[X]

The Car Store Inc Complaint - The Car Store Inc. Sells Lemon Car "As Is"

Review by Storme on 2010-08-10
STAFFORD, VIRGINIA -- 6/18/2010 -The vehicle was sold to us for my 70 year old mother.

The vehicle was sold as is but we were told that the vehicle was in EXCELLENT condition and would have no problem passing inspection. Upon having the vehicle inspected we learned that
1) The headlights and foglights were not even attached to the car. They were just sitting in the slots - handing there somehow staying in place.
2) Brakeline Cut
3) The cables were being held to the battery by a screw jammed into the positive socket.
4) All 4 tires were worn on the INSIDE
5) distributor cap missing
6) front bumper is not attached. it is just hanging there by two thin wires wrapped to the chassis
7) Axle boots are all torn
8) There are more issues, but I do not have the repair ticket on me at this time.

The above issues were estimated at $2000 to fix, not including some issues such as the lights.

7/17/2010 - Upon discovering this I called The Car store to inform them that I would be filing a complaint. I understood that the vehicle was sold as is, but the issues uncovered were just ridiculous and undisclosed.
I was told at that time (By Bobby) that he would order me new lights for the vehicle, and that he would assist me in getting the other repair items needed at a discounted cost. I decided to let them work with me on the issue.

8/10/2010 - That was almost a month ago. Starting last week I began calling back (my first call was 7/17/2010) to find out what was going on.

I got a mixed match of answers from "they have not come in yet" to "we will call you as soon as they come", and finally - yesterday, Bobby told me that he was waiting for me to call back and tell him to order them. I was then angry.

Today I got a call that they are unable to find the lights anywhere, so I am on my own. and this is just the lights. It does not include all the other issues that were not disclosed. So now I have a lemon car that I can do nothing with without another $2000 worth of issues fixed.
Comments:8 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-08-11
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-08-10:
It seems like they were lieing the whole time to try to hold you off as long as possible. If your state has a lemon law, I would contact and attourney and see if there is anything they could do. It definitely seems like you have a lemon on your hand. Dont let them waste any more time and file a complaint. Im not trying to be mean, but you should have had all of this checked out before you bought the car. Any car I think I will potentally buy, I take by a mechanic and get it checked out. Acutally I just helped a friend of mine buy a used car. We took it to a mechanic and paid him 20 bucks to look over the car, put it on the lift and everything. It was well worth the 20 bucks because we found out it needed an alignment and other numerous parts. We still purchased the car, but got another 500 knocked off the asking price they were "stern" at.
Posted by goduke on 2010-08-10:
Wow. I really wish that you had gone to check with that mechanic prior to buying the car.

Here's some info on Virginia's lemon law. You're probably going to end up needing a lawyer (you can't imagine how much saying that hurts):

http://www.oag.state.va.us/faqs/faq_purchases.html
Posted by NickL11354 on 2010-08-10:
When you buy a used car, never buy one more than 3 years old or with more than 30,000 miles on the odometer.

Too much of a risk. Better to spend $20,000 on a 2008 Nissan or Honda rather than buy a 8-10 year old Ford economy car
Posted by bcd on 2010-08-10:
How did the brakes perform during the test drive?
Posted by Big Russ on 2010-08-10:
5) distributor cap missing
If this was missing, how did you drive it off the lot?
Posted by jktshff1 on 2010-08-10:
"we were told" What do you have in writing....that is what is going to count.
Posted by olie on 2010-08-10:
Didn't you take it for a test drive? Check the lights? Inspect the tires? I don't know a lot about cars, but I think I'd have noticed the lights, tires, and bumper during or after the test drive.

I think lemon laws apply only to new cars, but that may be only in WI.
Posted by Helpful on 2010-08-11:
Some of the items on this checklist are understandable to overlook, like the axle boots, but the distributor cap or break line? If the distributor cap didn't exist, the car wouldn't start. No break line? No way to stop!

I'd like to hear the whole story.

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.