[X]

7
Helpful
Votes

Universal Truck Rental Complaint - Beware of surprise credit cards charges, mixed experience

Review by mmmmmmm on 2010-08-21
When we first reserved with Universal Truck Rental the staff was efficient. We hired an experienced professional truckdriver for a move from Guelph to Ottawa. There was an initial difficulty in starting the truck and the next morning it wouldn't start at all. After the driver discussed it with a Universal representative, the truck was boasted. It was a surprise when the service charge was added to my credit card. From that point the representative was the most arrogant, rude service person I ever have the misfortune to encounter. He had access to my credit card, and a huge sense of entitlement. With management's intervention, we were given a credit of $85 towards a second truck rental. That's not without it's irony, because we have no use for their service again. We have been trying to sell the credit at a reduced rate, but can't haven't found anyone who wants it. Our experience was a mixed one, we had a truck that did not start properly and one representative who has not been trained to deal with people reasonably.
Company Response on 09/22/2010:
Hello...I am the managing partner of Universal Truck Rental Canada and I agree this was an unfortunate experience for both the renter and rental company.

Unfortunately the rental truck would not start because of a dead battery. A third party service provider checked the battery for mechanical defects and did not find any problems. Unfortunately our rental agreement does not cover cold starts & no starts and if the truck needs to be boosted the renter is financial responsible.

We clearly state our cold start and no start policy on our on line rental agreement and every renter must sign off acknowledging their acceptance. See Link Below

http://www.surveycanada.ca/checkbox/Survey.aspx?s=14e71e55eab8453fae8831d90b396997&ForceNew=true

When a battery goes dead for no apparent reason there is a good chance a human was involved and left a light on or a door ajar. Unfortunately, this client was expected to pay the invoice for the service call because they called the 24 hr emergency road side service. Our clients are more than welcome to boost the truck themselves if they have the proper training and equipment.

The charge could have been avoided by double checking that all the electrical switches were turned off (including the light in the box) or by having the professional driver boost the truck himself.

We are committed to helping Canadian's move cost effectively, worry free and with excellent over the road support. We are glad to hear the emergency road side provider was responsive and efficient.

We look forward to your business and can be contacted at 1-866-518-0150 to book your next truck rental needs.

Sincerely Steve Baty
Director of Sales & Marketing
Comments:

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.