[X]

4
Helpful
Votes

JK Harris Tax Consultants Complaint - JK Harris will SCAM YOU!!!

Review by Slick50 on 2010-02-18
I went to JK Harris a few years ago and in short they said it would take about 10 months to settle my case. I waited patently 10 months and when I called them......they hadn't really started on my case.
The short of it is that I paid them $6700 and after over 3 years.....and the run around from total incompetent advisors. I cut my losses and went straight to the IRS and settled my case in 2 weeks.
I demanded a refund from JK Harris and the offered me $140.
So many red flags that I didn't pick up on. This company is a SCAM. Don't use them! You'll regret it. It makes me sick to see John Harris on the commercials daily. If I met him personally I'd come unleashed.
This guy should be in prison. He lost his class action suit but the attorneys got all the money. But John Harris is still SCAMMING people who need help. DON'T USE JK HARRIS!
Comments:7 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-06-27
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2010-02-18:
All be advised. Whether it be J.K. Harris, Roni Deutch, or any of the "we'll fix your IRS trouble" scammers. They are ALL scams. You can do everything they can do. Call the IRS yourself. You may not get the deal you want but at least you will not be several thousand dollars poorer either.
Posted by BEJ on 2010-02-18:
Can you recoup your losses in anyway--can you sue the lawyers for malpractice since they had not in anyway worked your on your case?
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2010-02-18:
BEJ, suing a lawyer, while it is possible, is not easy. They are lawyers. They know how to word contracts to your detriment. They know how to stall proceedings. Plus, the burden of proof is on you. They have likely given you nothing you can use against them.

They are slick and successful for themselves only.
Posted by CoonCatOne on 2010-02-18:
It is your right to file a complaint with the Bar Association in your state; that won't help you recover your costs, but the law firms will have to pay attention. Also, my husband and I check the Better Business Bureau before we buy almost anything; file a complaint with them and they will have to respond. Also... the Attorney General in Massachusetts has a very good consumer affairs office; they care about scams, so file a complaint with them too. (You can do it online... really easy process.)
Posted by goduke on 2010-02-18:
You also may want to call your local TV troubleshooters. While lawyers love publicity and the media spotlight (it makes them feel pretty), they had public embarassment. You can also file an ethics complaint with the bar association for your state. Again....public embarassment.
Posted by G on 2011-06-27:
I found JK and Harris in the yellow pages and thought they would be a good company to go with. That I would qualify for an Offer in Compromise. Then I decided to do a back ground check on them the day after I found out my copies of the agreement papers were pretty much blank, could not see or read anything. Then I started thinking why did he want me to fill out the paperwork that I didn’t\'t have any information about it and told me to guest how much everything was. And that he was in a big hurry for me to sign the money orders of $1025.00 over to him because he had to a flight to catch. I did a back ground check the day after and found out that they are scamming people all over the U.S. And cancelled them 2-3 days after I found all the information on them.
Damage Resulting = I canceled them the third day of being with them. I had to fax them a letter of cancellation letter the third day with them and another the fifth day again. Now they want to charge me initial processing and administrative fees (may comprise up to (25% of the total fee) and that these fees are non-refundable as of the fourth day of the contract. When I canceled them on the third day of the contract. And want me to sign a Receipt and General Release form. Which states all of JK & Harris Company is not to be reliable after I sign it? And only give me $769.00 of my money back instead of $1025.00. Which I am looking for an attorney to help me fight the case.
I have not received and thing back as of 6/27/11.
Do not sign anything else they send you. They will not return any of your money.
If you have been scammed contact your news media, attorney general and hire an attorney.
Posted by G on 2011-06-27:
I found JK and Harris in the yellow pages and thought they would be a good company to go with. That I would qualify for an Offer in Compromise. Then I decided to do a back ground check on them the day after I found out my copies of the agreement papers were pretty much blank, could not see or read anything. Then I started thinking why did he want me to fill out the paperwork that I didn’t\'t have any information about it and told me to guest how much everything was. And that he was in a big hurry for me to sign the money orders of $1025.00 over to him because he had to a flight to catch. I did a back ground check the day after and found out that they are scamming people all over the U.S. And cancelled them 2-3 days after I found all the information on them.
Damage Resulting = I canceled them the third day of being with them. I had to fax them a letter of cancellation letter the third day with them and another the fifth day again. Now they want to charge me initial processing and administrative fees (may comprise up to (25% of the total fee) and that these fees are non-refundable as of the fourth day of the contract. When I canceled them on the third day of the contract. And want me to sign a Receipt and General Release form. Which states all of JK & Harris Company is not to be reliable after I sign it? And only give me $769.00 of my money back instead of $1025.00. Which I am looking for an attorney to help me fight the case.
I have not received and thing back as of 6/27/11.
Do not sign anything else they send you. They will not return any of your money.
If you have been scammed contact your news media, attorney general and hire an attorney.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.