[X]

3
Helpful
Votes

Peach Regional Medical Center-Fort Valley, GA Complaint - Very Unprofessional/Wrongly Judged

Review by barb0659 on 2010-05-05
FORT VALLEY, GEORGIA -- Arrived in the ER 4 May 2010 with pain from an absessed tooth. After the Dr came in I sat for almost 2 hours. When the Dr did come back in, he said, "What you really need to do is go to a dentist", handed me a prescription for pain, and said "Here this is what you really came in here for, isn't it."
I've had an absessed tooth before, so I knew that what I really needed was an antibiatic.
What the Dr didn't know and didn't care to ask was that I did have an appointment for the dentist on the 17th of May. That was the earliest I could get in because it is a discounted dentist, based on your income. My opinion of this ER and the Dr is very unprofessional and uncaring.
Comments:9 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-05-05
Posted by momsey on 2010-05-05:
I hope you report the doctor to the state medical board! I think they'd be particularly interested in your complaint because not only did he wrongly assume you were only there to deceptively get painkillers, he prescribed them to you with that assumption! Pretty bad doc there...
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-05-05:
I can completely understand why the OP went to the ER...they stated the earliest they could get in to see the dentist was the 17th. Obviously they don't have dental insurance and if you know anything about drs in general, if you don't have insurance, you better be prepared to pay upfront.

An abscessed tooth is horribly painful, the ER doc may not be able to do anything about the tooth itself...but they certainly can prescribe antibiotics and a pain med.

I'm with momsey, report this quack to the state medical board.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-05-05:
I've had an abcess, to the point it looked as though I was smuggling a softball in my cheek. No exaggeration! My wife will attest to that unruly sight! But I too was unable to see our dentist for 3-days. In the meantime, it kept growing worse and worse, and that can be fatal. I went to the ER and was politely prescribed antibiotics to bring down the swelling and painkillers to alleviate the discomfort. The OP followed proper protocol, it's just he was seen by a jacka** of a doctor. And yes, some dentists have "hot-lines", but only for certain procedures, and mine was out of town, with no replacement. Sh*t happens in life, it's just obnoxious doctors such as this one, make it worse.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-05-05:
I don't see where she walked in and said "Give me these meds." From what she wrote, the ER doc gave her a prescription for pain meds, and because she'd had an abscessed tooth before, she knew she should be on antibiotics...she doesn't say whether or not she actually said anything to the ER doc about antibiotics or not, just that she knew from a prior experience that that is what she should be taking.

At any rate, the basis of the complaint is that the ER doc accused her of coming in for a pain med script...while he handed it to her. That is wrong, no matter which way you look at it, and she should report him.
Posted by Nohandle on 2010-05-05:
I have not had in the past nor do I have now Dental Insurance. I do know even with a dentist he will most likely clear up an infection before he will begin to work on your teeth. An ER physician is not qualified for dental work. Do call your dental office, explain the problem and perhaps they will prescribe an antibiotic for you. If not, sit in the dental office until someone sees you. I'd rather do that than sit in an ER. And yes, the ER physician was tacky at best.

If this is an ongoing problem with the same tooth then perhaps you should have taken care of it earier. It won't go away.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-05-05:
How anybody can defend a doctor saying, "Here this is what you really came in here for, isn't it.", to a patient is beyond me. I agree this doctor is seriously unprofessional.

An abscessed tooth is nothing more than an infection not much different than any other abscess infection. People seek treatment for infections at urgent care/emergency rooms all of the time. The doctor is fully qualified to assess the infection and prescribe an antibiotic just as he would for any other infection. This doctor blew it.
Posted by momsey on 2010-05-05:
I think some of you are missing the point. This isn't about a patient "self-diagnosing" and trying to "self-describe." This OP was treated badly by a horrible doctor. That's the point.
Posted by momsey on 2010-05-05:
LOL, I meant self-prescribe! Dang my quick fingers.
Posted by skelly39 on 2010-05-05:
Agreed, momsey. I don't know if I would have done was J4A suggested if I were in so much pain I needed the meds, but I definitely would have thought about it. Totally uncalled for. Big doctor treating the little guy like a criminal.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.