Fairfield Inn by Marriott Complaint - Rude General manager, poor customer service and lack of caring!

Review by Holly1976 on 2010-08-05
LAWTON, OKLAHOMA -- Ok, so I lost my debit card, apparently someone picked it up and used it. They booked a room at this hotel. I find out about it the following day because I go to my bank to cancel my card. I start calling the hotel, I go down there. I want to know who has stayed in that room. Now the GM isn't there and not coming back in until Monday and the manager on duty cannot help me, but he tells me that nobody ever showed up for the room. Come Monday I talk with the GM, she tells me she will review the video and get back with me by that afternoon. I call the following day as I ahve not heard from her. She is gone until Wed. I call her on Wed and she says she has not had time to look over the video but will right now. I call back Wed afternoon and she tells me She will call me, she is being pretty rude at this point. So Thur mid morning (almost 7 days since this happened) she tells me she reviewed the video but has no audio and she does not know if its morning or evening and does not have time to look that back that far. She then tells me that my card was swipped thru their machine and someone did in fact stay in that room. I asked her if they require picture ID, I was told no. She said she has done all she can to help me. I told her that no she hasn't, I am not paying 169.71 for a room I did not stay in, I did not authorize. I was told, well call our 1-800-Marriott if you don't like my answer!
Comments:9 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-08-06
Posted by BEJ on 2010-08-05:
Have you disputed the charge with your bank--If not do so now!
Posted by Helpful on 2010-08-05:
Unfortunately the transaction was with a debit card, not a credit card. Based upon this, the transaction cannot easily become reversed.

Frankly, I'm not sure what laws apply in this case. I'd be interested to know. You may just be out the funds.
Posted by spiderman2 on 2010-08-05:
Did you file a police report?
Posted by FlShopper on 2010-08-05:
Banks can help you if your debit card/number is stolen and used fraudulently, but time is of the essence. I'm assuming that since you went to the bank the day after your card disappeared you discussed with them how to handle fraudulent charges; what is the status?
Posted by Ytropious on 2010-08-05:
Reviewing the tapes won't bring your money back though, and depending on the quality it might not do much to catch the thief either. If it was a debit transaction, then they need your pin as well. It's going to be hard to dispute. I honestly think there's not much more you or the manager can do at this point. You just have to dispute it and let the higher ups on both sides duke it out.
Posted by Weedwhacked on 2010-08-05:
You're asking the hotel manager to do the job of a police investigator. That's not going to happen.
Posted by MRM on 2010-08-05:
Woop Woop, thats the sound of the police.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-08-05:
Transactions on a Debit card CAN be reversed. However, you have to do alot of paperwork to get it reversed. You have to keep record of all the people you communicated with and their responses etc. If you check with your bank that issued the debit card, they will explain what you need to do and who you need to contact to get the ball rolling.
Posted by Fufu487 on 2010-08-06:
Your police report should be enough to dispute the charge with your bank. the hotel manager is not responsible for the fraudulent card. It's not her job to check the footage and report back to you. This is between you an the bank.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.