12
Helpful
Votes

Times Square Pizzeria Compliment - Best New York Style Pizza I've Had

Review by 86395 on 2010-01-17
2602 W DEER VALLEY RD PHOENIX, AZ 85027 -- My ex boyfriend I and decided to drive from Phoenix to Flagstaff on Friday night. It was an impromptu, spur of the moment kind of trip. As we were leaving Phoenix, we realized that neither one of us had eaten dinner yet. We didn't want to stop and get fast food anywhere. My ex remembered this pizza place he used to go to called Times Square Pizzeria. So we decided to stop there.

The outside of the place doesn't look like much. In fact, if you didn't know it was there, it would be easy to miss it. The inside is small and since it was Friday night, it was very crowded. The bar had plenty of seats, so we sat there.
We ordered a large pepperoni to go. We mentioned to the bartender that we were driving to Flagstaff that night. He said he'd put a rush on our order.

Less than 10 minutes later, our pizza was done. The bartender included an extra bag with plates, napkins, Parmesan cheese, forks, and knives. I'm glad he thought to do that cause I would have forgotten to ask for plates.

We got back on the road and I started to eat the pizza. I fell in love with the first bite I took. The dough was cooked perfectly, the sauce was definitely homemade, and the cheese melted in my mouth. I've been to other NY style places and this one blows them all out of the water. The staff was very friendly and the place just had a really good vibe to it. It's a long drive from where I live, but I will make the trip to Times Square again.
Comments:17 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-01-22
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-17:
The cheese melted in your mouth? It wasn't already melted? JK. I still think NYC style pizza sucks compared to Chicago style.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-01-17:
VH little, but I got to agree with jtf...Chikago pizza is better.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-17:
Good review yaya. Glad u and your BF enjoyed the pizza. (vh)
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-17:
lol I know I’m just teasing.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-17:
Well, this makes three places you and Wally have me wanting to try out next time I'm over your direction. Thanks for the heads up!
Posted by Skye on 2010-01-17:
Nice review little.

jtf, you just haven't had the right New York pizza yet, lol.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-01-17:
Yummy...that pizza sounds good. NY Pizza without the NY Cockroaches! Good Review!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-17:
I have to admit, I do like deep dish better than New York style. But my ex loves this place and wanted me to try it. And NY style pizza is easier to eat in the car than deep dish is
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Nothing better than properly cooked homemade pizza sauce! MMMMMMM great review, now I am hungry.
Posted by waterbury01 on 2010-01-18:
Ah good old NY style Pizza. I may have to make a drive up to Manhattan on my next 4 days off now. I miss good pizza. Can't get it here in Virginia.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Is New York style pizza just on thin crust?Is that the difference?

I made spinich lasagna for the first time on Saturday...It turned out b*tchin
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Waterbury, please bring me some back. Please?

Posted by waterbury01 on 2010-01-18:
You got it MM. And Train, yeah it's the thin crust pizza, simple but oh so delicious.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
yep...I'm a fan of the thin crust.the less dough the better
Posted by Starlord on 2010-01-18:
Little, great review. Now I am sad I never stopped there, with all the times I drove past it. I heard about a guy who had a friend who lived in Manhattan, and always raved about New York Pizza. It was the best in the world, and you know the usual. So this guy visits his friend in NYC and they decide to go out for a 'real' New York Pizza. Where do they go? Domino's. ROFL.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
(VH) Kudos to the bartender for holding you and the ex's hands in helping you two kids prepare for the trip home. Did he pin nametags to your lapels in case you all got lost?
Posted by merope on 2010-01-22:
I live in Manhattan--it is not the best pizza at all. Queens and Brooklyn have the best pizza.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.