[X]

Hardees/Greenfield, In. US9 Complaint - Can't Take A Joke - Customer Service

Review by toots714 on 2010-03-24
GREENFIELD, INDIANA -- If you go thru the drive thru, don't joke with the people that work there they will call the police and press charges on you. My husband and I were there going thru the drv. Thru and he was joking with the girl telling her not to spit in the food and she got mad and called the police on us. I had been off work a few hours and we had had a few beers and decided that we wanted to eat at our favorite place [Hardees]. We ordered and then he started joking like always and this gilr didn't like it so she called 911. They kept us in the drv. Thru letting our food get cold while police was on the way. They got there and made my husband get out of car. We were staying the night at the motel across the street. They arrested my husband for owi and he lost his drvr. Lic. For 90 days and lost his cdl for 1 year. Now he can't find work for a year as of today. And this girl does this on an average of 3/4 times a week. So this little town makes a lot of money because of this trouble making girl. And a lot of people have lost they're livelihood. Thanks Hardees for hiring people without good humor.

We have told everyone about this and there are a lot of people that are not going to be visiting you anymore.
Comments:41 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-03-29
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-03-24:
Drinking and driving is not a joke, and it's never funny. I think you got what you deserved.
Posted by bargod on 2010-03-24:
I'm giving Hardee's a big thumbs up for turning in a drunk driver. Good job little girl.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
So let me see if I understand this one correctly. Your husband was driving while intoxicated yet you're blaming the Hardee's girl for his DUI because she called the cops? You're not blaming your husband for driving drunk or yourself for not stopping him from getting behind the wheel but rather it's the Hardee's employee's fault. Current my3cent's policy prohibits me from verbalizing my true feelings on this one as I'd imagine if I posted what I'm thinking I could strike out on this one comment alone. Let me just say I hope you're kidding.

If you're not then IM me the name of this Hardee's employee because I'd like to personally THANK her for getting a drunk off the road. Who knows who's life she might have saved. Perhaps yours. Perhaps you should thank her as well.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
If you're looking for "funny" in fast food, there is a restaurant that has a clown for a mascot.
Posted by clutzycook on 2010-03-24:
It's your husband's fault for driving under the influence. I'd like to shake that girl's hand for doing her part to keep the roads safe for the rest of us.
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-03-24:
Stew, I didn't say what I really wanted to either (darn strikes), but even if we did, toots wouldn't get it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
toots714, I do my darndest to see the customers side when I read reviews about poor customer service. I'm fairly certain that what most people post, whether the m3c's membership agrees with them or not, is in their eyes, a bad experience that they felt strongly enough to sit down and write out a complaint.
for this *complaint* I think you'll find the m3c's membership will *all* be in agreement. this girl should be given nothing but praise for turning in a drunk driver and possibly saving another persons life. how dare you accuse this person of causing your husband to lose his job? maybe this is a good time to grow up and start taking responsibility for your own decisions. thank the lord no one was injured or killed whilst you two decided it was ok to go get something to eat after having a few beers.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-24:
you're blaming the worker for the fact that your husband got caught drunk driving?

you're blaming HER for the troubles that your husband's drinking habits caused?


sure it's easy to pretend "this would never have happened if that girl hadn't called the cops on him!"

it also would have never happened if he hadn't been drinking before getting behind the wheel.


i saw an episode of cops like that once. they saw someone getting ready to break in to a building and as soon as the man started to break in, they arrested him. the man tried yelling that it was *their fault!* for not stopping him before he tried to break into the building.

it was easier to blame the cop
instead of owning up to his own actions
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-03-24:
And I'm glad your husband lost his CDL, as well, just in case he likes to enjoy a few beers on the job.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-03-24:
KJ, I was going to post, but I can't add to your response.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-03-24:
wait a minute, did not everyone here break some of the rules above??
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
This couple deserves to be on one of those "World's _______ Drivers, Criminals Or Patrons" shows and should be chosen as #1!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
jktshff, I only hpe this was a joke post. being the op and her husband like to joke.
pretty sure I brokea rule but by golly I'll take the strike.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-03-24:
understood.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
DUI will always get u a one way ticket to the county jail (NH)
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
Driving under the influence is no joke. Personally had I been working a drive thru and noticed that your husband was intoxicated, I would have called the police too. Thankfully the employee was aware and it is quite possible that they saved a life (or two or three or more) by getting your husband out from behind the wheel.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
Even I know better than to drink and drive
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
I always see car accidents on the loop 101 in az cause some moron wanted to drink and ended up rear ending someone seriously injuring them or killing them.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
It's like that on the US 60 too wally
Posted by clutzycook on 2010-03-24:
I just read these new M3C rules this afternoon. No wonder no one is posting any responses anymore. They've taken all the fun away!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
So Yaya you have never driven drunk? How do you get home from those bars?
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-24:
i never have.
the closest i came was a glass of wine and then letting it wear off before driving.

