[X]
Feedburner count

6
Helpful
Votes

ripoffreport.com and ed magedson Complaint - scam consumer advocate site

Review by alley on 2004-10-28
PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- bad-business-rip-off.com is the latest of sites exposing the practices of "site for consumers" ripoffreport.com and badbusinessbureau.com. site operator ed magedson has been improving his ways of profiteering behind this cloak of a community service sham. failing to post rebuttles against complaints and large accounts of faking customer reports to extort businesses, demanding up to $5000 to voice their side, are now widespead when doing any search under his and the site's name. this is not my last stop, as i plan on visting more consumer sites, the very tool he uses to run his scam, to set the record straight.
Comments:15 Replies - Latest reply on 2013-07-03
Posted by Slimjim on 2004-10-29:
I believe it. I wrote a pro-business rebuttal there once and he wouldn't post it. At the same time, a company owner filed a complaint on the ripoff report about the ripoff report. She swore her rebuttal filed in respect to a complaint about her company was altered by the site admin. She was emphatic that she had a copy of the rebuttle she sent and that spelling and grammar had been changed on purpose to make her look uneducated on the uploaded version. Admin took her accusations right down. She put it back up, and down within minutes it came. Why didn't admin just comment on the charge? The same Ed who claims the site is uncensored.
Posted by earnhardt on 2004-11-15:

Are you being black mailed by ed?follow info on this site:
all the info on ripoff reports

-http://www.bad-business-rip-off.com/forum/showforum.php?forumnum=1&action=forum


Posted by earnhardt on 2004-11-15:

all the info on ripoff reports

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://www.bad-business-rip-off.com/forum/showforum.php?forumnum=1&action=forum


Posted by Sharkie on 2005-02-08:
Who watches the watchdog? I am very concerned about a guy who claims to be a consumer watchdog. At least one site exposes the truth behind self styled consumer watchdog, Ed Magedson, to reveal his true interest lies in increasing his own bank account. This unscrupulous criminal uses his bully pulpit to issue outright threats to coerce legitimate business owners to pay-up for a favorable report. You can see all the evidence and decide the truth for yourself. http://www.bad-business-rip-off.com

I have been reading various threads on the different forums regarding this guy, Ed Magedeson, and have a hard time understanding why anyone would defend him and am puzzled by their position. My gawd, there is a plethora of evidence indicating this guy is less than a stellar citizen. On the contrary, he is the poster child for self aggrandizement and the purveyor of self enrichment at the expense of ethics and truth. In my opinion this guy should be indicted under the RICO act for extortion and racketeering.

First of all, he has judgments against him. This is money he legally owes to people and refuses, with impunity, to pay. If he owed YOU money due to a judicial rendering I am sure you would be clamoring for your due. It is also apparent from the available information, from reliable sources, that he associates with known criminal elements. This, in conjunction with his undisclosed location and refusal to allow posting of opinions contrary to his own or to allow business owners to post in defense of their business practices leads me to give greater credence to the accusations by those whom he attacks.
So, in closing, let me reiterate, how anyone can continue to defend this man and his company. For more information a company has set up a site to try and counter some of the false accusations and manufactured complaints against them..
http://www.bad-business-rip-off.com
Posted by Sharkie on 2005-02-15:
Very True! It is about time people started paying attention to this unscrupulous practice.
Ed Magedson is not the fair and impartial consumer advocate he purports to be. Because he gets press he feels he can bully legitimate businesses into paying extremely large sums of money to him for favorable reports to counter the unfavorable reports that he posts himself. Though he undoubtedly gets many legitimate complaints, he then requires large amounts of money to 'post a favorable resolution' to the problem.


Who watches the watchdog? I am very concerned about this guy who claims to be a consumer watchdog. At least one site exposes the truth behind self styled consumer watchdog, Ed Magedson, to reveal his true interest lies in increasing his own bank account. This unscrupulous criminal uses his bully pulpit to issue outright threats to coerce legitimate business owners to pay-up for a favorable report. You can see all the evidence and decide the truth for yourself. http://www.bad-business-rip-off.com

A little research will reveal he has a history of abusing his position of public trust. Please do not grant legitimacy to this guy as he uses it to bolster his position of influence to injure people without redress.


I have been reading various threads on the different forums regarding this guy, Ed Magedeson, and have a hard time understanding why anyone would defend him and am puzzled by their position. My gawd, there is a plethora of evidence indicating this guy is less than a stellar citizen. On the contrary, he is the poster child for self aggrandizement and the purveyor of self enrichment at the expense of ethics and truth. In my opinion this guy should be indicted under the RICO act for extortion and racketeering.

