[X]
Feedburner count

5
Helpful
Votes

Volvo Of Dallas, Frisco, Tx Complaint - Sold Car Hours After I Purchased It

Review by armywife74 on 2010-03-04
FRISCO, TEXAS -- Beware of this dealership, they scammed me.... I purchased a car online from their Ebay listing at 12:34pm pst on 03/03/10, purchased the car while on the phone with the saleperson CHRIS P. Gave him payment method and info, scheduled pickup, asked if this Ebay sell over rides any other deal after this purchase, he said yes. Received voicemail this morning stating car sold late last night, after I already purchased it earlier in the day, and gave payment info. Spoke to CHRIS P. who said there was nothing he could do, car was sold. Contacted sales manager JOHN who said same thing, car sold, nothing they could do. John further informed me that while or after CHIRS hung up the phone with my husband and we made the deal/purchase, he informed CHRIS P. the car was being test driving and he'd know later that night if the car was sold...After it was already sold with me online and with salesperson CHRIS P.. Informed him we bought the car at 12:34pm pst, which was hours before they sold it and was told oh well, car is sold and hung up on me.

Would not do business with low lifes like these two or with the dealership. Contacted the GM several times, won't answer phone, left messages and continues to ignore us. Buyer beware!!!!
THE CAR THEY SOLD OUT IN UNDER ME
THE CAR THEY SOLD OUT IN UNDER ME
Comments:20 Replies - Latest reply on 2011-07-26
Posted by madconsumer on 2010-03-04:
did thye make more money from the sale?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-04:
Unless Ebay has changed their MOTORS instructions, it tells buyer up front that vehicles may be listed for sale locally and winning a bid may not insure you will actually be able to purchase the item you bid on. Only Motors and Real Estate sides of the site have this exclusion.

As long as you are not out any money then there really is nothing you can do. The car may have been sold by another associate and the Ebay sales employee may not have known at the time.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-04:
hopefully the op got the money back

but lady that's a good point...
heck in ny, even if you bid for a car on ebay you are not allowed to actually buy it unless you have a driver's license

i know that cos i saw a news story bout a woman in nyc who won a car but she had no DL and the DVM in nyc was backed up for months. so she scheduled a test in a city 6 hours away cos it would be faster


anyway hope the op gets a refund
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-04:
Continuing to call them is not going to do anything. It does not sound like the OP sent any money. Only the payment method. The OP needs to read the tutorial about motors and real estate before buying these things on Ebay.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-04:
Well it can do one thing...

If the OP sent no $ then constantly calling the seller could earn him a restraining order...
Posted by Critical_level2 on 2010-03-04:
Another thing that may have happened was someone else looked at the vehicle in question a day or two before the ebay ended, and were just waiting approval from the financing department or their bank. If this is the case then the vehicle was "sold" before the auction ended.
Posted by localgod on 2010-03-05:
It's a Jag. Why do you really want this car? Have you seen Consumer Reports reviews on these vehicles lately??? I'm sorry for what happened (and I'm an Army Vet), but they did you a favor...
Posted by armywife74 on 2010-03-06:
LADYSCOT: First of all I DID NOT BID on the car, I purchased it using the BUY IT NOW. According to ebay, the buy it now option "√ You can buy the item right away.√ You don't compete with anyone else for the item. Once you buy it, it's yours!" I copied and pasted this from Ebay, you can find this under different ways of buying under help. Are you saying that the BUY IT NOW option means I didn't buy it now? Where in ebay's policies does it state a car can be sold locally? It's understandable the car has a possiblity to be sold locally, but SOLD LOCALLY AFTER IT WAS PURCHASED WITH BUY IT NOW VIA DEALERS EBAY LISTING? I'd greatly appreciate if you could share with me and everyone else where this policy regarding vehicles can be sold locally is located in ebay's buying and selling policies. ACCORDING TO EBAY SELLER PRACTICES POLICY, THE SELLER IS NOT ALLOWED TO: "List an item that you're simultaneously selling outside of eBay." THE CAR WAS LISTED ON YAHOO MOTORS FOR A HIGHER PRICE($11,995.00) AND ON CARSFORSALE.COM AT A HIGHER PRICE($11,995.00). THE EBAY LISTING I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE USING THE BUY IT NOW OPTION HAD THE VEHICLE LISTED FOR $10,250.00. LISTING AN ITEM THAT IS ALSO LISTED OUTSIDE OF EBAY SIMULTANOUSLY,BREAKS EBAYS SELLER POLICY. The salesperson was "SUPPOSED" to run the creditcard for the payment after we hung up with him, but he did not do that. I provided payment methond/info, they failed to run it. After selecting the buy it now option, I was not given a PAY NOW OPTION, JUST A MARK AS PAID option. So I couldn't pay instantly, plus the dealer listing stated that the buyer had 24 hours to pay the deposit. They sold it late that night, hours after we made the purchase online.

