[X]

2
Helpful
Votes

Safeway.com delivery Complaint - Safeway.com grocery delivery - very frustrating

Review by workingMomof2 on 2009-11-07
LOS GATOS, CALIFORNIA -- I ordered wine and other items online for delivery for a party we were having tomorrow. With two small kids its very difficult to get to the store, which is why I used Safeway.com delivery in the first place. When the order arrived, none of the wine was there. I was informed they cannot substitute wine. If I'd known that, I would not have ordered from them. Maybe that warning is in the small print somewhere, but I didn't see it. Now I have a huge party of people coming tomorrow and I have to add a separate grocery trip, kids in tow, to my long list of things to do today. This totally defeats the value of this service, in my mind.
Comments:6 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-11-08
Posted by Principissa on 2009-11-07:
I take my kids with me everywhere I go. It's a little frustrating at times, but it's part of the job of being a mom. Do I like having to take them everywhere, no not all the time, but you know what, I do it. I don't see how a trip to the store to pick up groceries and wine is such a huge inconvenience, it's part of daily life. It is frustrating, and they should have notified you they didn't have the items you wanted, but stuff happens.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-11-07:
My mother used to take all three of us to the store when we were small. You'll be fine also.
Posted by CrystalSword on 2009-11-08:
I used to take my three kids to the store with me and thought nothing of it, it was just part of life...now that we are empty nesters, I still have wee ones to take, both our service dogs go where we do and they are not much different from having kids in tow...one nice thing though, they don't ask for stuff in every aisle!
Posted by Nohandle on 2009-11-08:
I believe the issue here is Safeway didn't do as expected. They messed up an order that the OP had depended on while planning a party. Most of us have planned an event right on down to the last detail and all of a sudden something didn't happen. There we were scrambling, attempting to come up with a solution when we had other things to do in the meantime.

Shopping with kids can't be a barrel of laughs and when you had not planned on it, at the last moment, really does make a difference I expect. You don't just run out the door and grab what you need. I've never utilized one of those delivery services and might think twice if it's ever offered in this area.
Posted by Eloise on 2009-11-08:
I believe the actual problem is that the OP didn't read the fine print. If she had she would have known that they couldn't make substitutes. You can't blame Safeway!
Posted by Nohandle on 2009-11-08:
Eloise as I stated I've never ordered from one of those grocery/delivery services so I don't know how they work. Perhaps it is in the fine print. Anyone else here ever ordered from this company and what were your results?

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.