9
Helpful
Votes

Van Holten's Pickles Informative - Put A Little Spice In Your Lunch!!

Review by 15910 on 2010-03-23
If there are any pickle connoisseurs out there, you must give this brand of pickle a try. They are the kind that are sold individually in a sealed plastic bag. 7/11 and about all convenience stores sell them for sure. Probably your grocer as well.

The varieties are hot, dill, garlic dill, sweet and they also sell those huge "queen's olives" in packages of 3, I believe. Being a city boy, I have no use for sweet pickles of any kind. YUCK! I think that is a southern thing.

I am not even going to try to describe how awful the dill flavor tasted and I haven't tried the olives nor the garlic dill. I always go for the HOT ones. Not only do have them for lunch, I drink the juice as well. They remind me of the pickles that you used to be able to buy from the corner market out of that huge jar. Well..... ALMOST.
After a weekend of overindulgence and poor diet, the juice alone does your body good by helping with the detoxifying of your innards. Trust me.

I know, nothing earthshaking but they (the hot ones) are much better than any store or brand name hot pickles.

*Vlassic agrees*
Comments:21 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-03-31
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-23:
I love pickles. Nice review.

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-23:
Pickles are good for when you want to munch but don't want to be stuffed. Thanks for the info.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-23:
Good review ZZ. I would love to try your pickle
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-23:
(( blink blink )) OhMY!
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-03-23:
Brace yourself, zz.. I love sweet pickles! And I am far from southern.

I don't like hot and spicy food, so hot pickles wouldn't be for me, but your review made me want to raid the fridge for pickles. And I think you're on to something about the juice detoxifying your innards. The vinegar and whatever makes the pickles hot probably does just that.

Great review!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-23:
OK Zz, but relegating my Vlassic's to second string may hurt their feelings.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-23:
Thanks especially to you, Yaya1
Posted by Slimjim on 2010-03-23:
I think these may be great with a cup of rancholina dipping sauce if you asked me. Good review zz. Picking topics of high interest from your pantry. I mean, who doesn't want to discuss pickles? I'm never afraid to discuss mine with my wife. Certainly not bush-league like blogging about sea salt for instance.
Posted by bargod on 2010-03-23:
Are you sure yaya, that baby gerkin might leave you feeling a bit unsatisfied.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-03-23:
Yummmm Garlic dills are really good.
I bought a jar of Heifetz Dill Pickles for my corned beef sandwiches on St. Patrick's Day...that was the first time I've had that brand and I got to tell ya, if you love dills, those are great with a good sandwich. In fact, I had one with a piece of my Much Older Brother's birthday cake lastnight and a few SweetTarts...talk about a great snack!!!!

ZZ, I can't wait until your next informative review...what will it be? We wait on the edge of our seats...maybe a review on OnCor's Family sized frozen meatloaf?
Posted by Nohandle on 2010-03-23:
YaYa, don't even go there honey. ZZ, do you like Pickled Pig's Feet? My brother did. Nastiest things I ever saw.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-23:
One's kitchen can produce a wealth of resources for a review. All the way from coffee pots to seal salt. And never forget all of the frozen stuff, mind boggling.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-03-23:
I've known ZZ to be pickled at times, but never knew he was a big fan of pickles.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-23:
Pickle in a bag? Is that what it's come to my friend? I remember when you used to review upscale appetizers at the Supreme Court and gourmet green Chili at Juans. Now you're doing hermetically sealed spicy cucumbers at the 7-11. I'm speechless - without speech.

Still I must confess this is a nicely written and yes informative review. I'm going to give ya a 'VH' and hope times get better for ya Sluggo.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
Very Helpful zz. I haven't seen a review this helpful since the KFC review on the new GRIP Boneless Fillet!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-03-31:
A pickle review that makes the M3C Newsletter? What IS this world coming to???
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-31:
Don't know DB, maybe a paint brush, wall paper, coffee pot, Frozen TV dinners or sea salt?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-03-31:
That's what I mean Super...how can they even compare this to those outstanding reviews?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-31:
Do I detect a hint of jealousy here Basher. Hey, let ZZ have his moment in the sun.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-31:
Paint brushes, wall paper, coffee pots, Frozen TV dinners and sea salt, all outstand lame and bad reviews, Zz and even tarter boy agree!

Nine warm fuzzies kind of blows your Zz bashing out of the water.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-03-31:
Awwwww...That's just my way of showin' some ZZ Lovin!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.