[X]
Feedburner count

1
Helpful
Votes

Pappas Burgers Complaint - Don't ROB me with a smile

Review by jes0lis on 2010-01-08
HOUSTON, TEXAS -- 01/06/2010
My girlfriend and I went to Pappa's Burgers 8pm Wed evening:

Ordered: 2 Buffalo burgers, replace salad for fries on 1,
order : 6 buffalo wings & 1 coke, 1 Iced Tea

we are given our ticket and we are to give it to our waitress in the area of seating. Opening the the bill I am amazed it is for $40.87

'Ive eaten there before and burgers are pretty good but, not that good for that price. We walked to front and told the young man at register we did not want to pay and to cancel our order. he was polite and refused to take my money to pay for drinks. we thank him and left. Out side of that, I feel pappa's burgers need to inform guest moreover the $1.95 charger for EVERY LITTLE detail that you may want. Ultimately, we went up the road to another place had the the exact sample meal for $27.+

Thank you Houston for giving me the option of not feeling like getting ROBBED with a smile at Pappa's Burgers

James Solis
Comments:41 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-01-28
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Why would you be amazed at the price? Don't they have the prices for their items where you can see them?
Posted by goduke on 2010-01-08:
Menu is even online.

http://pappaspizza.net/images/dyn/menus/menu_413.pdf

Looks like the burgers are 10.95 ($21.90). Fries look to be $1 less than the salad. 6 wings is $7.95. Sodas are $2.25 each. They probably charged the full amount for the salad ($3.95). With tax it would be right at $40.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
That place is WAY over priced on everyday foods.
An upscale burger joint is all it seems to be.

FIFTEEN BUCKS FOR A CHICKEN FRIED STEAK?!!! Puhleeeze!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
umm well if you didnt pay, how were you robbed???? You got free drinks, correct? Why are you complaining here???? If anything, you should be satifsited they didnt even charge you for the drinks.
Posted by goduke on 2010-01-08:
The Pappas chain of restaurants has awesome food. Pappadeaux's is cajun. Pappasito's has these fajitas that are to die for. Pappas Bros. steak house is pretty upscale but has wonderful steaks. Never did their burger joints, but I imagine it's good quality.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Let's do some math:
2 Buffalo Burgers -- 2 X 10.95=21.90
6 Buffalo wings -- 7.95
1 Coke -- 2.25
1 Iced Tea -- 2.25
1 Side Salad (the sub from fries) -- 3.95

Total: 38.30
add tax: 3.15
new total: 41.45

My total is off from your actual total... those burgers are pricey. I wouldn't eat there either for burgers that are almost $11 bucks a piece.

I still don't see how they're robbing you. I got the prices from the menu off the website, which I'm sure those prices are in plain viewing when you were ordering your food. You could have just simply walked out before ordering anything. And you didn't even pay for it... you cancelled your order and went to another restaurant. So, how were you robbed?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Never heard of this chain, Goduke. Mainly in the southwest are of the US?
Posted by goduke on 2010-01-08:
I think they are exclusively Texas. Houston, San Antonio, Dallas. If you are down that way, check them out. During crawfish season they serve blackened crawfish. Mmm.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Plain and simple. The price is on the menu. Can't afford it, don't order. Just leave. Why would you post a complaint about the cost of a restaurant? There are thousands of places I can't afford to eat. I guess I need to inform America that The Russian Tea Room, Spaghetti Factory, The Melting Pot, New Orleans Manor etc are expensive and not to go there.

My husband and I went to The Spaghetti Factory once while in Nashville. We looked at the Menu on the wall, and decided it was too pricey for us at that moment. At no time did I feel the need to inform a manager that his prices were too high blah blah blah. We simply decided to eat elsewhere.

I can't help it. This type of review is ridiculous.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
I shall do that, GD.
Haven't had crawfish in years.

MG LadyS, looks like you two can't eat out anywhere beyond IHOP! That place isn't that expensive.

http://www.osf.com/menu/location-menus/st_louis.htm
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
I like going to Pappadeux's. I'll splurge every now and then for that. There's a couple of them in Austin.
Posted by Slimjim on 2010-01-08:
I can't see why you are here complaining either. You had a menu with prices, placed an order, then canceled. The place even spotted you the drinks for your trouble. If you wrote anything, you should have said something like nice people, but a bit pricey. Exact same meal- Can that be accurate with restaurants? Is a steak from Chucks the same as Ruth Chris?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
I think it's ridiculous when somebody comments on a review that they think is ridiculous only to state that it is ridiculous to complain about menu prices then they go on to list a bunch a restaurants that they think are overpriced. It's like ridiculous squared. It's like saying hey moron stop it with the name calling. It's like eating fudge while wearing a burka then ordering a buttermilk gin and tonic while sunbathing on the beach. Yeah, it's just like that.

