[X]
Feedburner count

1
Helpful
Votes

Mercantila/Superstore Informative - Proceed with GREAT Caution

Review by MissusT on 2010-02-12
Mercantila owns many online Superstore companies. When I ordered the bedroom furniture, the very pleasant lady who took my order over the phone, told me that delivery would take 4-6 weeks and assured me over and over that my credit card would not be charged until the merchandise shipped. A day later, I received an e-mail from Mercantila with a ship date 3 months out and 2 days later, my credit card was charged the full amount. I immediately canceled the order (January 27) and received an e-mail confirming the cancellation, indicating that they would "process" my refund. Today is February 12 and the credit still does not appear on my charge account. I'm not worried as I have disputed the charge with my credit card company and I have a trail of e-mails to support the dispute. However, my advice is: believe all the negative comments and try to find your item somewhere else online. I did some more searching and found the furniture at a bricks and mortar store for less, even including tax and shipping.

Today is February 17 and I have called Mercantila twice at 415-814-9733. Supposedly, the refund will post to my account by Friday of this week. We'll see.

I wrote to the e-mail address in the company's response, escalations@mercantila-inc.com and it comes back to me as undeliverable.

This company cannot get out of its own way.

Update: March 5 Did, in fact receive full credit to my AmEx account this week. Never received the promised e-mail but that's beside the point.
Company Response on 02/17/2010:
Hello MissusT,

My name is Kelly. I oversee Customer Service at Mercantila. I sincerely apologize for the experience you had with Mercantila. I know you are frustrated, and I wish your concern had been resolved satisfactorily in a more timely manner.

In regards to your order, obviously there were a number of issues that were not resolved in an appropriate manner. Please contact me at escalations@mercantila-inc.com so I can review your order and ensure we reach resolution to your satisfaction. I will personally manage all open issues, including ensuring that your refund has been issued.

More broadly, I am working with my team to make many changes to improve our customer experience. Our priorities are ensuring we ship all products on-time, responding to customer inquires within 24 hours, on-shoring our call center, and providing our agents with better tools and training so they can assist customers with problems like yours much more quickly.

I look forward to hearing from you, and I hope you will accept my sincerest apologies on behalf of me and my entire team. We take your feedback very much to heart, and we are doing everything possible to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you,
Kelly
Comments:

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.