[X]
Feedburner count

1
Helpful
Votes

Game Stop Complaint - Pre Sale Ripoff - Spiderman Shattered Dimensions

Review by puddlduc on 2010-07-17
DOUGLASVILLE, GEORGIA -- My 9 year old grandson loves video games and I regularlly buy them for him exclusively at Game Stop. He wants the new Spiderman game really badly. I told him that we would do a pre sale reservation for it, as he would have to earn the part of the money that he did not have. He took his last $30.00 from his Christmas money and made his first payment. After that, I made a 15.00, then went by to make the final payment, as he had worked very hard to earn the money. To my shock, their records showed the 30.00 payment that he made to be only 15.00! I was there, I know what happened. I know what he paid them. Where the extra 15.00 went I can't tell you. I had my receipt for the only the 15.00 payment that I had made. The clerk offered little more than, "well, I'm sorry!" It is my opinion that they just took money from a 9 year old child! After a few ugly words, I told him to just give my money back, which he happily did to get me out of there! It will not be a problem in the future. I can get his games elsewhere and don't need GameStop. I won't be back!
Comments:21 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-10-10
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-07-17:
Did you not get a receipt for the first payment?
Posted by yoke on 2010-07-17:
Whenever we have done presale we have gotten a receipt. What did the receipt say as to how much was put down?
Posted by raven2010 on 2010-07-17:
This would have been an excellent opportunity to teach your grandson the wisdom of obtaining and holding on to receipts, especially when paying with cash.
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-07-17:
Sorry to say, the only proof is in the receipt. I realize your grandson worked for the money and that $15 is a lot to him, but I agree with raven that this is a great opportunity for him to learn the importance of keeping receipts. You could be right about what happened to the other $15, and I would at least speak to the manager. If you ARE right and there are other similar complaints, maybe something will be done about it.
Posted by Ytropious on 2010-07-17:
Unless you have the receipt there is no proof. Something similar happened where I work but it was a layaway a customer was paying on. She insisted she made a 60 dollar payment that never existed in our records. When asked if she had a receipt she said the girl said she wouldn't need one, which makes NO SENSE. I let my manager handle it. Unless you have cold hard proof, it's your word against theirs, and computers rarely lie.
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-07-17:
Mistakes do happen though. I was in Game Stop once and there were a father and son trying to use a gift card that was sent to the son as a gift from his uncle. The card came up empty, and they were very upset. They didn't have the receipt with them, and I don't remember if they were going to be able to produce one, but I could tell they were not lying. I felt bad for the kid.
Posted by Helpful on 2010-07-17:
I agree with the others here. You should have considered using it to teach your grandson a lesson of keeping receipts. Without the paperwork to prove it, it could have just as likely been your mistake as theirs.
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-07-17:
When a kid has $30 in his pocket that he earned through hard work, trust me, he doesn't make a mistake.
Posted by clutzycook on 2010-07-17:
Venice, the same thing happened to me with a TRU gift card about 2 years ago. I was so irritated. Luckily, I worked with the girl who gave it to me and she just gave me the cash. Now whenever I get a giftcard for someone, I keep hold of the receipt for a little while (or even just give it to them) just in case.
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-07-17:
When I saw what happened at Game Stop, it made me realize that gift cards aren't always a sure thing. You're right, clutzy, you have to keep the receipt just in case something goes wrong. Giving it with the card is an even better idea. That way the person won't end up like the kid in Game Stop who probably had to ask his uncle for the receipt.
Posted by Helpful on 2010-07-17:
Children do not make mistakes when it involves money, especially hard earned -- check. Must be another one of those "no-brainers". LOL!
Posted by FlShopper on 2010-07-17:
The kid did make a mistake in tossing the receipt. It's a shame, but without it, he really doesn't have a leg to stand on.
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-07-18:
FlS, yes the kid definitely made a mistake by not keeping the receipt, but in all fairness, look at how many adults do the same things. What I meant is that when a kid works hard to save up enough money to buy something, they are usually very careful with what they do with it.
Posted by Ytropious on 2010-07-18:
I get customers in the store every so often with a gift card that someone gave them and it turns up empty. When we investigate why by trying to call it in we were told the card DID have balance, but whoever had the card before used it up and apparently just assumed they had some money left on it. People who give you gift cards need to do the checking on these things, especially if they are regifting. If it was a brand new card they bought and activated, then they have a receipt as proof and they need to keep it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-07-18:
Why do some assume the 9yo tossed the receipt?

Posted by FlShopper on 2010-07-18:
I assume the kid tossed or lost the receipt because if he had it there wouldn't be an issue. It would've shown how much he put down as a payment.
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-07-18:
If the employee who took the $30 deposit was up to no good, he or she might not have given the kid a receipt on purpose. I can definitely see a nine year old not asking for a receipt. If that's the case, it's too bad grandma didn't make sure a receipt was given and keep it in a safe place for her grandson.

Of course, this is sheer speculation. I have no idea what happened to the receipt.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-07-19:
They could have put the reservation under two different names. The $30 under the kid's name and then the $15 under the grandmother's name.
If you don't use the same name or phone number each time they will create two different preorders.
I'm not defending them, but I've seen this happen before.
Posted by FlShopper on 2010-07-19:
I never thought of that, mrvw. That explanation makes a lot of sense.
Posted by raven2010 on 2010-07-19:
Ohhhhhh mrvw might be on to something----I hope the OP sees that and checks
Posted by Dsmash on 2010-10-10:
It doesnt even have to be a different name. Just one letter or number off and it pulls up as a different account.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.

More Reviews on Game Stop: