[X]

BIG Textbooks Complaint - BEWARE of BIG Textbooks

Review by 134992 on 2010-09-16
GAINESVILLE, FLORIDA -- I ordered a textbook from this store and when it did not arrive within the promised time, I had to drop the class. The owner was completely unreasonable and refused to even give me a partial refund.

There are so many other bookstores in Gainesville, stay clear of this one!

**Update** 9/17/10 - I just went and got the book today, and what an unpleasant surprise to find this business owner is trying to pass off a used book as the one I ordered! This is a softcover book in okay condition, not excellent condition, and he charged me $90.02 for it!! This book is selling for $50.00 NEW on Amazon. I got ripped off in a big way.

Wow, I hope no one ever offers me this type of "kindness and compassion" again, I can not afford it. And I took advantage of him????? This guy is a straight-up hustler!
Company Response on 09/17/2010:
Unfortunately, this is an example of a customer trying to abuse the system and is angry because they were unsuccessful. I placed a special order for this customer per her request. She was informed that it is our policy to require prepayment for special orders. The customer informed me of the tough financial situation she was in and conveyed to me how badly she needed the book. Giving the customer the benefit of the doubt, I placed the order and allowed her to provide a postdated check with the understanding that there would be no refunds allowed since I cannot return the book from the vendor I was ordering from. She agreed to the conditions and thanked me for making this exception for her. I told her that the book would be delivered approximately 1 week from the ship date. She ordered the book on July 2 which was a Friday at 4pm right before closing. The book shipped out on Monday July 5 and arrived July 12 (exactly 1 week from the ship date as quoted) Once I received the order, I tried to contact the customer 6 different times (I have documentation to prove it) and the customer never returned my calls or tried to contact me in anyway. In addition, the check the customer had written me was no good. I was not able to collect on the check until September 11. The following day is when the customer decided to contact me for the first time demanding a refund. I offered multiple solutions to the customer (including the book I ordered for her that I still have in stock).



Its very unfortunate that people try to take advantage of the kindness and compassion of others for their own benefit.



Please contact us if you have any questions or concerns.


Company Response on 09/21/2010:
Email received yesterday (9/20/10) from the customer who posted this complaint....

Dear Mr. *****:

I apologize for my behavior last week; unfortunately, I allowed my pride to get the better of me.

Best wishes to you and the success of your business.

Sincerely,
M**** D***** B****

Please contact us if you have questions or concerns.
Comments:2 Replies - Latest reply on 2010-09-17
Posted by Weedwhacked on 2010-09-16:
Did you ever get the book? Sell it and you'll get something back at least.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-09-17:
Thank you for the suggestion. I just went and got the book today, and what an unpleasant surprise to find this business owner is trying to pass off a used book as the one I ordered! This is a softcover book in okay condition, not excellent condition, and he charged me $90.02 for it....This book is selling for $50.00 NEW on Amazon. I got ripped off in a big way!

Your Name:
(displayed with your comment)
Your E-mail:
(required)

Your Experience/Advice:
Check spelling


By clicking submit you agree that you have read and accept the Terms of Service & Privacy Policy.


Note: All comments are reviewed by a moderator before being published. Please be sure to read our guidelines before commenting.