[X]

Price's Chevron Complaint - How bad can Price's Chevron be? Really Bad - DO NOT USE THEM!!

Review by mcd3423 on 2010-03-12
BLACKSBURG, VIRGINIA -- All I did was have a car towed less then 5 miles, expecting a small towing service fee of like $75.00. Well, the TOWING BILL WAS $345.00. AND THEY ARE IGNORANT MAN WITH CRIMINAL RECORDS and MORE. PLEASE DO NOT USE THEM THEY DOUBLE CHARGE AND OVER CHARGE, AND CHARGE FOR THINGS THEY DON'T EVEN DO!!!!!!. VERY VERY VERY BAD. I have filed a complaint with BBB and even VISA. as FRAUDULENT CHARGES against them. DO NOT GIVE THEM CASH, AND WAS EVEN TOLD BY AN EMPLOYEE THAT THEY JUST WILL DOUBLE CHARGES AND add extra fees to screw your insurance company!!!!!! file a complaint with your insurance companies to not use them.
Comments:28 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-03-12
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
"AND THEY ARE IGNORANT MAN WITH CRIMINAL RECORDS and MORE."

Do you know this for a fact?


"expecting a small towing service fee of like $75.00. Well, the TOWING BILL WAS $345.00. "

Did you ask, first, before having it towed how much it was going to be? Or did you assume?
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-12:
i would like to see where the OP was able to view each employee's criminal record.


Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
Did you use a dealer or a private towing company? Did you ask for the charge before you hired them? And calling someone a criminal can get you sued. Pay what you owe.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
How can they sue the OP when the individual's full name wasn't mentioned?
It is criminal to make those kinds of ascertions here.
They used CHEVRON'S towing service apparently.
You should always ask what the towing fees are upfront. We all know what happens when one ASSUMES don't we?
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-12:
it's actually not criminal to say that calling someone a criminal can land a lawsuit.

however i would like to know when - and why - the op had the criminal records examined.

>:)
Posted by Skye on 2010-03-12:
Slander is written.

Libel is spoken.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
I thought slandering someone was illegal. Calling an honest person a criminal can be slander, can it not?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
I hear you Skye and gripesight wannabe attorneys making unfound assertions are dangerous.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
PepperElf, I don't know about Virginia but in Oklahoma all criminal court proceedings and incarceration records are online and freely viewable by the public. Also in every state criminal court proceedings unless sealed by a judge are public information. It's pretty easy to check to see if somebody has a criminal record.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
LadyS, you made the statement now back it up.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
Well, if slander is written and the OP has written it....
Posted by Skye on 2010-03-12:
You know what they say:

Say it, forget it, write it, regret it.

I think LS is just telling the OP that if the owner see's this review, they may try to make trouble for the op. But the OP is just stating what happened, and their opinions.

Now lets all be nice to one another.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
Where is the full name? Can you prove who they are referring to?
Mental anguish? Loss of revenue? H2ll no!
Give it up.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-12:
however getting enough data on the employees to actually conduct the investigation might be the real point...

i suspect he or she was actually lying about the records
in order to convince others that the company was wrong by not charging what the op assumed a correct fee might be

just because the OP "thought" the fee would be one number does not mean that the company actually gave any form of a price quote.

additionally there are valid ways for the price to change, even if there is a quote.
for example if the car towing wasn't ordered by the OP but by the police
if they had to unlock the car themselves
if the car required more than a simple tow truck (i.e if the tires weren't able to rotate)

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
LadyScot, Slander is verbal. Libel is written.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
oh. I was going by Skye...and I was guessing anyway.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
.....I rest my case! *shakes head*
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
In Oklahoma all property records are online as well. If this gas station was in Oklahoma within minutes I could ascertain the owner of the station and then use that to find all connected court records such as criminal offenses, traffic tickets, divorces, marriages and whether or not he was notary public. Also since I have a pacer account I could pull up all federal dockets as well such as bankruptcies or federal charges.

Pretty easy stuff really.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
Peps, we can only go by what the OP tells us.
If you are going to use that line of thought then maybe the car had to be pulled out of a lake. Perhaps it was upside down.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-12:
but we all know not every OP tells the full story either.

there ARE those who leave out vital bits of info to sway others to their point of view
Posted by Nohandle on 2010-03-12:
Anyone ever looked at his vehicle behind a chain link fence? Thank you, I experienced that pleasure once. As far as selecting a tow service most just need some help right then and don’t call around to compare prices.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
Same deal here, Stewart. Public records.

People lie about people/businesses everyday.
You have to PROVE DAMAGES and there is none here.
Stop READING law novels!
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-12:
actually when i had my car towed i used AAA so it was free
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
When your car breaks down and you have no roadside assistance, you are at the tow service's descretion about fees.
It has happened to most of us.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
Opinion and hyperbole is almost always protected free speech. Statement of facts that can be proven true or untrue are usually the grounds for defamation.

If I call somebody a crook that's just a fluff statement where most reasonable people realize it's a character judgment. Now if I say so-and-so was convicted of rape and they actually weren't then that could be defamation depending upon whether I believed it was true or not. There's a reason you don't see too many defamation cases floating about.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
Stewart: +69
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
What did they say (contract) was going to be the charge? It would be nice if everyone would charge what you thought ($75) they were going to charge. Unfortunately, it doesn't work that way.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
Thank you Stew for that example. I stand corrected. Even though again, I was just guessing.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.