PEPPER ELF: if they want to get a restraining order on me for calling 2 times to General Manager, calling salesperson 1 time and sales manager 1 time, then they can get a restraining order on me!!!! Then do it!! I have nothing to hide!! You want a copy of my phone records, you can have one if you'd like.

CRITICAL LEVEL 2: The salesguy knew the car sold on Ebay, he told his manager it was sold on Ebay, yet they decided to sell it after it was already sold to me. That's bad business practices. Everyone who mattered in the transaction knew it was sold on Ebay already, but they chose to sell it hours after it was purchased from their Ebay listing. If the dealership was waiting on financing, they should have either took the listing off ebay, marked as SALE PENDING, or should have been honest and told us upfront while we were on the phone, purchasing the vehicle.

LOCALGOD: My dad is a mechanic, I grew up in his garage and I'd take his review of a Jag over people who get paid to do reviews cause he knows the in's and out's of any car unlike the people who test drive the car!! Plus not everyone drives a Jag like they do Ford's, Chevy's, Dodge, Toyota, BMW, Mercedes, etc. There are less Jag's on the road than any other cars.

TO ANYONE AND EVERYONE ELSE, I'M NOT TRYING TO GET ANYTHING FROM THIS DEALERSHIP, I'M ONLY WARNING PEOPLE OF THEIR BAD BUSINESS PRACTICES!! I'M NOT THE FIRST PERSON THEY'VE SCAMMED AND I'M SURE I WON'T BE THE LAST! I DON'T WANT ANYTHING FROM THIS DEALERSHIP! THEY NEED TO LEARN FROM THEIR MISTAKES.




EVERYONE ELSE: THE SALESPERSON HAD PAYMENT INFORMATION, DID NOT PROCESS THE PAYMENT AFTER WE GOT OFF THE PHONE BECAUSE THE SALES MANGAGER INFORMED MY SALES GUY THE CAR WAS BEING TEST DRIVEN AND HE "MAY" HAVE THE CAR SOLD LATER THAT NIGHT.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-06:
1) you do not need to use all caps at us just for asking questions.

2) You have not stated that the seller actually *has* your money.


yes you keep talking about "buying" the car but you have not once said that the seller actually *kept* your money.



Unless the seller actually kept your money you probably don't have any recourse other than to try suing him.

And even then there is no guarantee that the court would uphold your claims and negate the other purchase.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-03-06:
Armywife...You may want to remove the salesperson's name from the review. I believe a first name only is ok...but not a full name.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-07:
"THE SELLER IS NOT ALLOWED TO: "List an item that you're simultaneously selling outside of eBay."

This has never referred to Motors and Real Estate. As an Ebay seller for over 10 years, both general merchandise and cars and motorcycles and RVS, I know the selling policy for both areas. They are not the same. They have a whole different set of selling policies. Buy it Now does not make the item yours until money has changed hands on the Motors site. This is because most dealers use Ebay to garner interest and offer private financing. If you are denied credit, they are not held to the sale.

Give me a bit if time to read the motors policies for any changes. I am sure they have not changed too much in regard to local listings.

Ebay Motors is home to thousands of dealers. There is no way Ebay can restrict a dealer from listing their inventory locally at the same time. That is why sellers pay $42 (what is was the last time I listed a car) to list the car, and $40 if there is a reserve.

I will be back soon with the Motors policy.
Posted by armywife74 on 2010-03-07:
PEPPER ELF: I'm not using CAPS "at" you for asking questions, I capitalize to make a point!! I have never said that I wanted anything from them! I am jus warning people to beware of them, that they are not HONEST! That's it! Isn't this what sites like this is for, to post you're experiences with businesses and for other people to review them before they do business with them? I stated that the salesperson had my payment info and FAILED to run the credit card. It's not my fault they did not process the payment or money did not exchange hands. They had the info and FAILED to run it. The last time I had spoken to my salesperson, the deal had went thru and he was was running the card and payment had been made, I did not know that "money" had not exchanged hands til I checked my account the next day after they informed us the car sold after we made the deal! The next morning I had a voicemail stating they had sold the vehicle to someone else late that evening, the day we had made the deal via phone and online. You keep stating I am wanting something from the dealership, I am just warning other consumers of bad business practices!

