5
Helpful
Votes

Woodman's Market Compliment - Wow! A long-lost concept seen today!

Review by clutzycook on 2010-06-11
CARPENTERSVILLE, ILLINOIS -- So, today was the day Baby Clutzy and I do our grocery shopping. As usual, I started my trip at Woodman's and filled up my cart. As the cashier was handing me my receipt, she asked me "would you like curbside pickup?" Huh? I haven't had anyone load my groceries for me in my entire adult life! I remember back in the day when my mom would go to the store, they had the bag boys who would haul your bags out to the car for you, but that had to have been 15-20 years ago in the rural area I grew up in. Knowing a good thing when I saw it, I said "absolutely," and Baby C and I headed out to my car. I pulled around to the front and the young man loaded my bags into my trunk for me. He actually did a better job of it than I could (usually because I'm trying to prevent my little Clutzy from stage diving out of the cart). What a nice way to end a shopping trip!
Comments:10 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-06-12
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-11:
Good review. I haven't shopped with a little one for years. It actually annoys me when the bagger asks if he can take my groceries out to my car (do I look infirm or something?).

Clutzycook, it sounds like curbside pickup was perfect for you.

Posted by trp2hevn on 2010-06-11:
Great review!
At Publix here in my area, they always ask if I need help out with my groceries. That's just part of the job. I think (if I recall correctly) they even have signs about no tipping. They consider it part of the service. I've never taken them up on the offer but I bet it helps some of the elderly people (like DB LOL).
Posted by Skye on 2010-06-11:
Very nice review! They do that here also, and it still amazes me. I have not used this service, but it's good to know they offer it, if you have so much stuff to put in your vehicle. It at least cuts down on one step. They have signs here that tipping is not allowed for the store help. Why not?
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-06-12:
Baby Clutzy.. how cute!

This service is perfect for anyone shopping with a child. I would definitely take them up on the offer every time.

Nice review!
Posted by clutzycook on 2010-06-12:
What's funny is that I've shopped at this store for years and I've regularly been doing it for the past 3 months (since the closed cheese incident at my local Walmart) and this is the first time they've offered it to me. Dryad, at the local IGA near my hometown they have a sign that would answer your question regarding infirmity "We love to spoil you, we carry out" :). But you're right, if I hadn't had Baby C with me, I wouldn't have bothered with it.
Posted by clutzycook on 2010-06-12:
Oh no! I just realized that M3C took my star away! What gives?
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-06-12:
eek you're naked!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-12:
Clutzycook, email admin or send them a message.
Posted by Nohandle on 2010-06-12:
Nice compliment Clutzy. In my area the store where I do the majority of my grocery shopping offers this service to ALL customers if there are more than a few items in the cart. The difference is it is not curbside. The employee/bagger will follow to your car and load them in your trunk for you. I always look from right to left and tip the employee even though the sign states "No Tipping." It's especially nice on a rainy day when you are trying to hold an umbrella and load a cart full of groceries at the same time. On those days they get an extra tip. LOL
Posted by clutzycook on 2010-06-12:
That's the way it was in the grocery store my mom shopped at when we were kids, they would follow you out to the car and load the bags for you. Of course we're talking about a grocery store with a relatively small parking lot compared to the supersized lots you find in the Chicago suburbs. It was just nice not to have to load them myself. BTW, admin says they'll fix my star on Monday. I hope so, I feel naked without it!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.