[X]

2
Helpful
Votes

Do Not Call List Complaint - File a Complaint or they won't stop

Review by CoonCatOne on 2010-06-03
I had three calls today from someone trying to sell something. I reminded them each time to take my number off their list. If you go to this site, you can file a complaint:
https://complaints. donotcall.gov/complaint/complaintcheck.aspx?panel=2

I cannot figure a way to get rid of these folks without filing a complaint.
Comments:8 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-06-05
Posted by Skye on 2010-06-03:
I'm on that list, and I still get phone calls. I now have put a block, called star 78 on my phone, and love it. Wish I had done a block a lot sooner. The cost with this new feature, along with my other land line features, including our DSL, now has actually caused our phone bill to drop by $11.00 a month. No more late night annoying calls or super early annoying calls.
Posted by skelly39 on 2010-06-04:
They were trying to sell someone?
Anyway, if you are on the list and they keep calling you, can't they be fined? Also, isn't there some limitation, like if you've done business with the company within the past two years, they can still call you?
Good info, Skye.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-06-04:
also, perhaps slightly off topic but remember... when you sign up for Do Not Call it may take a month for it to go through. at least that's what it said on the website last i looked.


though, i haven't gotten sale calls so much as i've gotten... calls for other people.
like when some girl gave her number out but she gave it out wrong or just lied - cos i started getting text messages for her.

or Phil. I don't know who Phil is but I think he had collectors after him or some legal department. They use to call me a couple of times every few months.
Posted by Skye on 2010-06-04:
Hey Pepper,

I've been on these do not call lists, since they first came out in 2000. I just had to renew every year. They stink, and they still allow calls to get through.

My star 78 block in my new best friend!
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-06-04:
Oh... I've never actually renewed. Though mostly I just have it on my skype.

So that also may be why I don't get a lot of calls.
Posted by Nohandle on 2010-06-04:
Yes, once you have registered with the NDNC list it does take a while to take effect as Pepper stated. I have caller ID but only have one telephone with that capability. An extension I might just pick up since I still maintain a landline and those extensions don't have caller ID.

My biggest aggravation was with a cell phone telephone number I have. James has been looked for I guess the past 5 years. Obviously that guy never paid anyone and probably still uses the number when it is of convenience to him.

Even if you are on the list, and it has been activated, you will still receive some calls. Primarily political at an election time. Those characters exempted themselves from the NDNC list when voting in favor of that particular bill.
Posted by CoonCatOne on 2010-06-05:
I have had my phones on the no-call list for quite awhile. I have no bill collectors calling. I was able to file the complaint without a hassle or without having to relist my number.
Posted by Nohandle on 2010-06-05:
CoonCatOne, I don't have bill collectors call on my landline. On occasion I'll get a call from a company I expect dialed the wrong number. Most have expressed their apology for the mistake and I never hear from them again.

Wonder if the number you provided will stop those stupid Political calls? We had a primary not long ago and I thought I'd scream if I heard another recording. One morning they started at 6:00 am and stopped at about 10:00 pm. I wanted to slap the daylights out of anyone I could find.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.