First of all, he has judgments against him. This is money he legally owes to people and refuses, with impunity, to pay. If he owed YOU money due to a judicial rendering I am sure you would be clamoring for your due. It is also apparent from the available information, from reliable sources, that he associates with known criminal elements. This, in conjunction with his undisclosed location and refusal to allow posting of opinions contrary to his own or to allow business owners to post in defense of their business practices leads me to give greater credence to the accusations by those whom he attacks.

So, in closing, let me reiterate, how anyone can continue to defend this man and his company. For more information a company has set up a site to try and counter some of the false accusations and manufactured complaints against them. Read http://www.webspawner.com/users/sharkiebites/index.html andlook at what others have to say about him. http://www.bad-business-rip-off.com
Posted by Swan on 2005-03-10:
There have been so many inaccuracies and misportrayals of Federated that it is hard to know where to begin addressing the tales. Since coming accross all of this rhetoric about Federated I have done some independent research and wish to share my [b]findings[/b].

Federated has served thousands of clients yet the only place you find complaints about their service is on Ripoffreport. They have helped many, many people through a tough time in their lives with assistance from certified professionals. Federated is ISO certified. That means they have gone through a tough process of internal audits, uniform quality standards metrics and fulfilling requirements for ongoing training of staff and self monitoring of quality standards. In addition, the monitoring entity conducts its own assessment at least annualy if not semi-annually.

If there were any truth to the claims of imporopriety the would have lost their designation.

In addition, Federated [b]is a member in good standing[/b] with the BBB. Personally, I don't see much value in the BBB, but many people feel it is one more measure of a reputable company. What the critics don't say, is that there are actually TWO BBB's to belong to.

One is the regular BBB there in that area. The other is the [b]BBB ONLINE[/b]. Since he was not made aware of the difference between the two, he was using the BBB logo on his web site much as others use the logo on stationery as status of a reputable business. As soon as he was informed of the difference he, being an ethical business person, removed the logo from the site. However, one call call confirm that Federated is indeed a business in good standing.

I hope this will help the blind followers of Ed to see more clearly. Instead of imitating the Enquirer, these people who consider themselves journalists should do some checking around before they go maligning others without just cause. Get your facts straight. you go messing around on other people and pretty soon you'll have stink on you.
Posted by solartek on 2005-09-09:
As a victim of internet slander, I agree and
to add to this, I ask anyone who has problems
with the RIPOFF group to contact me for a CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT to prohibit the actions by the
"ed" scammer. I have actually talked to "ed" and
his sleaze attitude comes in line with the various topics you discussed.

I can be reached at - solartek@ispwest.com -
in case anyone wants to take me on with the lawsuit to file as a CLASS ACTION CIVIL MATTER.

I have started proceedings to get the info removed, as I won the JUDGEMENT when I took
the matter to CIVL COURT.

It seems that the server is in the Carribean
and not under US APPLICABLE LAWS, however "ed"
can still go to court here in California,
and Arizona, and where ever else the web site
slanders anyone..........

I would enjoy further comments.

Sincerely,

Jamess Seidel

Remember, the truth always comes out on top,
no matter how deep the muck is.
Posted by B. on 2006-05-26:
solartek - I too am a victim of this sleaze ball. I took your advise and filed a complaint but would like to make myself available to join your cause. I was the victim of a business scam! As I struggled to work through the set back, this website allowed people to make libelous statements about my family, my personal life....you name it. However, refused to allow me to post my response in order to defend myself. His continued efforts to allow the libelous threads, accompanied by his alias input stirred the pot beyond repair costing me my business, my safety, the safety of my children. Our lawyer's have said they have never seen anything like this before in terms of phone calls to their offices, the horrific things said to them about me and my family. They attribute it to this the Ripoff Report, the filth posted and the hostility generated creating a mix of consumer's seeking blood rather than working with business owners to resolve issues. This man allowed my personal information (address and phone number) to be listed. Allowed statements encouraging people to pay personal visits to my home and my husband and I belonged in jail and my children should be in the foster system! All based on half truths at best. No one, and I mean NO ONE should be put through what we have this past year. I hope my complaint has assisted your efforts. And again, should you need added information, assistance, documentation, etc., please keep me on your list of contacts.

