1
Helpful
Votes

Hickory Grove And Northside Academy Complaint - Black Kids Are Not Being Accepted To Private/ Academy /Christian Schools

Review by ms brown on 2010-03-11
We are a African American family. We choose to give our kids the best education and paying tuitions are not an issue as we know education is very important. I just feel tht whn you go to a private school for inTV and testing before you even get to those steps, going to the school and them knowing tht you are black they automatically know that their not accepting you. They would take your money for testing and registration and then tell you haven't been accepted into their schools.

I think that all schools should be equal don't matter what race or colors.
Parents are so afraid of black people in their childs school.

Our kids aren't given a chance. And the very few black kids tht goes to these schools are kicked out of the school for stupid reasons!!
When is it ever goin to end!

Are kids have the right to the best schools and best education.

Dissapointed parent!
Comments:44 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-03-11
Posted by Slimjim on 2010-03-11:
This won't carry any credibility without a strong detailed filled argument. An all cap specifics lacking post isn't going to do it for such serious allegations. What reasoning was given for your child's non-acceptance? Is it verifiable, such as score tests data against their criteria. Others are kicked out for stupid reasons? Like what? Again, a practice like that would have come under fire very quickly if there was even the slightest evidence.
Posted by GlitteringFirefly on 2010-03-11:
Did you ask the school why the children were not accepted? Don't assume it was due to skin color.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
Are they passing the entrance exams? This is an important aspect that you're leaving out. What are the stupid reasons that some of them are getting kicked out?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
If black kids aren't being accepted, then how do they later get kicked out for "stupid reasons"? Oh, I see, there are a "very few" black kids who do get accepted. Maybe you could speak with those parents to see if there was anything special to get in (and, conversely, on what grounds they were kicked out)?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
'Are' kids have the right to the best schools and best education.

PRICELESS!





Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
It was probably test scores, or other criteria that the school demands for acceptance. Private institutions are not public schools. They do not have to accept everyone. They pay the big bucks to be able to be selective.

Unless you have hard nose proof that this is a case of skin color discrimination, then your complaint is totally without merit, and judging just by what you have stated here, it is.

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
The poster got it half right, by correctly using OUR the first time, and ARE the second time.
Posted by yoke on 2010-03-11:
Wonder what the school's side is
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
".....skin color discrimination....."

PRICELESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted by Nohandle on 2010-03-11:
Ms Brown let me tell you something. I had a black employee in accounting who registered her son in an exclusive private school with a long waiting list. Someone told her if she mentioned the color of his skin on the application he would be automatically bumped up. She let that person know right off her child would be accepted based on his merits and nothing else. Yes, he was accepted and I still am amazed at the vocabulary coming out of that child's mouth at such an early age.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
I had a boss who didn't promote blacks or women unless forced to because he thought they were inferior. I know this because once on a business trip after one too many beers he went off on an hour long monologue about gender and racial issues and the decline of western civilization. At the time he had over 800 people in his employ. What does this have to do with this review you might ask? I don't know but I figured since we're sharing racial anecdotes I'd share mine.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
"....I had a black employee..." Do yo mean a co-worker?
"....and I still am amazed at the vocabulary coming out of that child's mouth at such an early age....."
AMAZING!


..........And your point is?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
Stew, how long ago was this?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
It was January 2004 at an Italian restaurant in Washington DC.
Posted by yoke on 2010-03-11:
I looked up the school online and it seems very hard to get into. Nowhere on the application does it ask for your skin color. They do test the children and I assume they expect the children to pass the test and score at a level that they demand just to get into the interview stage of the procedure. From the sound of it the OP expected her kids to just get in because of their skin color.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
Not that long ago, LadyS so try not to back up his boss' theories so often regarding women.
Posted by Nohandle on 2010-03-11:
Actually ZZ it is an employee if you are the one covering payroll. As far as the child, I've never been around a "baby genus" in my life, but that was the smartest child I've ever encountered. Tiny little fellow but he had the vocabulary of an adult. I would ask him questions just to hear his response. And BTY, the complaint I believe was the color of one's skin.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-03-11:
I won't even go into all of the errors in this posting because I believe Ms. Brown would like her child to have a better education than she had. If money is not an issue for education, you might want to take up some English courses yourself.

I paid fees for an enterance exam, passed it with no problem...yet, I was still turned down for the class because they had to fill the class with students that had a 2nd language first, even if their test scores were lower than mine. I only speak English and that is why I was not accepted. A second language was never mentioned as a requirement during any interview or printed on any papers.

If you ask them WHY your child was not accepted, they should tell you. You're never going to know until you ask, it will be better than you assuming or convincing yourself that your skin color is the reason.
Posted by ejack053824 on 2010-03-11:
Same reason why they have a scholarship specifically for black people (United Neggro College Fund). If white people had the United Caucausian College Fund all hell would break loose and Rev. Sharpton and Jesse Jackson would be up in arms. Spare us the race crap!
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2010-03-11:
"If white people had the United Caucausian College Fund all hell would break loose " - AMEN!

