[X]

National Motors, Inc. Complaint - Problems with a pre-owned Nissan Maxima

Review by p2992 on 2010-04-18
BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- On March 16, 2010 I paid cash for a 2006 pre-owned Nissan Maxima from National Motors, Inc. in Baltimore. Within the first month of ownership, I started noticing little things wrong with the car and I went back and forth about eight times to get these fixed. Once the 30 day warranty expired, I started to notice some major problems. The engine light went on so I took it to a Nissan dealership and I had to pay $100.00 to get it electronically evaluated.

At that time nothing major was wrong but the mechanic noticed that the two front tires were bald on the inside and they couldn't be seen. Before I bought the car National Motors, Inc. told me that they would replace the tires. After talking to the Nissan mechanic he said that the car shouldn't have past inspection with those two front tires. I realized they were the two tires originally on the car and they just rotated them so the the bald part would be on the inside. Along with the $100.00 I paid to get the engine light reset, another $300.00 for two new tires. I paid $500.00 to get the AC repaired because it wasn't working. At the time of purchase they told us that they recharged the AC. I kept hearing a noise and every time I took it back they said they fixed it.

When I went to get the engine light reset, I asked the mechanic if he would go for a ride with me to see if he could hear the noise and of course he did, which turned out to be the reflector shield and had to be replaced. All of the sudden, all the glass shields on the speedometer, the clock, etc, became loose, and passenger side window shakes. They payoff was, when I had the new front tires put on they told me that both rims were bent. After the tires were put on, I went to a rim shop to ask for a second opinion and they said that not only the two front rims were bent but so were the back two rims, each rim will cost $120.00 to get fixed.

I know I bought a used car and I thought I did my homework. I looked up the history of the car and it has never been in an accident and was only owned by one previous owner. Not only, did I pay almost $17,000.00 cash for this car, but I also so far put out a lot of money plus still finding thing wrong with the car.

If anyone in Baltimore is thinking about purchasing a car at National Motors, Inc. in Baltimore don't waste your time.

The address is:
4129 E. Joppa Rd.
Baltimore, MD 21236
natimotor@aol.com

Phone: (410) 256-2400
Comments:12 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-04-18
Posted by Alain on 2010-04-18:
Check lemonlaw.com/maryland-lemon-law-questions.html and see if Maryland's Lemon Law might help your problem.
Posted by Alain on 2010-04-18:
Also check BBB.org/US/LemonLaws (non-commercial site).
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2010-04-18:
Lemon Law will not cover this. In most states it only covers NEW cars. Never USED cars.

Specifically in Maryland:
"Maryland's Lemon Law applies to new or leased motor vehicles (including cars, light trucks and motorcycles), registered in Maryland, that are less than 24 months old and have been driven less than 18,000 miles."

In this case it sounds like you should have had a mechanic check this vehicle out before buying it.
Posted by Alain on 2010-04-18:
A lemon law may apply to a used car if there is an express written warraty with the vehicle such as the balance of a manufactuerer's warranty, a separate limited warranty given by the dealer, or an extended warranty or service contract you purchase from the dealer at the time you purchase the vehicle. If you have such a warranty, the substance of the new car lemon laws apply.
Posted by madconsumer on 2010-04-18:
best answer alain!!
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2010-04-18:
Alain, in the case of an "express warranty" it is as written. It is not covered by a "lemon law". Maryland law was pretty clear. It will not help this OP.
Posted by NickL11354 on 2010-04-18:
That is why you should NEVER buy a used car especially with one that has over 30,000 miles.

Its your own fault for not doing a thorough inspection before buying it -- most of the problems seemed obvious.
Posted by Sparticus on 2010-04-18:
Actually Nick, buying a used car can be the best bargain out there these days. A new car loses thousands of dollars in value the instant you drive off the lot.

If you find a good one, you can save tons of cash buying used. We picked up a year old Liberty a few summers ago. It only had 5000 miles. Got it for about $13k less than it sold for new the year before.

But I do agree, you should get it independently inspected before signing the dotted line.
Posted by MRM on 2010-04-18:
Alright Sparticus, you bought a Jeep brandname! HOORAH!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-04-18:
agree with sparticus. buying a used vehicle is usually the way to go. one must do their research of course. it is also highly recommended to pay for an extended warranty.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-04-18:
Twice in my life I have purchased new vehicles. Never again.

Used, paid for in cash, and doing your research is the way to go.
Posted by dan gordon on 2010-04-18:
actually the stuff mentioned is pretty minimal and I'd consider it the realm of used cars. They didn't 'hide' the tires the buyer obviously didn't look too hard.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.