[X]

3
Helpful
Votes

Target, Redwood City, CA Complaint - Workers not Speaking English while working in AMERICA

Review by TrishaLee on 2010-01-18
REDWOOD CITY, CALIFORNIA -- Employers (even mine) have rules about speaking English while at work.
I am, also, employed at a Department Store and they are very strict about us not speaking another language to each other once at work. I, myself, grew up speaking another language at home.

I decided not to go to the Redwood City Target because I am tired of this. I will go to the Foster City Target where they all speak English to each other.

Within a half hour last time I was at Target, all the employees I passed, spoke Spanish to each other. These were Lupita, Martha, Clara, Ceilia, Virginia, Wilson, Josefina, and Patty.

It is disrespectful to be at work here in America and have your employees speaking another language. It is rude to speak around other people when they don't know what you are saying. We have a common language and English is it. Being able to communicate with the boss, with one's co-workers, with customers, and with the police and other emergency workers isn't an unreasonable expectation for most employees. There should be a company policy to speak English only when communicating with others on the production floor.
Comments:87 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-01-19
Posted by goduke on 2010-01-18:
I sort of get what you are saying, but I'm not entirely sure why you are concerned with what they employees are saying to each other. If espanol is their primary language, so that they understand each other better if they communicate among themselves in their primary language, it would seem that it would make the workplace more efficient to allow it. Interacting with customers is a different issue, but I don't think that's the issue here.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
As long as they can understand me I could care less. What ticks me off is when I get a customer who can not understand or speak English. If you are going to live here and get public assistance at least be able to tell me what the hell you want in my language.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
To the OP, the US does not have an official language. That said,there are some STATES that have declared English as their official language.

When I worked for a nationwide cellular company as a Customer Care Supervisor, I used to have to field complaints from employees who thought if other employees were speaking anything but English, they were "talking about them". That's just SILLY.

I dont care if employees speak pig latin to each other, as long as any interactions I need can be handled in Enlgish. ( Or my very rusty spanish if I have to)

Posted by Venice09 on 2010-01-18:
Alley, I was wondering the same thing. How does the OP know the names of so many employees? I don't recall ever seeing name tags on Target employees.
Posted by waterbury01 on 2010-01-18:
In the Navy, we are very tolerant with the language issue. If it is in the performance of your job and duties, you have to speak in English (as it is the "recongized" language. But if you are with a another person or group of people who speak the language off duty, it's no problem. Those who are afraid that they are talking about them, get over it. You're not that important that they spent every waking moment talking about you.
Posted by Mario The Great on 2010-01-18:
Lupita, Martha, Clara, Ceilia, Virginia, Wilson, Josefina, and Patty. WILSON? What kind of Spanish name is that? Isn't that the white guy on Home Improvement? The OP is making names up. She forgot Hector, Pablo, Pedro, Jose, Karla, Joel (pronounces HO-EL), Santiago, Maria, Juan and Carmen. These people also work there. Just look behind the store. They are the ones picking the vegetables for the OP.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Oh and JESUS. I still rememeber my very first collection job. Day one on the floor on my own, name pops up. Jesus Morales. So, I call, a man answers, I say is JESUS there?

Two of my co-worker practically jumped the cubicle walls to tell me it was HAY-sus, not GEE-sus. Live and learn. What can I say? I was a kid.

And gosh, the OP is in California! Of course there is a huge spanish speaking population there.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
OP, you could always move to Belize, where English is the official language.

Posted by PepperElf on 2010-01-18:
there is no rule against it, no law against it either.

Better yet, what will you do when you see the employee talking to a customer in the customer's own language? Will you demand they switch to English? Even if the customer can't speak it? Should your feelings be counted as more important than that of another customer?

Hell even when I was in the Navy we allowed for use of different languages. No they couldn't be used for any official tasks - except when we had to provide translation - but workers were allowed to talk to each other in their own languages
Posted by Mario The Great on 2010-01-18:
Hey Lady, can I get some clarification on your comment? Are you implying that if you don't speak English YOU AUTOMATICALLY receive public assistance?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
you gotta love the level of intelligence and thought that goes into some of these reviews. and comments. yes indeed.
Posted by waterbury01 on 2010-01-18:
Actually Mario, my old next door neighbor was named Wilson and he's from Puerto Rico. They like that name.
Posted by Mario The Great on 2010-01-18:
LMAO - Hola, Wilson! Como estas? Mira...La familia de Wilson - su esposa se llama Carolyn, y sus hijos se llaman Tom y Spencer. Not a lick of them can speak English, but they have great American names. LMAO - man, life is good!
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-01-18:
My last name is long and Polish. Growing up, one of the neighbors assumed Mom spoke fluent Polish. I think the neighbor was a little embarrassed when Mom pointed out Dad was the one who was Polish, not her.

