2
Helpful
Votes

Familgia - Mamaroneck Ave, White Plains, NY Complaint - Stay away from their mushroom pizza

Review by 51540 on 2010-02-08
Resolution Update on 02/09/2010:
It's just useless to go on
WHITE PLAINS, NEW YORK -- I ate some last night and my face, that had been clear for at least 2 weeks, started breaking out and is still breaking out. I don't know what they put in this stuff, but maybe I should get the Health Department involved and they can figure it out. In any event, I don't appreciate being infected by food I paid an arm and a leg for (over $30 for an 8 slice pie).
Comments:21 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-02-08
Posted by goduke on 2010-02-08:
I'm kind of curious. How can you track what's going on with your health to this specific food item?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-08:
I'd say go to a dermatologist first and see what was the trigger was, instead of getting the health department involved in something that could be unrelated to your face breakout. Could be the grease in the food... over a period of time. And that pizza could have been the catalyst but not the root cause.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-08:
goduke,

I ate the pizza for dinner, and by morning my face had broken out, where it had been clear before.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-08:
bearkatkitten,

I am sorry but if there's tainted food involved, I go to the Health Department about it. I am not protecting these people, even though, it seems, you might were you me...
Posted by RestaurantGuy on 2010-02-08:
So you get acne and you say it is their fault? Pizza has grease in it. Grease causes acne. You chose to eat food with grease (along with everything else you ate before this) The health department will not do anything because you got pimples. Take the advice of Bear and go see your dermatologist.
Posted by karleebarlee on 2010-02-08:
lol.
Posted by momsey on 2010-02-08:
Oh my, I just LOL'd at Miss Marple.

OP, I don't think bearkat was trying to protect the restaurant by suggesting you not call the health department right away.

Actually, I hope you do call the health department but I'd really like to hear their reaction when you call them to say "I ate a pizza and now I have pimples. Go do something!"

On a side note, who pays over $30 for a pizza?
Posted by Inat on 2010-02-08:
when you say 'break out' do you mean pimples? hives? rash?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-08:
OP, it was a mere suggestion of seeing the dermatologist first because I have been a long sufferer of acne. Your pimples could have just been there the whole time, but the grease in the pizza was the catalyst to bringing them to the surface. It happens. It certainly happened to me, long ago in the dark ages of high school. I had a semi clear face, breakout here and then. Tried Neutrogena, and blamo... a flood of acne. Dermatologist said my acne was probably always there, just the new face wash and whatever active ingredient it had was the catalyst for bringing it all to the surface.
Trying to get a restaurant shut down because the grease in their pizza made your face break out, is not the way to go.
Your face will go back to normal; just be aware of what causes breakouts... seeing a dermatologist will help with that.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-08:
Any dermatologist will tell you chocolate or grease does not cause acne those are myths. It’s pores that get clogged that makes you break out you need to wash your face often.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-08:
Btw, everyone,

I am calling the Health Department on Famiglia. I am also contacting Famiglia management, to tell them I am never giving them business again, AND I am asking everyone else I know, to do the same...
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-08:
"Any dermatologist will tell you chocolate or grease does not cause acne those are myths"

Not necessarily. Having a poor diet can also cause bad skin. It may not be certain foods that cause acne, but eating those foods in quantity, over a period of time, it can reek havoc not only on your body, but your skin as well. You can eat a lot of chocolate or greasy foods; however, you should enjoy your chocolate sparingly (or greasy foods), as your entire diet can definitely affect the quality of your skin’s appearance, even though one particular item may not be the trigger.


But my point being... OP needs to see a dermatologist... not try to get a restaurant shut down because the pizza supposedly broke out his/her face.
Posted by Principissa on 2010-02-08:
Do you think you may be allergic? It happened to me once and it turned out the pimples was a huge rash from eating something that had blueberries in it. I'd go see your doctor about the break out, you may need to get a shot for an allergic reaction.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-08:
frustratedcustomer you seem to get some kind of allergic reaction each time you go out to eat like the hives you got from McDonalds. stop going out as much and eat at home.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-08:
that's great advice Wally.

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-08:
Hmmmm, yes. (reads the other review) Two restaurants the OP has been to, and two separate cases of breaking out on the face. Go see a doctor. See what you're allergic to. If the first review wasn't a sign that you might be allergic to something, this other review might sustain that conclusion. If two different restaurants caused your face to breakout (into hives)... (draw your own conclusions here)
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-08:
http://www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=48021
Posted by RestaurantGuy on 2010-02-08:
Alley here is the post on McDonalds http://www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=48021
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-08:
Just noticed the McD's review is from a year ago. And there was a comment made (not on it) about the OP breaking out from some sort of astringent used. Sounds like the OP has some sensitive skin. And there's ways around that... like seeing a doctor.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-08:
"No one could possibly be ignorant enough to blame pizza for acne."

You'd be surprised.
There's a reason why deodorant has instructions on how to use it, on the product.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-02-08:
The health department is NOT going to go and stomp all over a pizza joint just because you ASSUMED your zits came from eating a pizza.

There is no "food taint" involved.

What really causes zits:
Hormonal changes related to menstrual periods, pregnancy, birth control pills, or stress
Greasy or oily cosmetic and hair products
Certain drugs (such as steroids, testosterone, estrogen, and phenytoin)
High levels of humidity and sweating

Try some cleansers first. If it doesn't clear up go see a dermatologist.

https://health.google.com/health/ref/Acne

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.