[X]

8
Helpful
Votes

Ebay/PayPal Complaint - Ebay/PayPal Complaints, Waste Of Time!

Review by Anonymous on 2004-09-08
I am really amazed at how Ebay/PayPal cares Nothing about Consumers who get ripped off on Ebay Purchases. What's more, their Feedback System is a joke! If you leave Negative FeedBack for a Seller, attempting to simply warn others of your bad experience, the Seller can do the same to You, without any substanciated facts, simply Revenge.

Moreover, if you attempt to file a Complaint with PayPal on an Item that was "not as described", PayPal allows you to waste your time writing the complaint, then when you submit it, it Automatically Closes the Dispute!!! What's more, it won'nt let you file anymore complaints against this Seller! How convenient of them to waste your time and basically treat your problem as "your problem"! Neither of these conmpanies cares about a Buyer in the least!

A Seller could send you a PhoneBook instead of say a Laptop, you spent big bucks on, and their Policies would apply to "Not as Described" in the add and besically leave you in the cold, without any cares or assistance. Try It, if you have a bad experience with a Seller, you'll be glad to avoid it if possible... There's been no improvement to Ebay's Fraud or dispute sysems in the least, over the past few years.
Comments:6 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-11-12
Posted by Anonymous on 2004-09-08:
I’m aware there are dishonorable sellers on e-Bay. There are also very honest sellers. “Let the buyer beware.” There are some sellers that word their ads just so, an example “This item is guaranteed to be genuine 925 silver” then they will list a designer name to the piece, insinuating it’s the real deal, it is “Our” job as a buyer to read carefully.
Then, we have buyers, no matter what you do; they’re not going to be satisfied, many people sell pre-owned goods, state the items are used, they disclose any flaws, a bid is placed, when the item received the buyer isn’t happy.

As far as feedback, I agree, but this is two sided. As a seller, I ALWAYS left feedback when the sale was closed, ie, money was paid, me, the buyer fulfilled their end of the contract. Yet, if I left feedback for a non-paying bidder, the person in turn would leave negative feedback for me, for what……..

However, the one time, the one time, I had to report a problem through paypal for an item I hadn’t received, they were more than helpful.

You stated e-Bays fraud or dispute center hasn’t changed in the last few years, how many times have you found yourself needing their assistance?
Posted by sanford31031 on 2004-09-08:
I used to be an Ebay junkie, but I have slowed it down some. I still sell occasionally. I try to stay away from higher priced items since that is where I used to get duped. I tried reporting to Ebay but of course that was to no avail. I've always gotten my money back though, I just didn't involve Ebay!! I had a warrant issued for one man and was happy to hear he was in jail!
Posted by shynystn on 2004-09-11:
All I can say is BUYER BEWARE..Read Buyer's Agreement before bidding, and don't expect Ebay..Safe Harbor..or Square Trade to help you in case of a dispute. There's a reason Ebay doesn't list a customer service phone number..
Posted by sanford31031 on 2004-09-15:
Sorry I didn't know that making sandwiches was such a chore that anyone would need a sandwich maker?!?!?! Is your mom your sandwich maker?
Posted by j2net on 2006-02-05:
PayPal cost me an overdraft.

PayPal has cost me about $24.00 in overdraft and other expenses. This is the first time in 37 years that I have had an overdraft at my bank. I am mad at PayPal and infuriated with their aggravating practice of asking me if I really want to use a credit card to pay. YES, I ALWAYS want to use a credit card to pay. This nag screen process has also cost PayPal my respect.

Exasperated, I removed my checking account information so PayPal will not be able to provoke me this way again.

D**n you for slanting your payment process in preference of bank draft payments.

D**n you for not being fair enough to inform your customers that they risk an overdraft if they use an electronic draft from their bank.
Posted by Ricardo on 2012-11-12:
I ordered a PC >£700 but PayPal decided I didn't deserve it and reversed the payment.
Their kind email (my [redacted])read:
Dear [redacted],
We would like to inform you that the payment for the amount of £[redacted] GBP with transaction ID [redacted] has been reversed to its original funding source following our investigation.

Due to data protection reasons we are unable to give you the specific reason as to why a payment has been investigated.

If you still wish to complete the payment, please resend the funds or contact the seller to arrange details of the transaction.

Please note:

Because of credit card policies, refunds to credit cards can take up to 30 days to appear on your statement.

Yours sincerely,
[redacted]
PayPal

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.