[X]
Feedburner count

6
Helpful
Votes

Emilio Finatti Sicilian Pizzeria Informative - Its Amazing what some people will do for a free pie.

Review by thebigcheese on 2010-04-19
WHITE ROCK -- Dear Tami, and other Readers,
I run a tight ship at our restaurant. Our health inspections are available online for public review. We have a very good re pore with the Frasier Health Authority. In regards to the complaint filed from "taminator" I have the following 3 cents.
Your complaint came to my attention during the dinner service on April 16 2010. I have no doubt in my mind the slanderous exaggerations that make up the bulk of your complaint, have spouted from the mouth of anger and frustration. Your campaign to besmirch the reputation of my restaurant is a ubiquitous incursion upon my business affairs, a blatant affront to consumer relations and a perfect example of the efforts some people will go to for a free pizza. Your attempts to deter the populous from what will be the best pizza they will ever have will be unsuccessful. Emilio Finatti has an excellent reputation for a reason. Great food, as a result of excellent quality control measures, as well as a very welcoming customer service experience (99.9%) of the time. I ask anyone that intercepts this transmission to print it out and come down to Emilio Finatti for a free sample of our chicken wings and or pizza. We will accept this print out as a coupon. Our wings are free range organic, the restaurant produces a fresh batch every two days. We sell out frequently.
As for your customer service experience (Tami), rarely I'll let my personal mood affect my attitude at work. I have to admit you caught me on a off day. Your complaint came to my attention from my front counter employee who took your order. The employee who took your order communicated to me that the order that was taken over the phone was confirmed. The order was also confirmed when your "partner" came for pick up. I offered to send you the perogie pizza that you claimed you originally ordered at half price and no delivery charge to save you the trip back to the restaurant. I merely tried to use psychology to try and get some honesty out of the situation, regarding the implication that all orders are audio recorded for quality control. WOW! Did that ever backfire.
The food service industry was built on customer service. In that respect I was wrong to question your complaint regarding the "mix up" of pizzas. As a proud individual I often question informalities. This is not so commonplace when conducting good public relations. 99.9% of the time I would have sent you the replacement pizza no questions asked. Its only the repeat complaints which involve loss or missed toppings that I usually weed out as kids and/or immature adults trying to get free product as a result of the conditioning that this industry represents as a
set precedent of pleasing the consumer. Complaint = Free food. Understandably there are a few bad apples that take advantage of this. I am not at all saying you fall into this category. In fact as I remember your partner was very humble and polite. I apologize that your customer service experience was unsatisfactory. I'm the carbon copy email that I will be sending along to you, I will also include a open credit at our restaurant for the pizza and chicken wings for you to use when you desire, whether it be pick up or delivery. It is my duty as a manager to rekindle our relationship. I do enjoy providing the community with a quality product. This is a privilege not a right, and something that myself and my staff work very hard for. Hopefully you will take this credit as an olive branch.
Thank you for your patronage, and the patronage of others that might read this.
-Aaron Gehrman
manager
Emilio Finatti
Comments:21 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-05-01
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-04-19:
big cheese, you need to put this as a reply on the original post (http://www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=76737), otherwise, it will likely be ignored, since few are going to go to the trouble of looking it up.
Good response though.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-04-19:
Just went to the website and read a few reviews. Impressive.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-04-19:
JTK - they can't. there's no commentary allowed

However after reading this "informative" review I am more inclined to side with the customer.

The "official" company response accuses the customer of "slander"
but even before they they accuse the customer of trying to scam free food out of them.

On top of that, why is the word "partner" in quotes? Is there an issue with whom Taminator has a relationship with?


To be honest this "reply" strikes me as being very unprofessional and does more damage to the company's reputation than Taminator's complaint ever did.

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-04-19:
A little free pub never hurt anyone. The OP seems to be business savvy and I would love to dine at that eatery.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-04-19:
I tend to give more credit to an op that allows a response to their posting, rather that someone who just wants to tell their side of the story and has closed their mind to comments or reasoning. The complainant goes so far as admitting that they did not check their order before leaving. While a wrong order is not good, it seems as if the proprietor made an effort to make things right, from what they have posted, as well as leaving the reply open for comments.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-04-19:
and it's OK say to someone "you're being slanderous"
and then accuse them of scamming for a freebie?


technically that accusation is also libelous
unless you actually have proof that they were trying to scam.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-04-19:
I'd be willing to bet that he does have proof.
Posted by Starlord on 2010-04-19:
Thank you, Aaron. Your post makes me wish I was able to visit your establishment. Your responseis mouch more acceptale to me because you left the door open for responses. I hate when someone writes something scathing and totally off the wall, then cuts off any posibility of comment. Keep those good pies coming.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-04-19:
bigcheese, very perceptive. though I suspect in your line of work, you've seen every angle there could possibly be in *free food attempts.*