LADYSCOT: Where in the Ebay Motors seller rules/policy does it not state that you can't list an vehicle outside of ebay simultanously? Listing the vehicle on Yahoo auto and carsforsale.com are not listing the car locally, those are national websites. Listing locally, like you said, is a classified ad on ebay. I went to the motors rules/regs and read both seller and buyer rules and it showed that information about not being allowed to list simultanously in the seller policies. I'm sure you know alot of rules/regs that alot of people don't know about since you have alot of years experience and I'd jus like to know where to locate those same policies for my own knowledge. I was paying cash for the vehicle, not not financing, did the buy it now, was going to pay cash, but the seller did not run the card to get his payment. Do you consider it good business practice as an Ebay seller to list an item with a buy it now option, have a buyer choose that option, give you the payment information to process the complete payment for that item, so you can get your money, fail to process the payment, then turn around and sell the item to someone else after you have already made a deal with the buyer online?

DEBTORBASHER: Thanks for that piece of information, last names were removed!

ALL: WOULD YOU NOT BE UPSET ALSO IF YOU CLICKED BUY IT NOW AND THEN THE SELLER SOLD THE ITEM YOU HAD JUST MADE A DEAL WITH THEM FOR TO SOMEONE ELSE AFTER YOU "THOUGHT" THE DEAL WAS MADE AND PAYMENT HAD BEEN PROCESSED? AS I HAVE STATED BEFORE, I'M NOT TRYING TO GET ANYTHING FROM THE DEALERSHIP. I'M JUST WARNING OTHERS OF THEIR BAD BUSINESS PRACTICES AND IF THEY SO CHOOSE TO DO BUSINESS WITH THEM, THEN IT'S THEIR CHOICE, NOT MINE! EVERYONE HAS AN OPINION AND ARE ENTITLED TO ONE, I JUST DON'T HAVE TO AGREE WITH THEM.
Posted by Skye on 2010-03-07:
OP, maybe it's a blessing in disguise, that you did not purchase this car. Do you really want to buy a car, that you weren't able to test drive??

And Jaguars, are notorious for constantly breaking down, and the repair costs are very expensive.

Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-03-07:
Man with the green gets the machine.....
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-07:
actually all caps is pretty much shouting.
Posted by Skye on 2010-03-07:
It's called, "Netiquette". And typing in all capitals is considered yelling and rude.

Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-15:
O_o

Eh, I'll have to decline the audio portion thanx.
Posted by Ytropious on 2010-03-15:
Actually I bought my car from ebay motors from a seller outside of ebay. I offered him a better price and he took his listing down. I gave him cash on the spot for it. There is NO rule that says you can't do that, FYI. Someone likely offered him a better deal or cash on the spot. At the time of the listing mine was an auction and had sold for 2800 but the past winner was a kid who did not have the ability to pay, of course. He relisted it and I messaged him saying I'd take it for 3. It was higher then the current bid and I didn't want to risk losing. He agreed and I couldn't be happier. It's a win win OP, sorry.
Posted by KatyTX on 2010-12-16:
FIRST, Texas has tough consumer protection laws (Deceptive Practices Act) that allow a consumer to sue within 2 years of the misrepresentation or deceptive practice. If you win you can recover lawyer costs and in some cases you can recover up to 3 times the amount. SECONDLY, you had a contract (sale of goods) with Volvo of Dallas and could have a right to recover because they broke their agreement with you. Your best bet is to contact a Texas lawyer who handles DTPA claims and consumer contracts.
Posted by Swamp on 2011-07-26:
Business must be great for Volvo of Dallas in Frisco. As an owner of 3 (1996 850 GTA, 2000 S70 SE and 2007 S80), their customer service after the merger (Volvo of Dallas and Volvo of Richardson) has been an unpleasant experience for me. For the past year, I've had them service by an independent. Volvo of Dallas wanted my business back as indicated through direct mail solicitations and emails. I decided to give them a second chance and still have the same opinion as before, poor customer service. When I spoke with the General Manager, this morning, regarding this matter, he said he has made great strides to increase it and spoke of how Volvo has recognized them nationally. He said he had the choice not to service my vehicles and asked I go elsewhere. We are all in the customer service business daily at our jobs. It takes a great deal of time to build a repore with a customer, but only minutes to destroy it. Needless to say, if you choose to purchase a Volvo from them, check their service department (if you plan to have it serviced there), before buying. They make $$ on service when sales are slow. I have enjoyed the cars, but not the service.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.