[X]
Feedburner count

2
Helpful
Votes

Money Saver Motel Newport, OR Complaint - Horrible Management

Review by acdeutsch on 2010-08-10
NEWPORT, OREGON -- We spent our recent vacation at the Money Saver Motel this August and we were a little apprehensive to stay there from the beginning because they requiered $50.00 cash (credit not acceptable)deposit before checking in. We went along with it on the word of a friend of ours and stayed there anyway. When we got to our room it looked fairly clean, counters washed bathroom clean, but the carpets and furniture were filthy. There was a square hole cut and replaced in the carpet and it was sticky in some areas.
My husband even made the suggestion that we take pictures before we unpacked. I told him that was silly. surely they know what there carpets look like. The trip was fairly uneventful. Maid service was sporatic at best but we left a tip anyway because after all what do you expect from a budget motel. Upon checking out the manager/maintenance man told us he would have to check our room before we could check out. 12 minutes later his wife returned to tell me that they would only be able to refund $10 of our deposit because they had to clean our carpets. I explained how they looked when we checked in and she said that was impossible because he said he just cleaned them. I left but came back in to plead for the return of my money and when I opened the door she quickly stuffed $30 more into my hand and tried to rush me out the door.
By this time I was frustrated because I knew they were wrong and could see it for the scam it was. Her husband the Manager/maintenance man came in the office at that point and started yelling at me and calling me a pig. My husband came into the office after hearing him shout and he started screaming at my husband. We were told to leave the premesis and so left possibly slamming the door on the way out. The man flew out of the door and threatened to call the police for slamming the door. We tried to proceed to the truck where our three children were waiting so that we could get away from this man and he followed us threatening to beat my husband badly among other things. We said we were calling the police and his wife was able to get him to head back toward the motel office. He was yelling horrible remarks the entire way. Our children were very scared as was I. I will follow up this complaint with complaints to the BBB and anyone else who would care to listen. I have no idea who these people are but surely they sould not be working with the public. Some friends that also stayed with us at that motel lost their deposit as well. Buyer beware!!!
Comments:17 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-08-11
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-08-10:
I would have let him call the police.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-08-10:
You know what I have learned? When someone is being out of control towards you, pull out your cell phone or camera and start recording them. It normally stops them in their tracks. Once they know they are on film, they back off. That or try to grab your phone....
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-08-10:
you know what? I take that back. When you look on Youtube, I can find all sorts of crazy videos....lol
Posted by Skye on 2010-08-10:
I think when you notice something odd or off, about the room you just rented, like this rug area, its best to to immediately notify the front desk. Have management come up and see what you are talking about, and to show this is how the room was when you entered it. This way at check out, they can't try to blame you for whatever was in the room already, when you checked in. Sort of like if you smell smoke in the room, and are not a smoker, let them know immediately. So that you are not charged for incidentials you did not cause. Make sure they give you something in writing that shows whatever you showed them, was not caused by you, and therefore you will not be charged for it, upon checking out.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-08-10:
Well it seems like the manager or owner of that place was a little out of hand. Even if they DID cause the stain, calling customers pigs and cussing at them is unproffesional. Im not sure i would expect any less from a place called "money saver motel". If I were you, I would also write a review on tripadvisor.com about this place.
Posted by Skye on 2010-08-10:
Oh yes they were definately out of hand. Totally uncalled for. But what if someone does not own a cell phone, that they can just whip out? I think the next step would be to leave and contact the police asap. Nobody deservees to be treated like that, especially a paying guest.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-08-10:
well if was just all verbal. If someone is verbally attacking me, I probably wouldnt have backed down and gotten into some trouble.....but the best thing to do is just leave. Almost ALL cell phones these days have cameras on them and I think 90% of people in the US own a cell phone. I was just saying....
Posted by Skye on 2010-08-10:
NO no, I wasn't implying anything about my cell phone comment. There are people out there who still do not own cell phones. I'm one of them. Yes, the best thing to do is leave. Nobody should have to put up with being verbally attacked. If they are verbally attacking someone, who knows what could be next? God forbid, a physical attack from this hotel loon.
Posted by Skye on 2010-08-10:
My point was only to point out, if something is wrong with a hotel room, immediately let management know about it. Nobody wants to be charged for something they did not cause.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-08-10:
If what the OP described really happened, and there's no reason for me to believe it didn't, yes they should have left, but they also should have immediately contacted the police. Who knows how many other unsuspecting guests of this "motel hell" have been accosted in a similar manner?

By the way, having lived not too far from Newport for a while, I can tell you OP, there are far better places than this to stay at for not much more than what you spent. I googled this place and it looks like it came straight out of the inner city somewhere.
Posted by Venice09 on 2010-08-10:
Just cause, I too believe every word of this review. I agree that they should have contacted the police, not only for their own safety but for the safety of others.
Posted by Skye on 2010-08-10:
http://www.newportoregonmotel.com/

Located in Newport Oregon
We are conveniently close to:


● Modestly Priced
● Surprising Quality
● Fresh Decor
● Cleanliness Guaranteed
● Friendly Staff
● Open 24 Hours
● Check-in 2pm
● Check-Out 11am

The surprising quality line scares me!
Posted by rockfishing on 2010-08-10:
It sounds like a horror movie. Was the guys named Norman Bates?
Posted by Skye on 2010-08-10:
Normans hotel was actually much nicer. And Norman was a sweetheart, it was his mother, who was unruly, lol.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-08-10:
LOL Skye I saw that too...did you see that picture?? OMG, if anyone has been to Newport or the surrounding area, you know you can find much better than this! I can't believe the OP had a friend that recommended it.
Posted by Skye on 2010-08-10:
Maybe it was the only place the Op's friend knew about, to recommend. It does however, list what is close by, and it sounds very conveniently located.

We are conveniently close to:


● Ocean Beaches
● Oregon Coast Aquarium
● Historic Bay Front
● Charter Fishing
● Whale Watching
● Great Restaurants
● Yaquina Bay Park

It sounds lovely in writing.
Posted by acdeutsch on 2010-08-11:
Thank you for your feedback. We chose this motel not just because of the recomendations of a friend but also for the cost savings. We wanted to be able to take our kids on a nice trip and saw this as an area to cut costs. It will never happen again lol. I totally forgot about using our cell phones to possible control the situation. I guess maybe I was too rattled and I dont think well under that kind of pressure. Anyway wont be staying in Newport again. I think maybe Cannon beach or Lincoln City area next time. I would like to find out who owns this motel but I'm having trouble locating that information on the web.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.