But if an employee speaks a different language around me, I don't care. I was USE to that when I lived in Japan; I was *thankful* they had employees who could speak English.

I'm sure there were a few people who were offended about employees learning English to talk to me. Therefore I will not be rude to employees who are multi-lingual back home in the states.

That would make me quite a hypocrite, and I won't have that.
Posted by waterbury01 on 2010-01-18:
I get the same thing. My last name is French so everyone assumes I can speak French. I tell them 4th generation. I know as much French as I do Farsi. Which is none.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-01-18:
o i can say a few things in Polish...
"where should I write it", "kiss my @$$", "give me a kiss", and "pear"
there's also "hon-yak" but i'm not really sure what it means... someone who's being silly I think.

I actually know more Spanish.

¡Hola! ¡Yo quiero beber tu sangre!
Ellos están bebiendo sangre...

Posted by Disaster Worker on 2010-01-18:
Lady Scot, I believe what you meant to say is "I couldn't care less".

Posted by Starlord on 2010-01-18:
Arizona requires English in the workplace, unless you are police, fire or medical emergency staff. Safariland put out a booklet for police officers that had almost all the phrases you would normally use, plus questions, like, "Do you have indentity papers?" The phrases and questions were printed in phonetic Spanish, and the booklet cost almost $10. Sounds great, right? One problem, how can you understand their replies? Many Hispanics I ran into claimed, "No comprende." As I wrote a ticket, I would in a very conversational voice, say something like, "I know you're an illegal, cause illegals all wear brown shoes." You would be surprised at the number who looked at their feet, then blushed.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Star is correct. Here is a list of states taht require English as their "official" language, as well as those that do not take a specific position:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Languages_of_the_United_States#States_with_official_English
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Well it is not applied here in Colorado. Conversations in Spanish by employees are heard by me daily but as long as they treat and converse with me in a professional way, I don't mind.
Get real, there soon will be a Spanish speaking family near you whether you like it or not! *smiles*
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
I've been in the back of the ambulance many times with a non-English speaking patient. Sometimes I could coax a family member to ride with me to translate, sometimes not.

But the worst of all is someone not wearing their dentures. They'll yell at you because you can't understand them.

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
KJ, I meant actually that I have this one woman (my post was generalized so I apologize for that) that uses food stamps but can not speak a lick of English. Just stares at me like I am supposed to either suddenly speak Spanish or read her mind or something. Waves her hands like that is magically going to make me know her language.

Come on already. If you are going to live here in the ENGLISH speaking part of the freaking country and use MY tax money to eat, at least be able to communicate with me ok. It annoys me that I get to stand on a concrete floor for 9 hours a day to pay for someones groceries and they can't take the time to learn to talk to me in my own language. I have to learn theirs. I remember back when My uncles came from Mexico, learning English was a requirement. Now, it is open borders.

If I moved to Mexico and needed to use their money to eat I damn sure would learn their language. That is all I am saying.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-01-18:
+100 Lady
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Disaster, is that the proper way to say it? I have always said it my way. How about this way? "I don't give a spit". Lol.

MM, what do you do? How can someone be expected to help another when that person lives in your country and can't communicate their problem to you? WHY should WE have to learn THEIR language? I don't mind learning it, just being FORCED to.

When we went to Mexico & Canada, I didn't expect them to know English. It was nice that they did, but I took a Spanish dictionary and a French one just in case.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-01-18:
MM..you just posted one of the best reasons to learn the language.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Lady, zero offense, girl, however, she may well be in the process of learning English and just too shy to try it on a stranger. English is widely recognized as one of the the hardest languages to learn, especially since many of its roots are buried in latin.

To take the test to become an American citizen, one must be able to speak and be tested in English. is this person you speak of over 50 perhaps? I believe that is the cut off age for English being a requirement.

