Pratesicommunications.it Informative - Phishing Email

Review by madconsumer on 2009-11-19
Beware of any emails that request your banking information. The email states due to several failed logins, my account will be on hold.

This web site, www.pratesicommunications.it, sent me an email requesting I update my online banking passwords and id. First clue this was phishing was, I have had no login failures, second clue was the website is not on a secure server. None of the links on their page work.

Although the site looks familiar, a fast look at the http: proves it is not my bank.
Comments:9 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-11-21
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-11-19:
One clue that an email is a phising scam: real emails from your bank will never ever ask for personal information such as username/pw or bank account numbers and the like.
Good that you caught onto that. A lot of people aren't so lucky.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-11-19:
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-11-19:
exactly barekitty!!
Posted by goduke on 2009-11-19:
Excellent advice, Mad. Appreciate it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-11-19:
I've had some like this masked as BOfA.

Posted by D on 2009-11-19:
Thanks for the reminder...
Posted by D on 2009-11-20:
Has anybody noticed that the name "pratesi" is an anagram of PIRATES...
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-11-20:
Very good, OF!
Posted by lisa on 2009-11-21:
I get such emails off and on myself-mainly from Bank of America-which I have no affiliation with at all. I get them from Paypal too. What I do is go directly to website for Paypal instead of clicking on the link-you just don't know if they have included some sort of virus.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling

By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.

Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.