Good luck and great work!
Posted by ripoff1989 on 2006-09-15:
Do a goolge search on "ed magedson" an d "ripoffreport". Look at the first four pages and follow their lead. It will take a little time, but it will be worth to get his illegal EXTORTION SITE down.
Have you been harmed by the website www.ripoffreport.com? Have you been falsely accused with no way, other than to post on that site, to defend yourself? Join us in shutting this man down. Contact goolge. the more the complaints the better. he was remover over a year ago. They remove child porn and other ilegal sites all the time. Do a google search on"ed magedson"
Here is how that site works. Anyone with any complaint can post on there, it costs nothing. You can do it while you hide. Let me say that again ANYONE can post ANYTHING about ANYONE on www.ripoffreport.com with no accountability for their statements. That is libel, plain and simple. However, just try to email the site's founder Ed Magedson from Tempe AZ asking for assistance in locating the people who have made libelous statements against you. You will get a nasty surprise from ol' Ed or his "staff"!

They have paid "hunters" on that website. People who do short background checks on anyone who is "reported" to them. It is pretty easy to find a bit of information about anyone. Then these hunters post as if they know you, inciting you, baiting you with outright lies. It is like a Jerry Springer show or one of those tabloid magazines. It is also illegal. They also try to find people who complain at legitimate site to post their stories on their website. Again, inciting them to make bigger and rasher statements.

Every time you defend yourself of someone posts anything, good or bad, then the whole thread is kicked up into the top GOOGLE search again. Google can do something to stop this. We have gotten URL removed. Contact as many different departments as possible.
Also, contact his service providers. Do a "whois" search to find out who host his servers.
Also, puregig and prolexic tech. provided bandwidth last i checked. They all have TOS(terms of service) policies. Ripoff report is in clear violation of all their T.O.S's

There is so much wrong with in the world today, scammers preying on people, countries bombing each other, the world seems to indeed be "going to hell in a hand basket" as my grandma said so often. But people should still be held accountable, they should be made to stand behind what they say, especially when what they say is not true, an outright lie, libelous and harms others be it personally or in business.

Rip off Reports has many BBB (Better Business Bureau) complaints, including mine. If they have harmed you, please, visit the BBB and post a complaint. So many times people give up and think " I am only one, I can do nothing." Yes, you can. WE can.

We welcome any information to provide to attorneys and to shut these reprehensible people down. I think perhaps, if enough people kick and scream over this bloated mis-carriage of justice, we can make a difference. Any thoughts, ideas or if you just want to talk, email me. It may take awhile but together we can do this. I will do it alone if I have too. Ed has picked on the wrong person. His site is a grotesque parody of the little guy getting even with the big guy. Go there, read, spend some time. It is absolutely appalling. If you are decent person with one iota of fair play in you, you will too will be outraged.

Here is the response Mr. Magedson sent to me after I posted a LEGITIMATE complaint against him on the Squeaky Wheel. I had emailed rip off reports many times asking for "Sarah's" information. Never any response until I posted my complaint on the Squeaky Wheel. Then I recieved this email from Mr. Magedson, Founder and Head Hunter at Rip off Report. When you post a complaint at The Squeaky Wheel, everytime a new person views it, the company complained about receives an email! NEAT HUH? Oh and you have to pay to make a report on The Squeaky Wheel. So it does not get out of hand now does it?

Please note, the use of name calling ( I am a nut job and my friend is BS or at least her comments are), the lack of professionalism and the vaguely threatening undertone of this email. Simply because I posted a legitimate complaint against his site, which is pretty ironic, considering Ed makes his share of bucks with a site that claims to report complaints fairly. Am I the only one who sees the ridiculousness of this situation?

If you spam us again with any more email we are removing your comments from Rip-off Report and kicking you off the site.

You have been given a fair chance to post your comments and the BS comments from your friend.

If we get one more email from you, you are off the site for good.. and your comments will be removed.

We do not care what you say about us. anyone with half a brain will look at the Rip-off Report about you and figure out that you are a Rip-off and a nut job.

We have a policy,. anyone found to be threatening us with harm or doing harm to us, including spamming us with email from your email account. will be grounds for kicking you off Rip-off Report... along with any previous comments made by you.

Again, we dont care what you say about us. just dont send us emails. Maybe you should put your efforts into taking care of the customer you ripped off.

Do not respond.

DO NOT EMAIL US AGAIN FROM ANYWHERE.

Staff for...

ED Magedson - Founder

After doing a goolge search on "ed magedson" or "ripoff report" and do what alot of those links say. It gives info on who to e-mail at google. Also alot of other info is in the first 4 pages of that search.
Posted by ripoff1989 on 2006-09-19:
All people who are attacked by ED's scam(he is in it for the money). Contact his service providers. He may have switched ,but just do a "whois" search on any of his sites. Contact google anyway you can. They remove child porn all the time. The more complaints the faster his whole site gets taken down.

