1
Helpful
Votes

Brother's Auto Glass Complaint - I was insulted by a drunk employee

Review by beee on 2010-06-15
OCEANSIDE, CALIFORNIA -- On 6/14/10 I went to " Brother's auto Glass " to have my windshield replaced, & it was the worst experience ever. It started because I complained because they were taking forever because they didn't have the products & the employees were goofing off eating instead of doing my windshield, when I addressed my concern to the man in the office he started to raise his voice & yelled at me calling me a F*&%^%& this & F*^@#!# that, while he did that the owner she just sat there and watched & did nothing to stop her rude employee, he was yelling raising his fist at me, I'm a 5ft petite female, & he was 6ft, I left fearful & crying, to make things worse there were beer cans all over the place in the trash cans, I called the police, the city of Oceanside, and the BBB, this is the WORSE place you could go to, they have no respect for anyone.
Comments:11 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-06-16
Posted by spiderman2 on 2010-06-15:
Clamato and Budweiser.........ewwww~> I don't think having bad taste in beer is illegal.
What did the police say? What did the city say?
What did you say to start this?
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-06-15:
Mrs JKT is a "petite" 5'11", but won't back down and does have the abilities to protect herself. If she starts crying, all heck is about ready to break loose.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-15:
I would love to know the answers to Spiderman2's questions.

Posted by PepperElf on 2010-06-15:
yuck - who would ruin a nice clamato by adding crap beer to it?

did the police help you at all?


And although it's not necessarily illegal to be drinking at work... if any of the workers handle the car keys to operate it in any way shape or form - even if just to roll the windows up or down - they are in fact violating the law.


However the BBB is kinda worthless.
For something like that you're better off contacting your local news station. Like one of those "whatever channel on your side" things. Cos... if the local news reports that the company is letting the employees drink on the job, you KNOW it's going to cause some waves
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-06-15:
oh - and this is worth posting separately.

*** Contact your insurance agent ***

Even if you didn't try to use your insurance policy to get work done... let them know that the company employees are drinking alcohol on the job.

Who knows, the insurance agent may give you a list of recommended companies to go to.
And they may make sure this company is NOT on that list.

>:-)
Posted by punxnotdead80 on 2010-06-15:
With employees and ownership like this, that place won't be in business for too long.
Posted by beee on 2010-06-16:
Well the P.D came out & spoke to the owner & the man denied everything but when he saw my husband show up he realized he had screwed up & said "sorry" the P.D told me to call the city & they will be investigating there buisness, & BBB said they will investigate as well. I was online & was reading other reviews & there are sooo many complaints. what started this..... I asked why they took so long? they said they didnt have the products they needed in the shop & had to walk it back, hmmm it took them 4 trips to get it done, 2 hours later. 5 more min turned into 10 more then 5 & so on & so on, all i said is that they were not a professional establishment & then the employee went off.
Posted by oldisgood on 2010-06-16:
beer can, not cans. all others are pop or fruit juice.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-06-16:
it doesn't matter if the others are pop or juice

the fact that they had ANY alcohol cans in the trash is the issue.

This is an auto-glass company. There should be absolutely NO ALCOHOL CONSUMPTION by any employee who is working on a car.

Why? Because the second they put keys into the ignition and turn it on it's a DUI.
And if you're installing a window it's very likely you may have to turn the car on to roll windows up & down.


(and this one I know for a fact cos one of my old coworkers got tagged with a DUI even though he was in the passenger seat.
cops didn't care that he wasn't driving - he had been drinking and turned the car on, so that's all they needed to write him a ticket)


Not to mention if any of them have been drinking, do you really trust them to do a good job?
I mean you're paying them to do a job and do it properly. You're not paying them to do an intoxicated job.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-16:
PepperElf, I'm not sure I agree with your legal interpretation on this one.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-06-16:
i understand. i was surprised when my coworker told me what happened too

however then i realized why the police gave him the ticket. it didn't matter that he was in the passenger seat - since he put the keys in the ignition and turned the car on, he was still operating it. therefore he got a ticket.


likewise, if someone's been drinking beer - even nasty beer - and they turn the car on, even if they aren't planning on driving they are still operating the vehicle while under the influence of alcohol.


sure it's not as bad as someone who drinks and actually drives the car
but it's enough to get the business questioned at least in my opinion

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.