. I had none, because I was eating those shrimp shells and all. What's that ad: you are now free to move about the country.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-10-29:
ZZ that's crawdads that you suck the head!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-29:
I have heard that shrimp is "good head" as well. Seriously.
Posted by Skye on 2009-10-29:
I love my Bubba Gump shirt and tote bag.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-29:
How did you like the food, Skye?
Posted by Skye on 2009-10-29:
We only had smoothies. We don't do fish.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-29:
Smoothies from a fish joint? Is that an East coast thing?
Posted by Skye on 2009-10-29:
No, it was in Anaheim, when we vacationed there. Did all the tourist stuff. My favorite was Universal Studio's and Knotts Berry Farm.

People are always surprised that I don't eat fish, considering I'm a Lawng Island girl.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-29:
No seafood at all? Allergies?
Posted by Skye on 2009-10-29:
No, just never liked it. My husband loves fish, so when we go out to eat, he will order it, since I don't cook it.

Fish is just too fishy for me.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-29:
I guess. A good steak will suffice, right?
Posted by Ytropious on 2009-10-30:
You have your opinion, we have ours. Your opinions DOES NOT EQUAL my opinion. Just so you know...
Posted by old fart on 2009-10-30:
There ain't nuthin' tastier than fresh trapped blue claw crabs..We'd go crabbin' on a Saturday morning and on a good day, come home with 60 or 70 of them little devils.
Steam them and eat like pigs...
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-31:
MacOSXpert,

1. The Anaheim location lives off of tourists so they can get away with serving poor quality stuff since tourists seldom return. And the locals would never go to that area since there are so many better choices out of the tourist traps.

2. On this site you post a complaint, people comment back. Pretty simple program. If you want to post a gripe and not have anyone comment back you're on the wrong site. There are other sites you can do that on.

If you're ever in the area again the Crab Cooker down in Newport Beach would be a better choice.
Posted by Skye on 2009-10-31:
As always Super, the voice of reason and intelligence! VH

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.