More info: A

The first Site is Ripoffreport.com, which is a site that encourages unhappy customers and employees to post their complaints on the website. In order to post a complaint the victim must post and address, phone number, and valid email address. This is all to make sure the information is legit the company claims.

Once the Ripoffreport.com has duped the victims into posting a negative report, then the operation begins.

The first thing they do is try to sell the customer a pamphlet on how to attack companies. This book basically advises customers to harass and attack the company, especially to keep posting on Ripoffreprt.com. (Click here to see link for manual solicitation)

The second thing that Ripoffreport does is send emails to the posters asking for donations to help fight legal battles with these companies. They use a combination of guilt and veiled threats. We are being attacked by these companies because we just want to help you the consumer. Please help us; we can barely keep our doors open and our servers running. “Our legal costs will bankrupt us”, they claim. Then the veiled threat; implying that the evil corporations do not want to sue just Ripoffreport, but also the poster of negative information. “We will do everything we can to protect you, we just need money for lawyers”, they claim. (Click Here for a sample of the letters sent out by Ripoffreport.com)

After trying to collect money from the consumer then Ripoff charges a business $25 to respond to a complaint after the fourth response. To keep the responses going Ripoffreport emails every complaining consumer every time a complaint is responded to. This gets the consumers to keep complaining and forces the company to keep responding. If the consumer does not file additional complaints, RipoffReport simply makes some up. This forces the company to pay to respond.

Initially it stopped there and was just a run of the mill penny anti scam run by convicted felon Ed Magedson (He bills himself as “Editor” on the site). He probably wouldn’t have attracted too much attention and could have continued this scam forever, but then they decided to go for the big dollars:

rip-off report – Criminal Ed Magedson then joined forces with a group of criminals that
Posted by ripoff1989 on 2006-09-25:
THEY REMOVE CHILD PORN FROM ORGANIC FILES.

eVERYONE NEED TO CONTACT GOOGLE AND EXPLAIN THE TRUTH ABOUT ED'S RIPOFF REPORT AND HIS EXTOTION SCHEME. His site was removed about ayear ago due to complaints, but he got it back up there. So if enough of us call and e-mail something will happen. Google is not an unfair company. So they can deindex ed's site. plus ed illegally uses your name in advertising and in his html codes and meta tags. I am sure you didnt give him permission to use your name.
Google's headquarters are located in the heart of Silicon Valley.

Google Inc.
1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
Mountain View, CA 94043
phone: (650) 253-0000
fax: (650) 253-0001
use our web form at www.google.com/support
abuse@google.com
legal@google.com

I called ,e-mailed, and faxed google over a two month period and finally someone in their adwords department helped me and got my ripoff report (URL) removed
All people who are attacked by ED's scam(he is in it for the money). Contact his service providers. He may have switched ,but just do a "whois" search on any of his sites. Contact google anyway you can. They remove child porn all the time. The more complaints the faster his whole site gets taken down.

More info: A

The first Site is Ripoffreport.com, which is a site that encourages unhappy customers and employees to post their complaints on the website. In order to post a complaint the victim must post and address, phone number, and valid email address. This is all to make sure the information is legit the company claims.

Once the Ripoffreport.com has duped the victims into posting a negative report, then the operation begins.

The first thing they do is try to sell the customer a pamphlet on how to attack companies. This book basically advises customers to harass and attack the company, especially to keep posting on Ripoffreprt.com. (Click here to see link for manual solicitation)

The second thing that Ripoffreport does is send emails to the posters asking for donations to help fight legal battles with these companies. They use a combination of guilt and veiled threats. We are being attacked by these companies because we just want to help you the consumer. Please help us; we can barely keep our doors open and our servers running. “Our legal costs will bankrupt us”, they claim. Then the veiled threat; implying that the evil corporations do not want to sue just Ripoffreport, but also the poster of negative information. “We will do everything we can to protect you, we just need money for lawyers”, they claim. (Click Here for a sample of the letters sent out by Ripoffreport.com)

After trying to collect money from the consumer then Ripoff charges a business $25 to respond to a complaint after the fourth response. To keep the responses going Ripoffreport emails every complaining consumer every time a complaint is responded to. This gets the consumers to keep complaining and forces the company to keep responding. If the consumer does not file additional complaints, RipoffReport simply makes some up. This forces the company to pay to respond.