and that was only once, cos even though i was sober i was very tired. it sucked.


so if i drive to the bar i drink soda or coffee. of course that's one thing i miss about japan... could walk to the bar there. that was nice. easy to get around without driving.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
The bar I go to offers free cab rides.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
That's cool but NEVER?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
Peps, I had a friend that loved being stationed at Okinawa.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-03-24:
There's you a job yaya, open a bar in your neighborhood so you can walk.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
JKT, yaya is to satisfied with her current job opening envelopes and flattening out forms.

I mean what could be more fun then that.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
I've called the police several times concerning drunk drivers (yeah, buddy, nice job toasting me with your budweiser at the red light for one, especially since I'm driving an AMBULANCE). I would certainly hope that if I made such a huge, stupid mistake like that, that someone would call the police on me.

I'm inclined to agree with KJ..this post sounds like a *joke*.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-03-24:
heh yeah but if you think dwi is harsh here... it's even harsher in Japan. especially if you're military.

and in any part of the world you get "double jeopardy" where you can be punished by the local law AND the military. especially when you do things like DWI.

and okinawa is even stricter than kanagawa.
Posted by punxnotdead80 on 2010-03-24:
No way the drive-thru girl called the cops because of your hubby's stupid joke. She could probably either smell the alcohol on his breath or hear him slurring his speech noticeably.

In any case, I applaud her for getting a drunk driver off the road. Guess your husband should've thought about losing his CDL and thus his ability to make a living before he climbed into that car while drunk.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-24:
+10 punxnotdead80.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-25:
Your husband's joke about not spitting on the food is pretty darn clever! You have such a creative husband! He should do stand-up comedy while he waits to get his CDL back. Hardee har har. (pun intended)
Posted by Ytropious on 2010-03-25:
I came late but wow, you all said it best. You were not called on because of the joke, you were called on because the driver of the vehicle seemed intoxicated (the joke did not help) and she called the police. Big ups to Hardees for preventing what could have ended up as another drunk driving statistic.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-25:
I suppose the poster would have blamed someone else if her drunk husband would have hit someone and killed them? Kudos to this employee, as everyone else has said. You'll get no support for your "complaint" here.
Posted by Alain on 2010-03-25:
It's been said and I agree.
Posted by MRM on 2010-03-25:
This post is funny, the driver shouldnt be blaming anyone else but himself.
Posted by Fufu487 on 2010-03-25:
sooooo breaking the law, and potentially endangering the lives of others.......what I can't believe is your little town has this girl busting drunks 3 to 4 times a week. She deserves a medal!
Posted by RedDazes on 2010-03-27:
Pardon me for sounding rude. But your husband sounds like an ... well i can't really say what he sounds like with out getting in trouble. And I am very sure that there was more involved in this that what you stated in your comment. because just saying "don't spit in my food. Huckhuckhyuck" doesn't make people call the police.

I think this cashier deserves a pay raise and a promotion for getting another drunk driver off the road!
Posted by Skye on 2010-03-27:
I'm just totally fascinated the op even had the nerve to write this complaint. Kudos to the girl who called the police.

The only one responsible for being arrested was your husband, he lost his drivers license and CDL due to his own poor judgement. Drinking and driving is against the law.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-03-27:
Don't bet the farm on that Wally. Just watch some of those Cop video shows with people getting busted for some pretty lame stuff. So the drive thru girl at Hardee's is getting 3-4 drunks a week of the Hiway? She is doing better than a lot of Cop's that are getting paid to do it.

Carry on young Lady!
Posted by Ghost of former member on 2010-03-29:
You drink. You drive. You loose. It's not a laughing matter at all, and you get absolutely no sympathy from me. You're husband got exactly what he deserved. I am very happy that there is another drunk driver off the road.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.