On a side note: Racial issues will NEVER go away. NAACP will not allow it. Their very existence depends on problems.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
A co-worker then, NH.
What, is that all you did was to quiz the kid?
Hopefully that child has learned some social skills as well or he may destined to be a lowly moderator on a consumer gripesight.
Scary.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
DebtorBasher, sometimes companies need someone who can communicate with their customers in a language that is not English. If this is the case, then it makes sense. Let's say a company has 25% Spanish speaking customers, how would hiring you help them if someone who scored lower on the acceptance exam speaks the language they need?!
Posted by azspots on 2010-03-11:
You got that right, ejack.....
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
Ejack, you know that I have the utmost respect for you, dude. I know what you are implying and see your point but may I ask that you don't inflame the likes of Chuck to show his ignorance.
Btw, his true bike is a 650 Kow. Frisco's favorite!

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
Zz, I am a female darlin. Did you forget? I think we are way smarter than men. Seriously, I asked because if it was 40 years ago (no idea how old Stewie is) then I could say the boss had not yet changed his opinion due to the sign of the times. People don't change easily from the way they are raised. My gran was the nicest, most giving woman you ever could meet, and was not racist in the slightest. But she did not believe in mixing races. That was how she was raised. That does not make her a bad person.

Since it was more recent, then yes, the boss was an arse.

Ejack, you are so right lol...WET...White Miss America...White History Month..blah blah. All this whole separation crap needs to be eliminated. I admit there was once a need for the UNCF, there is no longer. I personally feel that whites are not the only ones doing the segregating anymore, nor doing all the 'racing'. I think that is more coming from the other side of the fence.

I don't care either way. I have black friends and white friends, and mexican and asian...my grandbaby is going to be mixed. I refuse to allow her parents to teach her (can you tell I want a girl?) that being black is either something to be ashamed of or something to use as a weapon. Not that they would, they are both smarter than that.

I'm just tired of hearing race being cried for everything.
Posted by Nohandle on 2010-03-11:
Stop it ZZ!! I'd ask the child questions because you never knew what would come out of his mouth. And the last time I checked the child was probably in 4th grade so I don't think he is a moderator around here. Well, I don't think so. LOL
Posted by ejack053824 on 2010-03-11:
I could go on and on about this but it would lead to my permenant banning on this site. LOL!
Posted by ejack053824 on 2010-03-11:
I'm not inflaming anyones likes ZZ...thats my personal view. Likewise, I have mutual respect for you but if I see someone is right...I'll tell them their right..if they're wrong..I'll tell them they're wrong. Anyone who can't grasp that or has a problem with it...then I don't really give a crap.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
See what you started, Ejack? You make an educated, statement and the next thing you know, we have a bunch of " Deliverance" extras chiming in.
Posted by ejack053824 on 2010-03-11:
LOL ZZ! Entertaining isn't it?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
LOL ejack, and Z. You are my honey bunny aren't you?
Posted by ejack053824 on 2010-03-11:
Honey bunny? You at the bunny ranch again Ladyscot? If so...how much?! LOL!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-03-11:
JustTheFax...I understand that, I was just making a point that there ARE reasons and Ms. Brown should ask what that reason is. In my case, I completely understood when they told me and I didn't have a problem with that. I didn't like being out of the money I put into the testing, but what can ya do? Those are the chances you take and you know the test fees are non-refundable and there are no guarentees. Oh, BTW, I was trying to get into a nursing school...so, of course they are going to take those who speak other languages first because of the wide range of languages spoken by patients. Again, I had no issue with it...I just think the poster should ask questions before coming to her own conclusions.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-03-11:
Ejack...there used to be an organization called the NAAWP...The National Association Advancement for White People. I don't know if it's still around or not. There used to be a 'White People's Party' here in Cleveland...of course, no longer around either.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
OMG DB, you can't walk and chew gum at the same time let alone you being bi-lingual or able to take one's temperature.
Yeah LadyS, lets go practice "making bunnies" and really p@ss Chuck off!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
Now ZZ don't be using your blackness as a weapon.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-03-11:
Don't fool yourself Zman...bend over, drop your pants and I will SHOW YOU that I can take one's temperature!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
*Looks at his body*
OMG, I am BLACK!!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-03-11:
No ZZ....not black, just chocolately.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-03-11:
I have a good joke...but it would get deleted...so, I'll keep it to myself.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
.....Whatever............
Don't we all?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-03-11:
I TOLD YOU .... STOP SAYING THAAAAAAAAAAATT!!!!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-11:
Saying WHAT?!
Posted by Nohandle on 2010-03-11:
Now, now DB. We ladies have seen the front side. Are you suggesting we look at the rear end? I've got to think about this for a while. Will get back to you. On second thought yea, shove that rectal puppy on in there. Goody, I haven't enjoyed as much excitement in a while. That should shut his mouth for a while.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.