11
Helpful
Votes

Famous Pizza And Subs Informative - Know Your Eatery And Their Food!

Review by 15910 on 2010-01-12
DENVER, COLORADO -- Over the past few months I have been banging my head against the wall here when people would go to say, an IHOP for broccoli or a FF joint for a quality fish dinner. As the food savvy restaurant critic here, let me tell you that you are asking for trouble, my friends.

Most of you know that I dine regularly at 3 star diners and 5 star steak houses at least twice a year so I know what I speak of, right?!

Wrong!

After the g/f went manic the other night and cancelled our dinner plans I am sitting around moping and trying to figure out what to eat on my own now. Well, I see this flier with a vast menu (red flag) of sides and other entree`s besides pizza joint food.

Fried or baked chicken, T-Bone Steak for take-out? What?
Anyway I decided on some "beer food".

So the food arrives and the driver sets my bagged up food on the floor while I pay him and for that deed, he got no tip. Hand me the food!

The Jalapeno Poppers were pretty good but the Jumbo Shrimp was awful!

How hard is it to deep fry some frozen shrimp for about four minutes, I thought? Very hard for them. They were so overcooked that they were inedible. Hard, dried out and even the putrid tasting cocktail sauce couldn't save them. Jumbo Shrimp? Not even close!! Lucky for me the fries and poppers filled me up as I dumped the rest of the shrimp.

I would say the moral to the story is to have what the eatery is known for unless you trust the place especially from dives like this with such a wide variety of menu items.

As bad as the shrimp was I won't even go to that joint for PIZZA now!
Comments:17 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-01-12
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-12:
Good review Zz. I'm always leery of delivery/takeout places that have a HUGE menu with very much variety.

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-12:
Um ZZ my love, didn't you just write a review about a fish sammie? So why you banging your head when someone eats one for dinner? *smiles prettily*
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-12:
BTW, had you travelled to see me I would have cooked you an awesome dinner, stocked my fridge full of beer, and handed you the remote control
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-12:
Let me see if I got this right. You order fried shrimp from a pizza joint then are surprised by the quality? Heck, why not double your pleasure and order some enchiladas from an Asian noodle house? or maybe some baba ghanoush from Ron's House of Chum. Poor delivery driver put his life on the line by entering the combat zone of your gang infested apartment complex and you stiff him on the tip? Are you kidding me?

Yeah, I know it's a pisser your little honey stood you up but that doesn't give you call to take it out on the poor schmuck risking life and limb to stuff your belly. I will say though I'm glad you didn't get BEHIND the wheel on this one. That's progress, I guess.

Despite my criticisms I'm still gonna have to vote this one 'Very Helpful'. You got style.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-12:
Thanks as it was a very somber night.
Yaya, you could have been my hero that night. Choosing to sleep on the couch after eating bad shrimp and getting yelled at by this MILF was pretty much a downer!
Posted by madconsumer on 2010-01-12:
what a great and informative and helpful review.

i cannot understand why this hasn't received 15 helpful votes yet.
Posted by Slimjim on 2010-01-12:
Me either Mad. Who would expect the quality of the shrimp to be so poor at a pizza shack. Too bad they didn't include a cup of Rancholina dipping sauce. It might have saved the whole meal, even if a pair of Levi's were sacrificed. VH!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-12:
the delivery guy put your food on the floor... priceless
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-12:
TW, not only on the floor but the floor where you enter the building!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-12:
hey ZZ.....nice review but not happy with you stiffing your delivery driver.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-12:
the menu reminds me of crappy hotel room service..
Posted by Nohandle on 2010-01-12:
Splendid review ZZ and thank you for the advice not to order the Deep Fried Jumbo Shrimp from a pizza place. I'll certainly keep that in mind. Is there a slim possibility your delivery man was afraid he would be hit on the head with an empty beer bottle so he elected to lay your food on the floor rather than hand deliver it to you? That would free him up for a quick departure. Just Curious.
Posted by Starlord on 2010-01-12:
Great review, zz. Reminds me of Abe Fong's Kosher Pizza joint. ROFL
Posted by old fart on 2010-01-12:
Any pizza joint that calls itself "famous" is a dead give-away that it isn't...
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-01-12:
old fart - kinda like in hawaii.
anything that called it self "no ka oi" (meaning "the best") usually wasn't the best
Posted by Alain on 2010-01-12:
Another excuse to stay comfortably at home, but I'm betting the wife won't buy it.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-01-12:
Hmmmmm...who was it that said:

About Me:
Denver native. Good food is a passion of mine. Love to cook. The ladies seem to like that in a man!


Oh yeah! That would be YOU, the Zman! So, I have to wonder WHY you didn't cook for yourself...and if that's what the ladies seem to like in a man...why were YOU counting on HER for your dinner plans?

And how do you expect us to take your advice, when you don't even take your own advice?

Something is smellin' fishy on your knickers!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.