[X]
Feedburner count

Closet Factory - Waldorf Complaint - Poor Quality and Service from Closet Factory

Review by complain CF on 2009-12-01
WALDORF, MARYLAND -- [1] The color of the shelves are uneven, some look like not have stained properly - not much at all. [2] The shelves, vertical boards, back cover, doors, and the flutes have different colors. This is because Closet Factory replaced the front materials with vinyl (even if they had specified on the contract that these will be malemine).
[3] The middle section sags when we put books in;
[4] The five arches are much too large and cover most of the shelves, which makes the top shelves useless.

After we complained to the Vice President of the company, he asked us to share the cost (an additional $1000 - after we have paid about $6800 for the book shelves and total of $10,000 for all three projects they did) to replacing the vinyl. The VP even admitted that that, in his words, “When we experimented with the vinyl, we (people at the Closet Factory) all thought that it looked okay, but when the order came in, it did not look as we had expected.”
Company Response on 01/18/2010:
We contracted with the client to provide a custom built library unit and as a cost saving measure, wood trim was removed from our contract, while adding wood edges on the adjustable shelves. Matching vinyl molding was used instead of the more expensive stained wood. Once installation was completed our paperwork was signed that everything was satisfactory and that we did an "excellant job". Once we heard from the client that there were issues, we gave them a price to change out the vinyl molding with stained wood and offered to split the cost of the additional material with them. We were unable to reach an agreement on the extra materials but set up a time to make the changes that they mentioned in #2 & #3 and adjust the color on the shelf edges. Again our paperwork was signed that they were happy. But apparently they are still unhappy. We don't know what to do to satisfy this client. We have been in business for almost 14 years and have never had an issue like this.
Comments:1 Replies - Latest reply on 2009-12-29
Posted by finethings on 2009-12-29:
People that do not understand wood should not buy wood. If you want a perfect look order plastic and then the color and fake grain will match perfectly.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.