[X]
Feedburner count

1
Helpful
Votes

Family Christian Stores Complaint - Phone harrassment

Review by tatt n mami on 2009-12-03
ALPHARETTA, GEORGIA -- I go to my Family Christian Store they ask for me for my phone number.. I ask them if I will get any sales calls I'm told no... a few months later I start getting recorded blitz calls every 2 weeks of their sales items. I ask them to remove my phone number and then go back there and buy some more stuff. The calls keep coming. I call the district manager the calls keep coming. It is amazing to me that a Christian store would lie about how they would use my phone number. The only way I could determine to stop the phones calls was to stop shopping there. Its really to bad as they have better coupons than Lifeway.. but Lifeway doesn't harass me with phone calls... so don't give your phone number to Family Christian Stores.. they never did resolve the issue. I told them they could call me to assure things were straightened out.. but the calls never stopped until I quit shopping there.
Comments:25 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-06-03
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-03:
Why did you give them your number in the first place?
Posted by tatt n mami on 2009-12-03:
I thought a Christian store could tell the truth. [snip - please be respectful] No other store I've ever provided my number to has done this.. although I won't give it out again.
Posted by redmx3racer on 2009-12-03:
Ok, I know this sounds cheesy. But give them your area code, followed by 867-5309. I do it whenever a store asks me for my #, or when I sign up for rewards cards, and only once did somebody catch it. Or give them a # to a known dedicated fax line-sometimes I give out my work fax #.
Posted by MaggieMcT on 2009-12-03:
^^^ Good one!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-03:
Big deal so they call once every 2 weeks....so you answer and hang up. Or just dont anwer if its them calling.
Posted by tatt n mami on 2009-12-03:
Red.. thats a thought.. I'm just going to say next time if I can't buy from you w/o providing my phone number I'm going elsewhere. Tennboy.. you may think it no big deal.. but its annoying especially when you get some of these calls at 7 a.m. on a weekend and they wake you up. I had some idiot last week that called me 10 times for a wrong number including 7 a.m. on Saturday. These annoying calls add up.. I got 7 annoying calls today.. that is a bit much.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-03:
lol @ Red.
And chances are, whoever's taking the number down, won't catch on to what the number actually represents.
Posted by Slimjim on 2009-12-03:
Many stores use phone numbers as customer numbers. This way repeat shoppers simply give the phone number and the register system has all their history, plus readies for a quick check out.
Tatt has a very valid complaint. No way should the store even be using these numbers to do pre-recorded sales blasts, but especially when the customer was specific not to use their personal phone that way.
Posted by old fart on 2009-12-03:
I dialed the number and got a "disconnected" notice... was there supposed to be something else? LOL
Posted by redmx3racer on 2009-12-03:
Well OF, I guess Jenny moved then! Haha!
Posted by old fart on 2009-12-03:
Jenny who...?
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-12-03:
"Do you have a life?"

what kind of reply is that?


ever consider putting your number on the "do not call" list?
or will i be asked "do you have a life" for suggesting it...?
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-12-03:
red & old fart
oy thanks. now i have falco in my head =)

"Jeanny" ;)
Posted by redmx3racer on 2009-12-04:
OF-read this. Then you will understand. If you somehow managed to live under a rock and never hear the song, then I really do envy you!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/8675309

Pepper, thanks for the Falco. Now I have "Rock Me Amadeus" (however you spell that!) in my head. Not to mention a vision of Keeanu Reeves playing football. Neither are good things.
Posted by tatt n mami on 2009-12-04:
My number is on the do not call list.. however if you understand the rules of the do not call list it specifies if you do business with that company they are exempt from not calling you.. so I won't tell you to have a life but that you don't understand the do not call list... the person I told to get a life is zzrok and its not just based on this thread but he seems to criticize anyone for posting valid complaints on MANY threads.. hence the get a life comment is only directed at him
Posted by RestaurantGuy on 2009-12-04:
Tatt I think ZZ was just saying that you do not have to give a business a phone number if you do not want to. It is your choice to give it to them. When a business asks for my number I tell them I don't have one and they just ring up the sale for me. That way everyone wins. But that's just me
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-12-04:

however with the do not call list, that assumes the company actually knows your number.

Red's idea is a good one...

and if you're lucky they will be clueless and not realize what the number is.

one of my old bosses was that clueless. they kept giving her the "Jenny" number to call and she fell for it. Every. Single. Time.


or just tell them you only have a cell for emergency calls.
i don't use a landline myself
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-04:
When I get asked for a number I don't even give them an excuse I just say 'No'. If they ask why I respond, "Because I don't want to"

90% of good mental health is the ability to say 'No' with the only rationale being, "I don't want to" and doing so without any guilt. It's quite liberating.
Posted by redmx3racer on 2009-12-04:
Good point Stew. I do the "Jenny" thing because it makes me laugh. I also have no problem just saying no at times to things I don't want to (and am not required) to do.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-04:
The only place that asks me for my number are auto parts stores for warranty reasons only.
Unless your "prayer cloth" is under warranty, I can see no reason to give out your number unless you are that lonely or just naive in my opinion.

Good morning, Tatt! *smiles*
Posted by old fart on 2009-12-04:
867 5309.... got it!
Posted by tatt n mami on 2009-12-05:
what is wrong w/ just saying like I did before I won't give my number out to sales people period... I gotta problem with lying and saying I don't have a phone because that isn't true... if I was into lying I'd be as much of hypocrite as them.. they lied to me.. I won't stoop to their level
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-12-05:
then don't give your number out?
Posted by tatt n mami on 2009-12-06:
well I didn't come up here asking for advice.. warning folks that when you give your number out.. Family Christian Stores will spam you on the phone.. even though they say they won't.. I gave the solution to not give out your number.. I'm not interested in lying especially since that is what ticked me off so much about Family Christian Store to begin with
Posted by CoonCatOne on 2010-06-03:
If you go to this site, you can file a complaint:
https://complaints.donotcall.gov/complaint/complaintcheck.aspx?panel=2

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.