do come back and let us know how many printed up this post as a coupon. or if you ever hear back from taminator.
Posted by thebigcheese on 2010-04-19:
Please read the full letter (its amazing what people will do for free pie). I never accused said party of scammimg. I was simply making an example. I did although outline in the part that involed the pick up by (said partner) and said the partner was humble and polite. I used "partner" because it was in the original email that was sent to my attention from taminator.
-Aaron
Posted by COOKIES! on 2010-04-19:
It is nice that you offered to rectify the situation although the original letter was ridiculous and seemed like a freebie grab. I wish companies would give me free food for being a good consumer that doesn't complain, enjoys the food and pays full price. Unfortunately, this site is teaching me that complaining will get me free stuff so I may have to start :)
Posted by oldisgood on 2010-04-20:
Now this manager is a class act. Very well presented.
Posted by WhiteRocker56 on 2010-04-24:
I really hope this place cleans up it's act because it use to be top notch and now it's all kids working there and the food has suffered.
Posted by raven2010 on 2010-04-24:
They seem to go out of their way to take care of issues and concerns. Whiterocker---did you give them a chance? did you express your concerns as they occurred?
Posted by raven2010 on 2010-04-24:
and who cares if "kids" work there? Tone is set by owners/management, and based on "thebigcheese" response alone, I would be happy to eat there if ever passing thru.
Posted by WhiteRocker56 on 2010-04-24:
I live right above, trust me. I have eaten there at least 15+ times. I walked my dog past the front around 1:00am and they were drinking and smoking inside YUCK. As for kids working there I care- there is a reason why chefs charge what they do and these "teens" are sometimes rude and argue in the store. It's just not professional. The owner started hiring teens and the food quality is just not the same. Call it what you want but it's not what is use to be. Which was great..
Posted by WhiteRocker56 on 2010-04-24:
I think we need to IP check the users and see who is posting under different names from the same computer because I have a feeling allot of these users are the same person. I am going to contact the admin
Posted by raven2010 on 2010-04-24:
White, you and cookie seem to be the only "new" posters on this review. But maybe the Wild Turkey have already dipped into has clouded my ability to see....
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-04-24:
*pouring Raven a shot, and getting myself a double*
Posted by raven2010 on 2010-04-24:
*thanx dryad*

*shares her new rocks glasses*
Posted by thebigcheese on 2010-05-01:
Dear Whiterocker56,

I have always conducted business in a fair manner and have never resorted to fraud to back myself up. I don’t have the time to leave feedback under fictitious names. This is also due to my late reply to your open compliant, and my apologies for not addressing your comment posthaste. I am to understand these forums are meant to be a safe haven for consumer comment and feedback. Truly, who knows who in the midst of this technocracy. A friend of mine that runs a forum told me he spent twelve hours to delete multiple accounts of just one user. There were more than 15,000 different user profiles. A fact I just recently came across was yahoo statistics on internet bullying. It shows that the majority of internet bullies are women between the age of 30 to late 50's, Taminator is a validation of this enumeration. On a deferent note, I’m not shy to this industry as I’ve been immersed in it for many years. The backbone of the food service industry is built on many of youth. I have even come across some brilliant and very creative criminals in the back of some kitchens. I have also stepped away from numerous kitchens that i felt that did not have safe and or quality food practice. This is one of the reasons I took everything I had and opened my restaurant in 2005. Over the years it has been allot of trial and error to fine tune our products and services. Let me say it hasn't been easy, as it is a very challenging industry. I have adapted managerial skills before and during the operation of Emilio Finatti and have refined acute perceptiveness when hiring staff. In the case of applicants, the interview process is based of three steps. First step is initial introduction, the second step if they pass the first is a working introduction to see how they perform in the kitchen, and interact with our other staff. The third step if they pass the second is a series of performance reviews and challenges that they are faced with. Menus differ as do kitchens. MacDonalds is more fast serve assembly process with allot of repetitive manual procedure. I expect Macdonalds will be out sourcing to robots soon for efficiency. What i have to offer, speaks for itself. To have these be the only real complaints I’ve dealt with in five years is pretty darn good, compared to many of institutions I’ve worked for in the past. So many customers call in each week after they received their order to tell us, "thanks for the best pizza I’ve ever had." I have to say the only real atrocity of all this is the fact that people don’t speak out as much as they should. Most avoid confrontation and stew to a boiling point and erupt libelous script on forums as an attempt to vent themselves. Get off your keister if you have a problem, come down and we will talk about it. Throw out your anonymous letters and do something about your frustrations. Occasionally people make mistakes, and orders may get mixed up, but always know that in this industry or any industry the squeaky wheel get the grease. Something else i want to back up is that i have a food safe and clean kitchen. There is no smoking in my kitchen. There has been smoking in the past near the front door of the restaurant (that is far away from the kitchen) and this has only happened on sparse occasions. Usually its staff functions or my friends that stop by to say hello after hours because I’m always working, and have little to no social life. Its not just a career to me, its a lifestyle that i love and enjoy. My staff also share the same ideals, and the public is welcome to come in and meet them. Whiterocker56 if you haven't noticed it by now you live atop many light commercial businesses. Based on the hours most restaurants operate its of no shock that you may be disturbed by noise on occasion. it has happened a few times where we had a drunk come in and raise ruckus, it can get loud for other reasons as well. If you have a complaint come down and address it, or call me. I hope your complaint was genuine, and not from the bias that would come from that of a quisling relationship with the original complainant. Good day.

-Aaron Gehrman
manager
Emilio Finatti Sicilian Pizzeria

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.