Folks have to lie here at least three years (usually five) to become a citizen. It may well take that long to learn English. The citizenship test is available in English, Spanish, Chinese, Tagalog, and Vietnamese.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States_nationality_law
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Ha-ha, sux for you huh, LadyS? Learn their language or quit your whining!
If you see this lady so much you should know what she wants and if she was from a European country that your descendents are from speaking broken English with a QUEST card would that be okay?
*waiting*
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Raven, none taken honey. But you know as well as I do, that there are MANY people here who are not legal. And no, this woman is younger than me. I am not trying to be mean it is just aggravating that Americans are being told that WE have to adjust to others instead of the other way around.

My uncles have been here since the 70's. They all learned the language and took the citizenship test. I know. I tutored several of them. Again, if I move to another country, I would at least learn enough to be able to do business in a freaking store or a hospital.

And why the hell is the citizenship available in any language other than English for crying out loud? It was English when my uncles took it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Another 100 from me LS
Posted by Disaster Worker on 2010-01-18:
Lady, I was just trying to help since you post so much on this site. It's a common mistake when people say, "I could care less" (what could you care less about?). Just a stickler for proper English since we're talking about those that don't speak English...or those that butcher the language they are supposed to know.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Zz my ancestors were mountain folks who spoke English. Daniel Boone anyone?
Posted by Abbie13 on 2010-01-18:
This reminds of the time I had a guest and his wife complaint to me about one of my cashiers. Her daughter come up to her lane and picked up her paycheck and they spoke to each other in spanish it was less than 30 sec. The husband comes up to me and wants to talk and starts into his rant and rave how this is America and everyone should speak english if not they should get out. I ask what happened and she tells me. I start by saying that Target is an equal opportunity employer, the husband walks off and the wife starts getting all defensive and that she works with people who don't speak english and doesn't have a problem but how does she know that the cashier is not talking about her. So I tell her that I apologize that the cashiers full attention was not on her during the transaction and that was what I was really concerned about, not that she was speaking spanish.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
name another country on the planet that has immigrants from darn near every country on the planet wanting to live in it, and maybe, maybe you can answer your own question as to why *we* need to adjust to others. good grief. time to take off the blinders.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-01-18:
anyone else familiar with the word "yuns?
Posted by waterbury01 on 2010-01-18:
Abbie, this is what I mean. I wish you could have told them that the sun doesn't revolve around them and not everyone is talking about them when they speak a forgien language.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Lady, this is what I love about you!! Many times, you and I are on complete opposite sides of an issue, yet we are willing to listen to and respect one another's opinions. My grandmother is second generation Greek, and she had no choice but to learn English if she wanted to become a citizen. In recent years, that has changed--fora select few groups. Age is one issue, I forget the others but will go dig it up.

yes, I agree, there are many illegals here, taking resources such as ER visits, public aid, etc, but NOT taking steps to become a citizen. We make it EASY to be a US citizen since this country was founded on escaping what our forefathers viewed as stifling nonsense, yet still there are folks who refuse to comply.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
D, no problem. I have just always hear it that way and said it that way. As for proper English, I wouldn't care if the people spoke broken English as long as it was something I could understand.

Abbie, I don't care if they speak Spanish to each other. When they are speaking to ME I expect to be able to understand them. I could learn it, but why should I HAVE to? I do not live in a Spanish country.

KJ, piss off. This is not the time of the Mayflower where everyone is coming form everywhere to grab a piece of land. This is the United States. The majority of the LEGAL residents speak English.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Raven, I try to always respect other's opinions. I know I am not the be all to end all. But I have my own way of thinking. :)

jk, it is actually spelled youens in North Carolina :) The first time I heard my grammy say it I was like what is that? And the word poke for a bag lol. When I moved to live with my dad I was in for a culture shock.

Posted by waterbury01 on 2010-01-18:
Not to sound confrontational Lady, but English is steadily losing ground as the majority language. It would help us all if we learned a second language. Most, repeat most, every other country in the world requires English to be taught starting at the kindergarten level. Personally, I think we should do the same. But what do I know, after marrying two forigeners, I help to bring them into this country.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
do they ladyscot? where did you get this information and would you be so kind as to share it? specifically, I'd like to see a comparison of legal vs. illegal residents and percentages of each that are able to speak English.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-01-18:
exactly (to waterbury's comment). here's a good example

Aquí viene el sol. Aquí viene el sol. ¡Aquí viene el sol y digo, él tengo todo razón!