A $10.95 burger better stain my memory really good or I'd be less than pleased.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
I gotta agree Stewart, especially when they are complaining about places that only they can't afford.
Who here can't afford a 50 dollar pasta dinner for two including the wine?!

SAD!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Zz, I should have explained that it was Valentine's night a few years ago, and they were advertising a couple's dinner to share. It was, I can't remember, $50 or so and the menu had all the choices you could get. Not a bad price overall. Just at that time we couldn't afford it. We were dead broke. We still didn't complain.

And Stew, I never said those places were overpriced. I used them as examples.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Why would you slander them as being overpriced then? That is how you made it seem at least.
C,mon Rachel Ray, if times were that tough why didn't you two have a pizza over a glass of Chablis and call it a night?
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-01-08:
why is this a complaint?

this should be a COMPLIMENT

they were polite to you and let you cancel the order when you realized what it was going to cost.

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Zz, stating a place is pricey is not an insult that they are overpriced. I never said they were overpriced. Just pricey.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
I agree with ZZ. Just because one can't afford to eat somewhere is no reason to slam them for being pricey.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
"....insult.....?" It was a subjective and opinionated statement. Not an insult.
Heck, McDonald's is pricey if you are broke.

Myopia can be a hindrance you know?

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Stew, you just agreed with me. Dang. You went way around the block to get there though.
Posted by goduke on 2010-01-08:
Rough crowd today.

I, myself, particularly like a place that has a trough of cold beer to choose from while you are waiting in line to order. Butcher paper for plates. Paper towels for napkins.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
GD, in a lot of instances those are great places to eat. Minus the trough of course.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Sounds like Rudy's, goduke. Or any bbq place in Texas. Mmmmm bbq.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
I ain't drinking beer from no trough with a bunch of Tejans. God only knows what kind of disease you'd end up with.

Zz, In Dayton they have the perfect place. It's called 'Cold Beer and Cheeseburgers'. No BS, no fancy communal beer slurping. Just as the name says -- Cold Beer and Cheeseburgers. I'd recommend though you not eat the cheeseburgers. Just dreadful, dreadful burgers.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
I had my first taste of Texas BBQ in Houston about 15 years ago and still hooked.
I can still taste the brisket that was smoked over applewood!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
How can you ruin a burger period?
Dayton, Ohio?
Posted by goduke on 2010-01-08:
Rudy's is my favorite place in the whole world bearkat. Anytime I get to San Antonio or Austin it's on my itenarary. BBQ...cream corn...peach cobbler.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
And you can fill up your tank at Rudy's as well.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-01-08:
Oh Geesh...I guess I'm going to have to take a trip to Dayton and teach them how to make a Basher Burger...in fact, I might even show them how to make a Basher BBQ Burger!!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Goduke: there's a place called Fuschak's BBQ in San Marocs, Texas that has melt in your mouth brisket, that I discovered during Christmas. It's right up there with Rudy's in the nomnom of brisket tasties.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
I ate at a Pappacitos in Atlanta a couple of months ago. It was awesome. If I won the lottery I'd take the money and start franchising these in the NE.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Is it safe to assume that these briskets are better than Famous Dave's?
His was way over cooked the last time that I ate there. I like my brisket a tad rare in the middle portion.
Posted by goduke on 2010-01-08:
Don't know about the rest of NE ken, but in RI they turn their nose up at flavor. They like it bland. I have to carry my own tabasco with me.

thanks for the recommendation bearkat. I'll put it on my list for the next trip down south.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
There's aren't any Famous Dave's in or around Austin, so I wouldn't know, ZZ.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
I see. They are okay ribwise but hold the brisket.
Posted by angie9778 on 2010-01-28:
The point is, they did NOT post the upcharge on the menu nor did they tell us at the register. Burgers were 8.95 + 1.95each upcharge for buffalo meat. 1.95 upcharge for salad instead of fries. I WILL NEVER spend $41 on a couple burgers. Neither of us have to watch every dime we spend but for this kind of money I'd at least expect a round or two of beers. Someone that would spend this amount for what we were getting either has no concept of the value of a dollar or pockets overflowing with cash that they need to just lighten the load.
Posted by momsey on 2010-01-28:
I agree with some of the others. This shouldn't be a complaint, it should be a compliment. Sometimes I'm shocked at a food bill for my family and I, but it's never anyone else's fault. Prices are listed on the menu.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-28:
The upcharge for salad instead of fries is listed in the menu.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-28:
Well whenever you are substituting something other than what comes with the meal, its normally common sense to ask if there is going to be an additional charge. NOrmally whenever you substitute anything, there is a charge. No one is arguing the price for what you got, we are simply telling you that you should have been AWARE of what you were going to pay before you ordered.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-01-28:
wait...

Fries - 2-something, Side salad - 3-something

You assumed you could "substitute" a more expensive item for free?


The complaint is that they didn't explain to you that one item costs more than the other, and that you'll have to pay the difference for it?


I thought that was common sense.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.