3
Helpful
Votes

Happy Hollow Cattery Complaint - Bad Business! - Cattery

Review by Vlaporte on 2010-05-27
MARSHFIELD, MISSOURI -- I sent a deposit of 250.00 for a specific kitten. The next day I was told the kitten was not available and my deposit was not refundable. This is a bait and switch in the worst case. Now I have no kitten and no money to put a deposit on a new one.

BEWARE DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THEM!
Company Response on 05/28/2010:
Happy Hollow is agreeing to perform according to said website terms. Thank you for the opportunity to protect honest businesses from false accusations.
Comments:8 Replies - Latest reply on 2012-03-05
Posted by Skye on 2010-05-27:
Sounds like a very high profit kitten mill. Did you send the deposit by credit card, this way you could do a charge back?

Why not visit your local animal shelter, and save the life of a kitten or cat there? These mill places stay in business because of these bait and switches, meanwhile the animals are suffering.
Posted by goduke on 2010-05-27:
I'm pretty sure that legally they can't keep the deposit if they are not making the furball available to you. You may want to contact your local District Attorney about fraud allegations (or the DA's office where they are located), and/or your state's attorney general.
Posted by momsey on 2010-05-27:
I have an idea. Go to an animal shelter or pound or your vet's office or even the grocery store pin board! You can get really wonderful cats for free, and you'll be doing them a favor as well.
Posted by goduke on 2010-05-27:
I'll tell you, my shelter dog sure wasn't free. Got an adult dog at the shelter for $85 fee. Then I got to neuter him ($150) and then had to fix the problem with his teeth ($600).

Still, he's a great little friend, and I am grateful each day he's part of my life.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-05-27:
also while you're at it, include the FTC


and goduke is right.
plenty of cheap cats out there. unless you're looking for a specific breed.


personally my own kitty (who i may have lost to sis's family heh)... hell i got him from a kill shelter - meaning they're the opposite of a no-kill shelter. never thought i'd like a manx but oh he was just so loving from the start.

and next time... eh, i dont want kittens. you have to supervise them or they'll get into everything. next time i get a cat i'm getting an older cat.

older cats need love too. and they're less likely to scratch everything
Posted by old fart on 2010-05-27:
Matilda was a 5 week old free stray who turned up on our back porch one night.... she's been a blessing ever since.... free is good!
Posted by Nohandle on 2010-05-27:
On a link while researching the business I read "You may put a non refundable deposit of $250.00 to hold the kitten of your choice. This will go toward the total price of the kitten". This was only a portion of what was stated. I went no further than that to determine the circumstances refunds were allowed, if at all.

Thank you for alerting others. I hope you get your deposit back which I believe was the purpose of your complaint. You paid for a product, service or anything else someone would make a deposit on and you did not receive the product/service.

If it helps any, your complaint is now visible if one does a web search on the business. Again, I hope you get your deposit back.
Posted by Hollie on 2012-03-05:
Typically deposits are Non-Refundable if the buyer backs out of the sale for any reason, however most contracts state that they will apply the deposit towards another kitten within a specific period of time. (Most are a year) otherwise the deposit is used for missed oppritunities, re-advertising and such. However ever breeder I know will refund the deposit or provide another kitten should the kitten the deposit was placed on become unavailable, there for being the breeder backed out of the sale at the very least another kitten should have been offered and if not then the deposit should have been refunded in full.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.