[X]
Feedburner count

Garden City Jeep Chrysler Dodge Complaint - Stay Away From "Garden City Jeep Chrysler Dodge LLC"

Review by johnnyA on 2010-03-12
HEMPSTEAD, NEW YORK -- ERROR: Engine light on with error "P0442" EVAP emission control system leak (SMALL)

4 month ago I got this error they charged me $444 to fix it. Engine light came back on yesterday & I got the same error. Took the car back to autozone, they said it the same error as before & this should be covered under warranty as the dealer fixed it 4 month ago.

Took the car back to dealer, they said OH its a different hose...I told him I paid you fix this same exact error 4 month ago close to $500???

He goes he will meet me half way? All of a sudden its half I gotta pay...Manager wants $165

I paid $165 to replace a rubber hose, that was supposedly.
GARDEN CITY JEEP CHRYSLER DODGE LLC
GARDEN CITY JEEP CHRYSLER DODGE LLC
Comments:29 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-03-17
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
You hate this place and yet you made a recommendation for it. You know what recommendation means right?

"I paid $165 to replace a rubber hose, that was supposedly"

... supposedly what?
Posted by johnnyA on 2010-03-12:
Filed a complaint with BBB

https://odr.bbb.org/odrweb/public/ComplaintBBB.aspx?ComplaintTypeID=2

BBB of Metropolitan New York
(New York, NY)
30 East 33rd Street 12th Floor
New York, NY 10016
Phone: (212)533-6200
Fax: (212)477-4912
Email: Inquiry@newyork.bbb.org
Web: http://www.newyork.bbb.org

Per BBB site 80% issues gets resolved with refund.. Thanks god BBB is looking up to you
Posted by Skye on 2010-03-12:
You are going to be in for a rude awakening, regarding the BBB. You paid for services you received.

The BBB is not going to allow you to get your car fixed for free, nor is the dealer.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-12:
The BBB however has no legal authority

therefore they cannot force a company to do anything
Posted by johnnyA on 2010-03-12:
Yes recommendation for bad service

Either way People will see it & keep them away from Hungry Sharks.....
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
So, you're recommending them to people for bad service?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
I'm lost here. What recommendation?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
Ok..if the error is from a different hose, then how is that the same issue you already paid for. If one tire goes flat, and I pay to have a new one installed, then another goes flat, they are not going to do the other tire for free because I already paid for a flat tire.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-12:
ah...

here's the thing...

the same error can be caused by more than one item.

if the original part replaced wasn't the right part then the error would never have cleared.

it sounds like you had another part on your car go bad. i would recommend getting that entire system of your car inspected thoroughly to make sure no other parts are close to breaking.
Posted by Skye on 2010-03-12:
johnny, what does your warranty say?? How would Auto Zone know what is covered under your warranty.

Just asking, not judging.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
Stew, the OP had made a recommendation about Chrysler Dodge. Hence why I inquired about it. But, I see that he's deleted it, so it's pretty moot.

To recommend something to someone is: to present as worthy of confidence, acceptance, use, etc.; commend; mention favorably.

You don't recommend a service to a site and it be all bad things... that's not a recommendation... that's a complaint.

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
A vacuum hose is causing all this? I'm thinking a sensor.

As far as getting estimates if you take it somewhere else you void the warranty. Why not let the dealership figure it out since it is under warranty?
Posted by Skye on 2010-03-12:
The review was edited. I also saw the recommendation, which is now gone.
Posted by johnnyA on 2010-03-12:
Any work you do at dealer it usually covered under 1 year warrant. I have the original receipt from Nov09 & that what it says in the bill. $444 they charged me back then was for the whole car to be checked out.

They did check the entire back system back in Nov09

This issue was no rocket science. There is only 2 hose you can possibly replace from vacuum canister to the gas tank, Which they said was replace back in November 09
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
So you think that is the whole problem?
$165.00 is highway robbery! Wow!
Posted by johnnyA on 2010-03-12:
Google "Garden City Jeep Chrysler Dodge LLC"

You will see tons of complaint about this dealer....It took me 2nd visit to figure it out.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
Did you Google before purchasing?
Posted by johnnyA on 2010-03-12:
zzrokk You must be born with silver spoon in your mouth. Some of us value money we work for.

U know not every one is rich....Every penny counts

(03/12/2010) Reward this user for helpful advice
Rate comment >

So you think that is the whole problem?
$165.00 is highway robbery! Wow!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
I wasn't being sarcastic. That was a lot of money to pay for a hose!
Trust me, I value my 'change' as well.
I also think that it could be more than just the hose. Just offering an opinion, John.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-12:
actually that IS a pretty good price tag for that repair.

and yes, if it is a different hose then the warranty would not cover it.

check the part number on the last repair and compare it to the current one. you can often find diagrams of the parts online and where they actually fit in. ... including what the part actually sells for.


in fact the last time i had repairs done, i looked it up and found the dealer's charge for the part was within about $10 of the price i found online
Posted by johnnyA on 2010-03-12:
Hello PepperElf,
I am pretty hand, Actually I replace the part of the hose myself by the Engine compartment. Then I looked up the diagram & noticed the next hose is behind the gas tank, no way to get to it & Remember that there's only 1 hose going to the gas tank. Now if they said they replace that in Nov09....I am not sure what other hose they replaced today. They said the same hose was cracked again....Hello did'nt you just change that a couple of month back.

Here is diagram to give you an idea.

Posted by johnnyA on 2010-03-12:
http://www.amceaglenest.com/~iowaeagl/guide/images/3/3d/Fuelreturnsystem.jpg
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
Did they show you the old hose(s)?
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-12:


did you see the part number listed on the paperwork?

that should tell you if it's a different hose or not

and the diagram is kinda skimpy. the ones i found (for my own car) were insanely detailed
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-12:
They could list the part number and still not replce the hose.
Haven't you heard of people getting oil changes and driving off with NO oil?
Posted by johnnyA on 2010-03-14:
When I picked up my truck, guy gave me a piece of hose with hole in it....This hose is no more that $5 item, supposedly all hoses were changed in Nov09.

These sharks just find a way to get you on way are other...

Lesson Learned STAY AWAY FROM "Garden City Jeep Chrysler Dodge LLC"

Location:
283 N. FRANKLIN ST
Hempstead , NY 11550
Phone: 516483 2700
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-16:
actually most hoses are *not* 5 bucks.

i forget what my hose was but it was not a 5 dollar hose. trust me
Posted by johnnyA on 2010-03-17:
PepperElf, you are probably right most hoses are *not* 5 bucks.

This hose they changed is 3.35 or 3.75 a foot at autozone.

Anyway, thing are looking good for me as "Garden City Jeep Chrysler Dodge"
did not respond to my complaint made out to BBB and if continue to stay that way I might be getting my monies back ;-)
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-17:
eh. the one i had was more like double digits or triple
i forget what exactly... just that it wasn't that cheap.

and if you can find the part cheaper, you can buy it and bring it in you know

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.