Ella tiene un boleto al paseo, ella tiene un boleto al paseo, ella tiene un boleto al paseo, pero ella no cuida.

Perhaps someone here (perhaps the OP) might think I'm talking about them?...



In reality - just some Beatles lyrics translated into Spanish. (Here comes the sun & Ticket to ride).
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Water, that is because people think that we should adapt to them. I actually was turned down for a job because I refused to learn another language. THAT is what I have a problem with. Not if I was willing, I HAD to.

This country used to be an English one. Now, we print papers in a million freaking languages instead of the one we should be speaking. If you are a foreigner, fine. Speak your language. But when you are doing business speak the language we speak.

Do you honestly think Mexico or Russia or Greece or China is going to completely revamp their entire country to placate us? WHY should we have to? If I moved to ANY of those country's I would expect to learn the language. Period.
Posted by Abbie13 on 2010-01-18:
Lady I'm not disagreeing with you I was just telling a story about the situation that I had.
I agree that they should learn English but how do you know that they are not taking classes to learn how. It's not easy to learn English. For example when I say "I struck out" after a date you would know what I mean but for someone learning English they would think what does baseball have to do with your date.
Posted by Ytropious on 2010-01-18:
So what if 2 employees want to speak their native language to each other? If they can tell you where the toilet paper and mac and cheese is "en ingles" when you ask then what's it to you? I mean really, I'd love to know a second language, specifically Japanese. Sure I'd have no one to speak it with around here but I really want to learn it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Where did Daniel Boone come from? All your descendents aren't from the Ozarks, LadyS. *banjo music plays*
This was going on decades ago and no one minded then. At least you didn't hear about the influx of illegals. Now that we have to deal with them on a daily basis there is an uproar.
The gates have been breached folks and they ain't goin' back.
Where I grew up there are many Spanish speaking families with ROOSTERS and all these days. The neighbors allowed this to happen for various reasons.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Abbie, I know. I probably should have said "I don't mind or it doesn't bother me". Sometimes expressions don't come across very well in the typed format.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
really, ZZ? that is interesting, since Colorado is on the list of states that have adopted English as an "official" language".
Posted by waterbury01 on 2010-01-18:
True Lady, but that is because those countries have adopted their spoken language as the offical one. Here in America, the land of the free, we don't have the offical language, that is because we recognize diversity (to a point..whole other topic) and that's what makes this country great. The freedom's we as a nation (citizens and residents) enjoy. Now the job you got turned down for because you wouldn't learn another language, is that because you would have been dealing with people who didn't speak English, as their right. If so, you wouldn't have been useful to the company so why waste their time.
Posted by Abbie13 on 2010-01-18:
What I don't like is that when filling out an application for employment I think that it should be in English and they should not have to have an interrupter present for the interview.
Posted by Ytropious on 2010-01-18:
I used to work in an area that had a Spanish speaking population. Everyone in the store who could speak Spanish to them also spoke perfect English. It would suck when one would come up to me and ask me something in Spanish and I'd have to hold up a finger and go "un momento" and page someone over to spoke Spanish to interpret their question and my answer.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Water, it was a bank, not a Spanish restaurant.

Abbie, again we agree.
Posted by old fart on 2010-01-18:
Pepper Elf....
For your edification...

Polack= Polish
Bohunk= Bohemian(czech)
Hunyak= Hungarian

I just thought you'd like to know...!

Old fart, (Milczewski)
Posted by waterbury01 on 2010-01-18:
Ok, if it was bank that served a high Spanish population, I would think knowing their language would be extremely important. Don't want to shortchange them or the bank out of money because you can't understand them and I think that was what the bank was thinking too. But hey, like I said, America, greatest country. You can have your opinion and I can have mine but at the end of the day we can still go out and have a drink together and not hate each other.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-01-18:
ahh. i wonder if dad even knows that.
i doubt it.

thanks :D
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
*still waiting on those statistics I requested*

in case you missed it, ladyscot, it was right after you said "kj, piss off."

