[X]
Feedburner count

6
Helpful
Votes

PHO THANH Compliment - Good Vietnamese food

Review by 54118 on 2009-12-28
PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- On Sunday, me and my friend decided to get some lunch. He recommended a Vietnamese restaurant. I have never had Vietnamese food before but, decided to give it a try. We went to this place called PHO THANH. I have seen this restaurant a thousand times before but, never went because its in a not so good area.

So when we came in, we were greeted very warmly by the staff and were shown to our table right away. Before I even sat down our water is brought to us and the menu. My friend recommended the Pho, a beef noodle soup. I got the PHO TAI NAM, Which has beef and brisket in it. and my friend got the same thing.

Our soup arrives in a timely manner. This soup was huge it came in a large bowl. And we got a side of bean sprouts, lime, greens, and jalapenos to compliment the soup. My soup had big chunks of beef and brisket and rice noodles. The beef broth was really tasty as well. Took me about a hour and a half to down the soup its that big, very filling.

The prices are very cheap. My soup was 4.95, and like I said it was HUGE and I got a coke. So my bill came to 6.40. Overall it was a nice experience and I will definitely come back.
Comments:15 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-01-22
Posted by Skye on 2009-12-28:
Very nice review Wally. Glad you enjoyed your meal.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-28:
I love some really good Pho. Nice review, Wally.

Posted by Slimjim on 2009-12-28:
Nice review Wally, although personally I don't order anything that sounds like poo.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-28:
If I'm ever in Arizona, I'll be sure to look them up. Good Asian food is to die for!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-28:
Hey?! How come I wasn't invited to lunch?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-28:
I did invite you to lunch, But, you were busy my dear.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-28:
It took you an hour and a half to eat soup? Was it served in a bathtub?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-28:
C'mon, slimjim..it's pronounced 'fa' (short a), I believe. Sounds nothing like poo.

Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-12-28:
No yaya, it's called taking your time, enjoying the food, drink, atmosphere and company.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-28:
It was served in this huge bowl, enough for two people to eat.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-28:
Jkt, I am the youngest of a big family. I learned to eat fast. My brother would eat my food off my plate if he was done with his food
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-12-28:
Yep know the feeling, weren't no leftovers at our house either. That's why I'm not choosy about what I eat....food! get it fore someone else does!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-12-28:
It's still like that at family get togethers. We all run to the food pushing each other out of the way
Posted by HELPMEOUT on 2010-01-22:
If I didn't know any better, I would have think you're advertising the place...lol. However, I checked your other reviews too, so you're legit. I don't see how you can eat PHO in 1.5 hour. The soup should be cold and the noodles are soggy (soggy noodle...lol). Yes, I'm vietnamese and I do like pho. Next time, try the PHO BO VIEN (pho with meatballs) or PHO TAI BO VIEN (pho with beef and meatballs). TAI means not fully cooked (rare, but in pho term it's not that rare because the beef is thinly sliced). It's more like medium.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-22:
Wallyworld advertising? Hardly.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.