Car Savers / Stan C. Frank Jr. Complaint - $87.32 Oil Change - Automotive Service/ Repair

Review by Jemille on 2010-05-17
TUCSON, ARIZONA -- Merchant was to provide an oil change. I provided the oil, oil filter. Merchant performed work that was unauthorized and charged me for it.
Stan Frank in performing services on my 2004 Honda Element.

On 2-22-10, Stan Frank, owner of Car Savers came to my home to do an oil change. I purchased the oil and filter for the oil change, Stan was to perform the labor. I was trying out Stan because he is a friend, and is a new business owner. My intention was for Stan to do an oil change and vehicle safety inspection, ONLY. Stanley is not an ASE certified mechanic and I did not believe that he could adequetely perform other repairs.

Stan seemed nervous so I helped him guide my vehicle onto his plastic car ramps in my garage.

I work from home so I went in to do some paperwork.

After, what seemed to be several hours I went to check on Stan. He said that the battery needed to be cleaned. He also said that the tires were low and needed to be inflated. He asked if I wanted him to do that, I stated that yes I did. I happened to ask him if there was a charge for cleaning the battery, and he said that it would be $30. (the bill was $32.50.)This was the only price that he quoted to me, ahead of time. I thought that was pretty high, but wanted to help him out, and felt that he could clean a battery, and gave him authorization. I went back inside.

After a long period of time, Stan came in the house in a panic and said that he could not complete the oil change because he was unable to get the oil filter off as a result of not having the correct tools. Stan then gave me a choice of either leaving the old oil filter on, or taking a hammer and a screw driver to get off the old one. I grew up around a step father who had an auto repair shop, and realized that I was in big trouble if I allowed him to continue. I was upset that he was not prepared to do an oil change properly. I instructed him to put the vehicle back together and not to risk damaging it. Stan did so.

He later presented me with a bill for $87.32 for the oil change. I asked him why the bill so much. He said that the repair manual said he should charge for all the things that he did.

Detail of the charges
-Put air in (4) tires- $2.50 each= $10.00, (Stan used my electricity for his pump)
-Windshield washer fluid- $1.00 no evidence that it was filled.
-Lubricate hinges-$4.00
-Change oil- $32.50
-Clean battery- $32.50
-Oil Disposal fee-$3.00 (Stan left a bag of newspapers and papertowels for me to dispose of)

I was very unhappy but wrote him a check for the full amount (check # 226)I asked Stan a silly question. I compared what he did with someone like Jim Click putting a new Ford in my driveway and sending me a bill for $25,000.

2-26-10 I took the Honda Element into Dobbs Honda for a warranty issue on the air bag system. Dobbs did a safety inspection on the vehicle. They said that all four brakes needed to be serviced. The service advisor stated that it would not make it to the next oil change. The pad thickness in the fronts were 1 mm. the rears- 2 mm. Estimate ahead of time $1200.00. I chose to not have them do the work.

3-1-10 I called Stan and told him that I was very unhappy with the work and would like for him to think about giving me a rebate of somekind. He said that he would consider it.

3-2-10, I performed the brake job. The fronts were indeed very worn as were the rear. I also noticed that the lower control arm bushing boots were torn on both sides.

3-3-10, I saw Stan at a business function and asked him what he came up with. Stan handed me a repair guide that he highlighted. I asked Stan if he did a safety inspection on the vehicle. He said that yes he did. I asked him if he looked at the brakes he said that he had not. I told him what Dobbs Honda told me and what I found, he didn't seem interested.
I then asked him if he was going to do anything to make this right, he said no and that he wanted to resolve it through the BBB.
Company Response on 01/23/2011:
BBB Response to Jemille's Complaint

"Better Business Bureau of Southern Arizona
434 S. Williams Blvd., Suite 102
Tucson, AZ 85711
Tel: 520.888.5353 Fax: 520.888.6262

RE: Case # 119XXXXXX XXXX XXXXXX

Thank you for responding to the complaint filed by your customer named above. BBB wants to inform yo0u that your customer believes this complaint remains unresolved.

BBB has reviewed this dispute and is closing it as resolved. We believe your company has addressed the disputed issue(s) and exhibited a good faith effort to resolve the dispute.

Better Business Bureau thanks you for your cooperation and the professional manner in which you handled this dispute. If you have any questions or require further assistance please contact BBB at (520) 888-6161.

Sincerely,

Enrique Maciel
Operations Manager
emaciel@tucson.bbb.org

Additionally, my BBB rating is A-, the highest rating available to a nonmember. Please see http://www.bbb.org/tucson/business-reviews/auto-repair-and-service/car-savers-in-tucson-...
Comments:4 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-05-17
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-05-17:
I don't know how much of a friend that Stan is to you, now.
Posted by MRM on 2010-05-17:
Daaayum... $87.32 for an oil change!
Posted by bargod on 2010-05-17:
Tell Stan you are starting a lawn cutting business and ask him if he will be your first client. Tell him the book says to charge 10 cents per blade of grass. Maybe you will get your money back.
Posted by clutzycook on 2010-05-17:
Wow. I think I'd be better off changing my own oil than allowing an obvious rookie to do it...

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.