thank you
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-01-18:
OK, I've kinda set back and watched...M3C
What part of assimilate into our society do people not understand. We have a history of prejudice against "non english speaking peoples" in our society, So what did they do??? They LEARNED ENGLISH.....Italians, Germans, Irish, French, Chinese, heck even the America Indian, I could go on and on. What makes Hispanics any different?
This is America and any of you doubters read the Constitution..if you can read English. While discrimination is wrong, ignorance and unwillingness to assimilate into a society that will better you is just as bad.
The "system" has worked for over 200 yrs.
If you are going to get a job, deal with the public, take advantage of the opportunities that the US has to offer, the least to be expected would be to learn the language.
If not...regardless of the language you speak, go somewhere where IT is the "recognized" language...see how ya make it there.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-01-18:
water, what makes this country great is it gives someone the ability to be anything they can provided they are willing to work for it.
Downside is it also gives people the opportunity to have STUPID written on their forehead....lotsa them out there.
Posted by waterbury01 on 2010-01-18:
Actually jkt, I know plenty of Italians, Germans, French who don't speak English but live here. Irish people have an unfair advantage as they speak English and Gallic in their country. And broading one's horizons never hurt anyone. Anyone here speak a second language, Raise your hand.

"Raise"
Posted by waterbury01 on 2010-01-18:
Your right jkt, plus the freedom of speech, press, religion, right to bear arms...so on and so on.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-01-18:
JKT...I may not always know what yous are talking about, but I know that yuns are just trying to help when ya can.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
JKT, while that would be great in a perfect world but the immigrants in this era really don't have to assimulate to flourish here.
Funny how LadyS runs and hides when she gets blindsided with facts. Don't cry to Abbie, be a big girl, sweetness!

Water01, we can have a difference of opinion but just remember that YOU will be picking up the bar tab, ROOKIE! *high fives*
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Whew...my 3 cents. I would rather have people speaking another language than hear English slaughtered with "I be doing, I is having, I ain't gonna, Who you be?" Before you call me a racist, I hear this from urban teenagers, pick a color. Half the English speaking people who post on this site can't even write a complete sentence. I have no issues with non-English speakers if I can understand them if they are addressing me.
Posted by ejack053824 on 2010-01-18:
Wow!! I like this Sherdy here.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
I'm an English teacher, man. :)
Posted by ejack053824 on 2010-01-18:
Good!! Good luck teaching the youth today the English language.
Posted by Mario The Great on 2010-01-18:
Lady, I still disagree with what you are saying. You are implying that if you can't speak English that you are an illegal and now apparently don't pay taxes. Only the white folk pay anything into a system designed for them. Am I mistaken?
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-01-18:
BA Sherdy, it's hard to argue with common sense.
ZZ...flourish, yes, succeed no.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Sherdy, I know just what you mean.
Awful language, no manners and horrific dressers as well.
....And as you said, "pick a color." So true.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
mario, ladyscot left some time ago when she was asked to prove what she was saying. I'm positive she'll be back soon tho. once she's thought of yet another brilliant comeback.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
You got that right, King.
JKT, I beg to differ. There are countless ethnicities and races out here that have family business that are thriving. You don't have to be in the corporate world to be succesful.
C'mon you are much smarter than that.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
It's tough, sometimes. The kids want to write like they talk! I hand them samples from this site, and it helps them with their writing. We grade the intelligence of the writer based on what was written. They want to look smarter than some of our reviewers, LOL.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Well Sherdy, don't be showing off Wally or DB's prose! That would make it too easy for them!
Posted by Mario The Great on 2010-01-18:
Hey, I am on my feet at least 10 hours a day and I have learned how to say ELECTRODOMESTICO, réfrigérateur, fourneau, rondelle, dessiccateur (copied from Babel Fish) and a few other things. Mostly, I just nod my head when somebody comes in and speaks, Laotian, Vietnamese, Chinese, Japanese or some other country. Appliances are the universal language of the world. You need one and I got one!
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-01-18:
ZZ the "quick shop" I go to is run by a family from Palestine, great place. They speak English, they also speak Spanish in order to deal with and make a profit off of some of the "local" population. I admire them. We have had many discussion about politics, language etc.
They LEARNED the language and have assimilated into our society and are proving my point. That is my point...the family businesses you are talking about....ie hotels, shyt and gits....etc...have learned to speak English and can deal with the general public at large and assimilate. You have to admire them.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Okay, I see what you mean. They can speak broken English at work to the customers but at home they speak their native tongue. Works for me.
Posted by Ytropious on 2010-01-18:
Sherdy, do you use well written reviews too? You know, the very few that exist? lol
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-01-18:
No, they speak English better than most of the kids around here.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
Ytrop, I sure do! There have been some very well written reviews on here. I take the names off of them all and don't tell the kids exactly where I got them from and they work great. I get writing samples from all over...this is just one small source for them. :)
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
You know, I like you all, have a life outside the internet. It sounds juvenile of a couple of you insinuating that just because I have not responded as quickly as you think I should that I have to 'think of another brilliant comeback'. Grow up. We disagree with each other. Fine. Deal with it already.