Initially it stopped there and was just a run of the mill penny anti scam run by convicted felon Ed Magedson (He bills himself as “Editor” on the site). He probably wouldn’t have attracted too much attention and could have continued this scam forever, but then they decided to go for the big dollars:

rip-off report – Criminal Ed Magedson then joined forces with a group of criminals that form
Here is the fbi address for cyber crime. Go file a complaint http://www.ic3.gov/
Digital Millennium Copyright Act

Home

About Google

Terms of Service
Find on this site:


Search Query: google
Infringing Web Pages: www.infringingwebsite.com
directory.infringingwebsite.com
If you are sending a large number of URLs in one removal request, please also send an electronic copy of the notice to removals@google.com.

3. Provide information reasonably sufficient to permit Google to contact you (email address is preferred).

4. Provide information, if possible, sufficient to permit Google to notify the owner/administrator of the allegedly infringing webpage or other content (email address is preferred).

5. Include the following statement: "I have a good faith belief that use of the copyrighted materials described above as allegedly infringing is not authorized by the copyright owner, its agent, or the law."
Google, Inc.
Attn: Google Legal Support, DMCA Complaints
1600 Amphitheatre Parkway
Mountain View, CA 94043

OR fax to:

(650) 963-3255, Attn: Google Legal Support, DMCA Complaints

a Bill signed into law this week it prohibits using a false identity to otherwise annoy, slander, libel or harass anyone on the Internet. Some who are posters on Blogs decry this because they say that that it is a violation of free speech, unfair and it should not be a Federal Crime.

Indeed interesting comments. Yet chances are we have all be slandered and libeled on the Internet by vindictive, nut cases. If we own companies, we have had competitors do this. Most often someone will make up something and make a fake name and try to destroy your brand name, personal integrity out of jealousy, competitiveness or simply spite.

If such slanderous attacks and libel were to be stopped all at once, we could have better quality communication and maybe people would not be so fast to attack someone if they knew it could be traced back to them? The Internet is the greatest communication device in the history of the human endeavor, we need to protect its integrity, so people should use their true identity, especially if they wish to slam another or libel them. Think how upset you were last time someone attacked you?

What if they didn't wouldn't that have the best for all concerned? So if it makes people think twice, it could turn out to be a very good law. I know why the law was created, because politicians would get attacked via slander comments from opposition, no wonder they all voted for it? They are tired of being attacked. So, that abuse now is coming back on those who falsify their identity only to slander, annoy or libel. So, anyway, some flipside comments for the debate here. Think on this in 2006.

Lance Winslow - Online Think Tank forum board. If you have innovative thoughts and unique perspectives, come think with Lance; www.WorldThinkTank.net/wttbbs/

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/?expert=Lance_Winslow
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Defamatory postings on the Internet are libel, not slander, under California law and plaintiffs may collect damages for them without demonstrating specific injury, the Sixth District Court of Appeal ruled yesterday.

Justice Eugene M. Premo rejected the contention of two former employees of a Silicon Valley technological equipment manufacturer that the postings were best analogized to radio or television broadcasts, which if defamatory are classified as slander under Civil Code Sec. 46. The section does not mention television, but refers to communications which are “orally uttered, and also communications by radio or any mechanical or other means,” and has been construed to include television broadcasts.

Plaintiffs suing for slander must prove special damages, while in libel—defined by Sec. 45 as defamation by “writing, printing, picture, effigy, or other fixed representation to the eye”—damages are presumed
Posted by Bababooey on 2006-12-18:
If the Rip-Off Report is such an "honest" company, then why did Ed Magedson refuse to remove my personal information (full name, home address and telephone number, email address) which was included in a rebuttal to a rip-off report which I filed? Since Mr. Magedson doesn't seem to mind the posting of personal information on his website, I'm sure he won't mind me posting his personal information on this one:

Ed Magedson
2033 W. McDowell Blvd.
Apache Junction, AZ 85220-9157
Posted by Code 5 on 2007-06-11:
We have been putting together a criminal and civil action agaisnt Ed and ROR for 5 solid months now. We finally got the attention of the FBI and now they are working with us. We also have a live nationwide broadcast being shot next week about our action agaisnt Ed and ROR. Alot of things happening fellow ROR victims. His time peace is running slow and near dead shortly
Posted by Code 5 on 2007-06-11:
Posted by Neil on 2013-07-03:
I am a director of a company in partnership with my son in NZ called www.iwantprimary.co.nz and this one Mr ed magedson has listed us on his lame website also ,but there are no complaints about us,nor do we /or have ripped anyone off as we haven't been going for a full 5year yet anyway.
I have emailed him several times,no reply and then i found your site.. realize why !
He has just picked us out if the blue and is causing damage to our company that is not justified, very disappointed.
This guy is obviously a scumbag judging by the comments above
Take him down..! People.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.