Lighting Universe ATG Complaint - Lighting Universe - Thieves and Crooks

Review by dcraig on 2010-08-18
Another angry (one time) customer.

This is without question the most laughably bad example of online shopping I have ever experienced.


I ordered an item and was told I would be contacted when it was available from the manufacturer. A fwe days later, I received an email saying they had it in their warehouse and they would despatch it two weeks from this date. This was no good to me so I contacted them to cancel the order. Ha!! I was told there was no way I could cancel, despite the fact that it would be sitting in their warehouse for two weeks, they couldn't interrupt the process and would have to ship it out to me regardless. I was told to await receipt and then return it.

As you can see from other comments, this is no mean feat. Doubly difficult is the fact that I am in Canada; I had to pay brokerage fees to import the item which I will never get back and now reading about their deceit re: returns and refunds I would be as well hanging on to the goods. Its not worth it to only get part of the costs refunded.

This is fraudulent and how they get away with it is beyond me. They can thank their lucky stars I'm not anywhere near their ofices ... yet.
Company Response on 08/18/2010:

I work for ATG Stores and saw your review go up today. I would like to offer to follow up on some of the issues you had concerning your order that are within our control here at ATG Stores to see if there is anyway I can help or improve our process for the future.

We process hundreds of orders per day and want to do what we can to ensure satisfaction every time.

You can reach me at companyreviews@atgstores.com . Please include your name or customer number so I can look into your particular order.

I'm sorry your first experience with us was less than perfect. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

ATG Stores Company Review Team
Comments:2 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-08-19
Posted by Alain on 2010-08-19:
Contact the company, as they have offered to work with you, and give us an update on how it went.
Posted by dcraig on 2010-08-19:
Thanks Alain, I did, however,

Call me an old cynic but its certainly a bit strange that when I've tried to resolve this issue on your site and via your live chat function, nobody could help me and their "hands were tied" but now I've put this review, a man(or woman) with no name tells me to contact him(her) and they'll sort it out?

The issue is very clear and yet nothing could be done. I have contacted your site again directly today and been told to return the goods at my expense, minus restocking fee and I've lost the brokerage fee which shouldn't have been incurred if you'd simply not posted out an item i told you two weeks in advance that i didnt want?!

Your post looks like an attempt to blunt my complaint by making further false claim that you'll sort it out. Your company have been proven to be at best extremely misleading.

A further example is claiming to be Lighting Universe Canada - then I order these goods and find you're not in Canada you're in the States and I have brokerage fees. Or claiming that there'll be no sales tax ... ehmmm I was charged HST on your goods so another mis-representation.

The more I think about it the angrier I'm getting and I dont believe I will let this matter rest at all despite some snake-oil peddler claiming "they will cure it all for me"

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling

By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.

Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.