Nowhere did I say that only white people pay into the system and blah blah blah. In fact, my LEGAL immigrant uncles also pay into the system. You know, the one that they speak ENGLISH and actually became citizens to support.

So, call it whatever you like. I have a problem with illegals. I have a problem with legals who refuse to speak English to me and expect me to learn the language. I do not live in Mexico therefore the choice of learning another language should be mine.

And damn, I can't name another country with the diversity we have because other country's do not kiss the ass of everyone they meet and expect THEM to be like US. And who cares anyway?

Water, it was not that the bank was in a Spanish speaking area. It was the new policy of making sure that everyone is bilingual since 'more and more Spanish speaking people are coming to America.'

I don't have a problem with anyone speaking their home language. Just when you are doing business with people who speak English, speak the language of the damn people you are doing business with. Don't stand there and act all offended because I do not want to learn your language. YOU moved HERE. I did not move to your country.

It is also funny to me how Spanish is all of a sudden the 'better learn language'. I guess all those Russian, Asian, French, German, Italian etc Americans don't matter. hell, let's be fair. Make all us who live here learn every damn language on the planet so that no one is made to feel left out.
Posted by waterbury01 on 2010-01-18:
Lady, Spanish is becoming the "must learn" language because it's the fast becoming the second most spoken language in the US. (2nd believe it or not is Chinese) and it's not ass kissing. It's promoting the ideals that this country was founded on. I'm sorry we disagree on this but someone mentioned assimilation earlier and that's what we are doing. We are assimilating the best of other cultures and adapting it to our needs.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-18:
water, you call it assimilating and I call it ass kissing. When our president had the bright idea to offer legal status to all those who broke the law coming here and continue to break the law coming here, that does not show me how welcoming the US is. It shows me how easy we make it to break the law and get rewarded for it. Only if you are not white that is.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-19:
holy smokes.

hey that reminds me ladyscot. you got those stats ready to share with the m3c's groupies this morning that you were spouting off about yesterday?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-19:

LadyS, you seem to have problems with everybody that doesn't agree or look like you. That is fine too and my only wish would be to see your face when one of your kids goes to the prom with an illegal alien that speaks broken English or some whiny (as you say) Black kid.
PS: You are not to bright either. Your reading comprehension is horrific as witnessed by your replies.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-19:
In So Cal if you don't speak Spanglish it's pretty difficult to get anything done anymore. When I was a kid it was rare to hear Spanish, now it has flipped around to understandable English around town. In the service sector it's probably something like over 90%.

It's just the way things are headed as more and more Spanish speakers become the majority. They are over 50% in California now for the first time since they probably ran the state 200-300 years ago.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-19:
What Supes just stated.
How'd that taste, LadyS? Plan on going to Disneyland this Spring?
You'd love it!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-19:
Zz, I don't have a problem with people who don't speak or look like me. I have a problem with people expecting me to adapt to them when they move here. I have a problem with people breaking the law and being rewarded for it. Call it what you want. I don't care. I won't change my view on it.

King James, what stats are you about?

Super, then I will happily avoid So Cal. I have no desire to go to California anyway.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-19:
"It is disrespectful to be at work here in America and have your employees speaking another language."

Why?
If they were talking to you, they would speak in English. If they aren't addressing you in any way, shape, or form... why should you care if they're speaking English or not?
I have 2 coworkers that speak to each other in Spanish all the time. I don't care. This doesn't bother me. Why? Because they aren't talking to me, they're talking to each other. And it's easier to do that in their native tongue.
Are you paranoid that they're talking about you?
So, unless they are addressing you or talking to you... why do you care that your coworkers aren't speaking in English?

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.